We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, cozy rooms”
Review of Saint John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saint John Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I visited the Saint John Hotel and liked it very much. The street view can be a bit off-putting, BUT once inside it's a very nice place to stay if you are touring Ephesus, Selcuk and Sirince. Close to everything, it has a nice pool and the staff did everything to make our stay wonderful. If your visiting, I would stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KSquared37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Saint John Hotel! Initially we were concerned about it's location in a somewhat of a gypsie area but we were not bothered by the locals or any noise. We walked from the hotel into the town center - no more than 10 mins and felt safe. The staff member at reception was more than accommodating; offering us apple tea on arrival, explaining the hotel and it's facilities and providing us a map of the area and the best sights to see on our short visit. They organised an airport transport for us too (for an additional cost) and we had no troubles paying credit card at the end of our stay. The rooms were a good size, very well presented with a big comfy bed. Wifi and the aircon were great too. The buffet breaky was amazing. A selection of fresh fruits, cheese, vegetable, bread and spreads, lots of cake and of course plenty of tea and coffees. We'd highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were allocated a ground level room overlooking the pool, which didn't disappoint. Just make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank caityfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When I was reviewing the description of this hotel it was mentioned that the hotel was once a prison - but when I was there I did not get the feeling that it was once a prison!!! In this small town of Selcuk Saint John Hotel appear to be luxurious - the room that we stayed in was small but comfortable. I think the breakfast they served is the best compared to all the hotels that I stayed in while in Turkey. The hotel staff were all friendly and tried their best to make our stay a pleasant one. So if you are in Selcuk stay at Saint John Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NorLaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were only planning to stay one night in Selcuk, but after being taken to our room and exploring the town, we stayed another night. The hotel is extremely clean and taken care of by a very attentive staff. We had an upstairs room overlooking the courtyard and pool. The room was big and comfortable, the shower was excellent. The wifi signal very strong. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant, which was delicious as well. In the evenings, we enjoyed sitting in the courtyard and sipping on wine and tea. The staff here were very friendly, but at the same time, not overbearing and let you do your own thing. Other reviews have some the neighborhood was off putting, as it's located on a residential street behind the main drag. While it appears to be shady, we walked home at midnight and never felt uncomfortable. We parked our car for two days on the street out front with no problems. I highly recommend this hotel and would gladly return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabbaticalness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Large, clean rooms
Very clean bathroom
Amazing service
Wifi worked well
Location is close to St Jean Basillica and the town (5 minutes walk)
Soap and shampoos and towels are very good quality
One of the nicest hotels we stayed at in Turkey

A/C over the bed
Top floor rooms are very hot and unless you can tolerate the cold A/C air blowing on you directly all night, you will feel very hot at night

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ht142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is hidden away amongst the locals' homes. We arrive by train from Istanbul and travelled there by taxi, don't think we would have found it otherwise. Were a little daunted by the surrounds but then stepped into an oasis. Warmly welcomed by the staff and collapsed in our glorious room after a long day of travel. Took up the manager's advice on where to eat that night and wasn't disappointed. I know it is in their best interest to help you organise day trips etc. but we felt very comfortable in taking on their suggestions and didn't regret any of our choices. Went on a day trip to Ephesus, small van - about ten people, and it was fantastic. Very knowledgeable guide - young and cute as well :) Wouldn't hesitate in recommending you stay at Saint John

Room Tip: We had a first floor room looking over the pool. Lovely and quiet. Don't think you could get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyBednarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Everything was perfect. The great staffs ever~! Extremely friendly and helpful. Very beautiful garden and very cozy lobby. They keep the hotel (including swimming pool) extraordinarily clean! And the location is very good, only about five minutes walk to the town centre and no more than 10 minutes to the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#10 of 34 in Selcuk
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nea Efessos Hotel
Nea Efessos Hotel
#12 of 34 in Selcuk
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint John Hotel

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Caddesi No:67, Selcuk 35478, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range: £32 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint John Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic atmosphere of Hotel St. John reaches perfection in its elegantly decorated 26 luxury rooms most of which have balconies with quality and comfortable accomodation like a home away from home . Rooms are tastefuly decorated , such maintain a home like atmosphere . Rooms are quiet, and have double paned windows to screen out unwanted noise.We feel it is important to give people a sense of the place where they stay . Smoking is not permitted, and was prohibited by law in 2011 in indoor areas.Pets are not permitted except quide dogs for blind . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saint John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint John Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing