We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in Selçuk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saint John Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A little gem in Selçuk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

In fact there's not much choice where to stay in Selçuk (most of the accommodations are pensions, guesthouses or not very good looking hotels in the centre). This hotel is only 5 minutes walk away from the city centre in a not very charming street however safe. You cannot miss the hotel, it’s the only nice façade in the whole street. The owner, family and staff are really friendly and welcoming; in our arrival we were immediately served tea and strawberries, several times during our stay they offered us Turkish coffee or tea. Unfortunately not everyone speaks English or not very well. The whole hotel is very well decorated with Turkish classic furniture (when kitsch can be beautiful). The rooms have a good size, the bathrooms a bit too small. If possible book one of the 8 rooms with view to the little pool in the courtyard; the other rooms have either view to the main street or to the rear of the building. Very quiet. Excellent wi-fi. The breakfast “buffet” was fine and the last day since there were few guests we got fresh orange juice (the other days normal juice). When we left they gave us a lift to the bus central station, we really appreciated that. I can only recommend this hotel and cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Selçuk.

Room Tip: If possible book one of the 8 rooms with view to the little pool in the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    90
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
152
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a lovely Hotel which I found off Tripadvisor, we were really pleased to have stayed here. the room had a fantastic view of St Johns Castle, stunning at night as it is all light up. The owners were fantastic, they even asked what we would like for dinner and then went to the market and purchased it fresh for us! Fantastic. Any one visiting Ephesus (a must) should consider staying at the Saint John in Selcuk. The tour that the hotel arranged for us unfortunately did not take us to all the sights as advertised. St Johns Castle was left off and instead we visited a Ceramics Factory and Carpet House ..... not the hotels fault, but alas we were unaware that we were sitting ducks for doing what the guide pleased with us.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a 'deluxe' room, I would not want to be in anything smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is beautifully decorated with details and we love the room we had on the second floor. The room is a bit small but comfotable. The location of the hotel is great and we could explore Ephesus and the town easily.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice LJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A nice hotel surrounding a pool. A good home base for touring the numerous ruins in this region. A nice breakfast and gracious management. The only reservation to be aware of is the location that is slightly, a 15 minute walk, out of town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent little boutique hotel run by the most most wonderful family. Omar was extremely friendly and helpful. Absolutely loved our stay here and would highly recommend this if you would like to explore Ephesus, Sirince, Kusadasi or Izmir.

The entire hotel is tastefully decorated and rooms are nice and spacious. Probably best to request an upstairs room overlooking the pool area. There was a decent spread for breakfast and I particularly enjoyed the cakes and desserts which were delicious.

Would not think twice about staying here on my next visit to Selcuk.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohsin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place overall, but not what we expected. No view and no terrace/balcony that overviews the fort. Bathroom smelled bad and the bed and pillows were horrible. Family tries really hard and is carrying but bad design and poor location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vozdrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwangju
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights with wife and a well run family hotel. Comfortable cozy rooms,
Strong Wifi and nice breakfast included.

Breakfast included Turkish bread, fresh fruits, dried fruits, eggs, cucumber, sausage, pancakes,

The owners are very friendly .
Good value for money. Close to the main centre for sightseeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
5.5 mi away
Aquafantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint John Hotel

Property: Saint John Hotel
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Caddesi No:67, Selcuk 35478, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint John Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic atmosphere of Hotel St. John reaches perfection in its elegantly decorated 26 luxury rooms most of which have balconies with quality and comfortable accomodation like a home away from home . Rooms are tastefuly decorated , such maintain a home like atmosphere . Rooms are quiet, and have double paned windows to screen out unwanted noise.We feel it is important to give people a sense of the place where they stay . Smoking is not permitted, and was prohibited by law in 2011 in indoor areas.Pets are not permitted except quide dogs for blind . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Saint John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint John Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing