We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saint John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saint John Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“2night stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed as part of a group of 8 friends for two nights. The hotel is about 5 to 8 minute walk for the main restaurant area which was fine albeit not very scenic as a walk. The room , although with a fairly small bathroom, was very comfortable and well appointed. Very good shower with plenty of hot water. Breakfasts were good and all the staff were very friendly and keen to help in anyway they could. Their English was also good. We would definitely stay again if coming to Selcuk

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonNick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    90
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
86
154
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

From what I have seen of the hotels in Selcuk, this is likely to be the best option you are likely to find there. Our room was very clean and comfortable, though a bit small. The courtyard was beautiful and is a veritable oasis of calm and quiet after a tiring day of sightseeing. What really made the difference was the hotel staff, they are so friendly and helpful, Turkish Airlines had lost our luggage for 4 days and refused to deliver it to our hotel on the same day it arrived at Izmir airport, so we had to go collect it ourselves from the lost and found office very early the next morning before our flight to Cappadocia. Our driver from the hotel staff came with us inside the airport to make sure we were able to get our luggage, and even though we had obtained assurances from Turkish Airlines that the office was open 24 hours and that they were expecting us at the appointed time there was no one to be found. Our driver helped us call the information hotline multiple times and stayed with us for over a hour at 5 am in the morning till someone finally came to give us our luggage. So rest assured they will take good care of you.

The only thing which I thought detracted from the hotel and is not their fault at all is the poor condition of the streets around the hotel and the dim street lighting, if I was a single female traveller I might be a bit nervous walking back late at night.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TankHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I travel a lot and having grown up in the hospitality industry, am very cognizant of the level of service and comfort of my choices of inns. St. John's is a wonderful place to stay. The owners have given meticulous care to every detail of this new hotel, from the view on the rooftop veranda, to the accoutrements in the rooms. The place is quiet, lovely, and peaceful. Everyone here is so kind and genuinely helpful. I could not find the right train connection and Menehse took many a panicked call from me to help me arrive safely. She picked me up at the station and I immediately hugged her, I was so grateful for her kindness and assistance. The service did not end there... anything I so much as hinted that I would like, was provided, from a glass of wine upon arrival, to arrangements for a fantastic tour to Palmukkale..... I have rarely had such a wonderful stay on vacation alone. Stay here. You won't have a moment of regret.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KindCounsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

As soon as we arrived, the owner and manager sat us down and served us Turkish tea while helping us plan out the time that we had in the area. They were lovely and wonderful - just genuinely kind people. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. The hotel is owned and run by a family, and you can see their care in the decor and details. Breakfast is included in the room price, and it's a fantastic spread with omelets, traditional Turkish foods (like Simit and Menemen), fruit, danishes, etc. We had to leave quite early in the morning on our last day to catch a flight home, and they served an early breakfast just for us. The location is convenient - the city center is a quick walk away and it is next to the Basilica of St. John and a short walk to the Temple of Artemis.

More than the practical points like the facilities and location, the family and manager, Meneske, were just wonderful. Late one night, my friend and I found ourselves stranded on the side of the highway in the dark with a flat tire and barking dogs at our car. The rental car place was of no help, so we called Meneske. She and the owner drove out in the middle of the night to find and help us. It was such a refreshing experience to find such generous, kind, and wonderful people a world away from home. I can't say enough positive things about them!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p_nut54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waukesha wi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

St. John is a boutique type hotel that is under one year old and used to be a prison. We can't imagine how much work it must have taken to restore it but it is as lovely as the pictures on the website indicate. Because it is so new we hadn't found very many reviews on it so we were a bit hesitant when we booked. We were so pleased when we arrived. We are sure that once the news gets out how wonderful this hotel is it will be busy year round. The owners live on site and are incredibly accommodating. The front desk manager, Menehse (men-eh-shay) is a genuine kind soul. She is low key and yet very attentive to any needs or questions. The hotel is in pristine condition, the beds are comfortable (even to US standards...apparently we like much softer beds) the courtyard is a great place to sip tea and read or swim (in warmer weather) and all the ammentites we needed were there. The breakfast had so many options and far more food than anyone could eat and they served fresh squeezed orange juice each morning. It was "light coat" weather so the rooftop patio wasn't formally open but Menehse was willing to show us it and we were able to have coffee up there and enjoy the view of the castle even though the patio wasn't really ready for guests (again, we can't say enough about the fabulous hospitality). If you head into Selcuk for dinner you may want to eat at Cabare resturant. It has good food with really tasty lamb chops. Another nice resturant is Ejders. Selcuk is a great town to stay in. It is so close to Ephesus, it is within easy driving of Priene and Dimim (two other sites of ruins) and it is a few hours away from Pamukkale (which we skipped). If you are thinking....gee...should we stay in Selcik and should we pick this hotel? The answer is YES, YES, YES. We can only hope to return.

Room Tip: There is a room that has a nice view of the castle but we elected to have a room overlooking the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quacklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in early March at the St. John Hotel. We travel frequently and have never had more satisfying accommodations. It's family-run and they all made us feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb, the room attractive and immaculate, and Meneske was most generous with her time and advice about restaurants and directions to our planned destinations (Priene, Miletus, and Didyma as well as Sirince, Ephesus, and other nearby sites).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

For unparalleled service, try the Saint John Hotel in Selcuk, Turkey. This clean, bright, beautiful hotel offers wireless access, comfortable beds, and an outdoor pool. We couldn’t use the pool because we came in the winter, but it looked ideal for a refreshing swim.

We originally found the Saint John Hotel just by driving down the street. We hadn’t even read any reviews about it, but it looked so nice from the outside that we decided to take a chance.

Saint John Hotel employees carried our bags to our room, arranged a tour for us, gave us directions to other areas we were interested in, and treated us like family. The breakfast was excellent: We were treated to mouth-watering cheese omelets topped with fresh parsley, and we helped ourselves to various breads (including sweet bread), cheeses, jams, chocolate muffins, yogurt, and coffee.

In Istanbul, my husband had some tap water without thinking, and began to have the usual problems. The manager of the Saint John Hotel came from her home and drove him to the pharmacy to get medicine and a grocery store to get fresh fruit to help. This is truly first-class service.

We are planning on passing through Selcuk again on our way back to Izmir, and we hope we can get a room at the Saint John Hotel again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we looked at were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trwtrw1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
753 reviews
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
5.5 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint John Hotel

Property: Saint John Hotel
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Caddesi No:67, Selcuk 35478, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint John Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic atmosphere of Hotel St. John reaches perfection in its elegantly decorated 26 luxury rooms most of which have balconies with quality and comfortable accomodation like a home away from home . Rooms are tastefuly decorated , such maintain a home like atmosphere . Rooms are quiet, and have double paned windows to screen out unwanted noise.We feel it is important to give people a sense of the place where they stay . Smoking is not permitted, and was prohibited by law in 2011 in indoor areas.Pets are not permitted except quide dogs for blind . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint John Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing