We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Selcuk, Turkey”
Review of Saint John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saint John Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel in Selcuk, Turkey”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A lovely family owned and run hotel in Selcuk, perfect for a visit to Ephesus.
We were picked up at Izmir by the owner, Mr Sabit Tek, and safely driven to the hotel. Gorgeous rooms, extremely friendly and helpful staff...we wished we had been staying longer. Great breakfast. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    90
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
94
155
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Although we normally choose hotels based on our trusty Fodor's guidebook's (always outstanding) recommendations, none of the guidebook's recommendations for Selcuk sounded up to par, so we took a chance on Saint John Hotel, and booked it based solely on Tripadvisor's reviews. And I am happy to say that the risk paid off! This hotel is really a gem.
The location is a bit unusual--- the elegant hotel is definitely something of an anomaly in the midst of a working-class neighborhood. In fact, we drove right by the hotel several times before recognizing it, which is really kind of surprising, because if we'd actually taken a hard look at the building as we passed by, we'd have seen that this building was far more elegant than the others, with its beautiful marble and polished gold gleaming through the lovely ground floor windows.
I am surprised that this property is listed on Tripadvisor under the "B&B and Inns" category, because it seems entirely comparable (and in some way superior) to other very fine small hotels we've stayed in, both in Turkey and in other countries around the world. I would not categorize it as a B&B or an inn. It is definitely a full-service hotel, very similar to a boutique hotel, that is staffed around the clock and offers almost every amenity you could wish for.
The hotel common areas are lovely, graceful, and inviting. The guest rooms are positioned around a central, Roman-style courtyard, with a swimming pool, statuary, and lots of comfortable, intimate spaces to sit and chat or eat a snack.
Upon arrival, we were invited to sit at a bistro table beside the pool, and the owner brought us tea and a delicious banana cake, which he said his daughter had just made. It was really a wonderful, warm welcome.
Our room was charming. It was on the second floor, overlooking the courtyard and pool. It was beautifully appointed, and the bathroom was stocked with plenty of toiletries. The shower was large (although it did run short on hot water a couple of times....). The hotel caters mainly to English and French-speaking guests, and the fact that the owner lived many years in America is evident, as everything is very up to American standards, and indeed, was the most "American" hotel we stayed in, as far as amenities and policies. We sent our laundry out, and it came back the same day, washed and folded. The price for laundry was exceptionally reasonable. (Which actually makes this hotel superior to American ones!)
This is a family-run establishment, and everyone who works there is extremely friendly, polite, and eager to help out with whatever we needed (they even let me put some things in their personal refrigerator, since the air conditioning in the rooms stays off when the room is not occupied. Very accommodating!).
They had excellent recommendations for dinner in the evenings and gave us good advice on everything we inquired about.
We also loved the adorable kittens who lived right outside the front door. They were so cute, and so fun to watch!
This elegant little hotel treats you like family, and we were genuinely sad when it was time to say good-bye. We hope to visit Saint John Hotel again, next time we're in Turkey. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katsusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuray T, Manager at Saint John Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your great review about our Hotel. We also felt special to have you here at St John Hotel. We would like to tell you that if you ever come to Selçuk again you are always welcome.

Best regards,

Okyay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for for two weeks in August. Rooms were attractive and always clean. Breakfasts were ample and tasty. We could have easily spent more time in the Hotel except that there is so much to see in Selcuk and environs. Staff were very friendly and always helpful. It was very nice having a room that looked out on to the pool courtyard. Location was good - well wilthin walking distance of town and bus and railway stations. Would go there again every time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were looking for a little comfort after a brief stay in Amman and found it here. A small b&b in an old house is operated like a hotel but you are treated like a house guest. We stayed three nights to see Ephesus (which is very close by) and other sites (you can walk too). The breakfast is very good and the dinner we had first night, while expensive, was too much too eat and very tasty! Our room was luxurious with a very nice balcony and all the amenities including very good wifi. The pool was very nice and we spent a lot of time near it reading. Pool service is excellent and all the staff very helpful. Thanks to Moamar (spelling?), the hardest working guy in Turkey, for going all-in for our comforts. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a street view room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PapaSteveF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuray T, Ön Büro Müdürü at Saint John Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Stephen,

We thank you very much for sharing your reviews of our Hotel St John. Due to your pleasant stay we all would be greatful by your sincere thoughts. The all staff including the managers of our hotel try to provide the best service ever to our guests while they stay in our hotel to make their choice reminds them as the finest.
We are very happy to hear your thoughts about our staff , specially Muammer.

We wish to welcome you next time again in Selçuk.

Best Regards,

Okyay MELER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights and it was one of the nicest hotels I stayed in while in Turkey. It was a fairly new hotel.
Everything about the hotel was well done ....... beds, breakfast etc.
I had laundry done without any problems.
The pool was lovely to come back to after a day of sightseeing.
My room opened onto the pool and there wasn't an issue with noise from other guests.
The location is slightly removed from the main area but still with in walking distance.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor with a door opening onto the pool. I had no problem with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are just finishing up a 3 night stay at Saint John Hotel in Selcuk. I cannot say enough about the hospitality of Sabit and his staff. Okyay and Omer were always helpful, while Muammer especially, looked after our every need - restaurant recommendations and even taking us shopping.
Rooms were lovely, beds comfortable, lots of hot water for showers. Location is easy walking distance to town square and St. johns Cathedral. We even walked back from Ephasus - about a 45 min walk.
Too cool to use the pool, but nice courtyard to relax in.
Would definitely recommend this hotel while staying in Selcuk. Far less touristy that Kusadasi and more to see than in Sirence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda8615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked for 2 nights at Saint John Hotel and have to say our first and last impressions were all great. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms comfortable and nicely furnished. Close to all the sites around Ephesus and easy walking distance to many restaurants. Would not hesitate to highly recommend this charming hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LBMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
0.5 mi away
Villa Panaroma
Villa Panaroma
#9 of 32 in Selcuk
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint John Hotel

Property: Saint John Hotel
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Caddesi No:67, Selcuk 35478, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint John Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic atmosphere of Hotel St. John reaches perfection in its elegantly decorated 26 luxury rooms most of which have balconies with quality and comfortable accomodation like a home away from home . Rooms are tastefuly decorated , such maintain a home like atmosphere . Rooms are quiet, and have double paned windows to screen out unwanted noise.We feel it is important to give people a sense of the place where they stay . Smoking is not permitted, and was prohibited by law in 2011 in indoor areas.Pets are not permitted except quide dogs for blind . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint John Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing