We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love RUINS”
Review of Visit to Ephesus

Visit to Ephesus
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$39.87*
and up
Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Half-Day Tour to Ephesus Including the Temple...
Ranked #8 of 29 Tours in Selcuk
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the ancient city Ephesus and surroundings with our professional travel team. Ephesus Travel is a local expert offering private and group Ephesus tours from Izmir and Kusadasi cruise ship ports. We have a selection of Ephesus tours available which includes visiting The Ephesus ruins, temple of Artemis,Virgin Mary House,St.John Bassilica Church, Sirince village, Isabey Mosque, Terrace houses. Our Ephesus tours run from port of Kusadasi and Izmir. We provide brand new vans and professional licenced tour guides for you. All entrance fees of sites,transportation and guiding included to our prices.make your trip memorable with us.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you love RUINS”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The place is incredible...and the digging goes on. For hours we toured what had already been unearthed...then watched as part of the "city homes" continued to be unearthed by archaeologists. Walked the marble and granite streets where chariots rode...and where Caesar and Cleopatra and Marc Antony once walked. Just incredible...GO THERE if you love really old digs!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Walk in the footsteps of Paul, Cleopatra, Mark Antony. Well preserved and repaired ancient city with lots to see including facade of library ( rolls were given to Alexandria when Romans burned their library down), toilet house, baths, fountains, etc. I would really recommend a guide or the earphone system in order to understand what you are seeing. Not good access for disabled due to cobblestones and multiple stairs. Can be very busy during cruise ship season so go early or later.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Ephesus: simply one of the most amazing places that I have ever visited. We had a one day tour to Ephesus as part of our cruise of the eastern mediterranean and it was the absolute highlight of the trip.

The fact that the site had remained undiscovered/lost for such a long time has meant that it is almost a snapshot of life at the time. The layout of the city, the facilities and design are quiet amazing for the period and put into perspective just how advanced and "civilised" these people and their society was.

Understandable, there are crowds but the system seems to work: everyone has to enter at the top of the city and everyone works their way down to the exit at the base and it more or less flows very well.

We were on an escorted tour but you can also hire an audio guided system that allows you to make your own way, providing commentary via your headphones.

The architecture, the detail, layout, technology and spirit of this place is almost too difficult to describe and all that I can say is that if you are thinking of visiting this birthplace of humanity, just do it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pakabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding, the Bible comes alive”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

this was our second visit and we got so much more out of it because our guide had a "whisper" system where he had a head speaker and we had a receiver. Even though our group was 36 we were able to hear everything. On our first visit it was a cruise shore excursion and it was so crowded we couldn't hear a thing. The ruins are outstanding and to think only 10% has been uncovered. This is where Paul and John hung out. John and Mary lived here. The library and theatre are outstanding. 250,000 people lived here. It makes parts of the New Testament come alive. A very meaningful experience. It far exceeded our expectations. Put in on your bucket list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasGunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go see if you enjoy these types of sites”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

It was great. You can really envision life there especially on the walk down the one avenue to the library (upper to lower city). The library is the best part of the tour. Amphitheatre also good. We went on a guided tour which made it come alive. Afternoon part of the tour was also great with lunch at a rug making training school. Saw how they make the silk threads right off the silk worm cocoons. Very cool as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Visit to Ephesus also viewed

 

Been to Visit to Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing