We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turkish delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“turkish delight”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we had a wonderful time here. arrived 7th june quite late rooms were not as requested but were changed first thing next day. we were very pleased with the rooms ,food was plentiful with a good variety and the public areas pool and restuarants were spotless.The only drawback was the way the small children were allowed to run riot every eveing without any supervision,In the bar on the marble staircase and in the lifts.We would return,we met some wonderful people Jim Kerry, Peter and liz helped make our holiday GREAT.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room,sunnier and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHMET U, General Manager at Richmond Ephesus Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Ephesus Resort

It was a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel.

the valuable comments which comes from you, really motivate us to serve you better.

We will be very glad to welcome you in our newly renovated hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mehmet UCAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    195
    76
    24
    31
See reviews for
296
217
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hard to know where to start with this hotel, although having read on the complex that this hotel was rated in the top 25 All Inclusives in Turkey last year one has to ask "how???". Whilst not poor, it is far from in the top 25, and by far the worst hotel we've stayed in during our many previous visits to Turkey. The resort itself is ok in the main, rooms have recently been renovated and are excellent. Our plughole in the sink didn't work, but nothing a hand towel couldn't fix! Mini bar in the room was nice touch, altho as it didnt work it was effectively a warm cupboard to hold the free coke & fanta. Cleaning of rooms was ok, and the daily patterns made out of the bedding were always a pleasure to see. Check-in in the impressive looking lobby was very good, and well organised and Can & the Bellboy (whose name I forget) on the front desk were not only polite, but very helpful in rectifying a small issue with the Wi-Fi. This is another fantastic feature within the hotel. The Wi-Fi can be picked up literally anywhere. By far the best Wi-Fi ever encountered in any hotel worldwide, and this is free. Other good points include the lovely waffles, hammocks around the complex, 30 mins of free watersports, The beach was nice and the sea was safe and lovely to swim in. You are entitled to 2 free trips to the Al La Carte restaurant upstairs (Turkish, Italian and Seafood with an additional supplement). This was a pleasant experience and a nice change from the food in the main restaurant. This was a set menu with somewhat sporadic service. During Turkish night we were well looked after, Italian one took over 2 hours to get this completed - whilst guests who came in after us left well before us. In the main tho this experience is a must do. A choice of menu would have been appreciated and might reduce on food waste, however the experience was nice with good views overlooking the sea. Now the bugbears - A major major issue for me was the lack of toilet facilities. Whilst there were toilets around the complex, these were limited and usually just the one. All you needed was 1 person stuck in there a while and you would have to make another long walk to the next toilet. As someone who suffers with a minor stomach complaint this was much cause for concern. However the biggest flaw of this hotel is the entertainment team, Activities were shockingly lack lustre, my gf often went to play Archery at the advertised time and no one would turn up, and even when they did there was no instruction and a bare bone 2 arrows per person each time. Over and out within 2 mins!! Alfanso couldn't grasp my gfs name all week (or English in general) and being English we felt very much the minor nation. English speaking was limited and quite poor considering how well adapted and multi lingual previous entertainment teams have been at other resorts (Altho their English was far better than my Turkish!). The Russians and Germans (even the French) were made to feel like brothers and guests, whereas the brits really were made to feel like inferior guests who had gone to the wrong hotel. Evening entertainment was beyond comprehension, and quite possibly the worst entertainment ive ever encountered in my life (bar a female contortionist who was part of a cabaret act on the last night and rather pleasing on the eye - a lovely treat after encountering the poor in house entertainment all week). Food in the restaurant was much more limited compared to previous visits to other equally rated hotels- although there was no real issue with what was served. I did however find it a little dull, bland and mostly uninspiring. The ignorant Russians and Germans felt it appropriate to push in at every opportunity, or selfishly smoke every possible second and literally everywhere!! It was nigh on impossible to eat anything without someone puffing on a fag 2 inches from you and your food, and altho an ex smoker (one with manners who never smoked in a public eating area) it irritated the hell out of me. NO other resort we have been to allows smoking in eating areas, and this needs to stop immediately. They also have a reserved area for every meal and often these were left empty. This would be fine if the eating area was massive, however it is not so was unable to cope with so many reserved areas. Staff in the main are polite, helpful and a joy to deal with, as with any hotel there are exceptions and in this hotel the most miserable staff work on the pool bar. Elemas and the Man in the lobby bar are quite possibly the most rudest, ignorant staff ive ever had the displeasure to encounter. Drinks banged down on counter, talking to each other as they serve you and generally looking down their nose at you. This would be fine if you've been rude to them and treated them as if they are nobodies, but as someone who always shows gratitude and thanks for service received I didnt appreciate my courtesy being returned with pure ignorance. Beer (Efes) at the start of the week was gorgeous, but as the week progressed these suddenly became cloudy in colour, tasting off and quite disgusting to taste. Cant figure out what it was but it wasn't pleasant. The pools were boring, dull and uninspiring. It was never an issue to find a lounger to sleep on by the pool, however they could do with more of these on the beach as these were virtually all gone by 9am each morning (altho many were vacated by 12, with the mandatory towel being left on its lonesome on the lounger for the remainder of the day!). Didn't use the Spa facilities at all as the lady we spoke to on the first day was quite pushy and a little snotty when we didnt book straight away, shame as we would have done had she not been quite so moody. No point mentioning the Thomson rep who was ok, new to the role and this was evident in the incorrect advice given to us during the welcome meeting, however she will imprive with experience. Be wary of the mozzies there as my gf was munched to death (despite using a lot of repellent). I am never bitten but even I came home with about 5 bites. There are zappers around the complex but these dont seem to stop them from attacking you. We also noted that 5 rabbits and some birds were kept next to their vegetable garden. They didnt seem to have much fresh water and their living conditions were not as they should be. All in all this holiday was ok, way below expectations, and nowhere near as good as they think they are. Ideal holiday if you are 50+ and happy to sit around a pool all day long and simply soak up the sun. If this hotel put some serious work into its entertainment activities and its team, and sorted out a few small but major issues then this could be worth another visit. However at this stage it would be at the bottom of my list of hotels id revisit!

Room Tip: High room, altho lifts are a nightmare with always a long wait for them to arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank venkmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHMET U, General Manager at Richmond Ephesus Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Ephesus Resort.

First of all, we would like to express our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you've experienced during your stay in our hotel.

We would like you to know that your feedbacks and comments are very important for us to enhance the quality of our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our newly renovated hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,


Mehmet UCAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived on 3rd May in the evening and was really pleased with the way the rooms had been refurbished. Sunday we noticed that there was hardly any guests as it's normally quite busy. Monday it seemed all hell let loose, workmen everywhere drilling , hammering and painting. We were informed that it was general maintenance work. I say rubbish the refurbishment obviously had not finished. Having M.E. I need to rest in the afternoon which was impossible as the workmen were coming into the room to fit hooks for tie backs and screen doors. We had brown water coming from shower and phone ringing at odd times in the night. Everything was below the usual high standard of this hotel which we love visiting. It was geared up to open on 17th and we know it will be once again a fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: We booked the hotel itself and the noise was unbearable, but it's not usually like this and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HAZEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHMET U, General Manager at Richmond Ephesus Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Ephesus Resort.

First of all, we would like to express our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you've experienced during your stay in our hotel.

We would like you to know that your feedbacks and comments are very important for us to enhance the quality of our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our newly renovated hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,


Mehmet UCAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wanted a hassle free relaxing holiday to unwind and take in some sunshine. We got this from our visit to this hotel, the moment we checked to the time we left. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was ever an issue. Our room was in A block sounds something like out of a prison but be assured it not just appartments in the hotel grounds. We had a sea view to wake up to every morning and a relaxing bed to sleep in at night. The rooms had English TV channels not many but still a nice touch. The hotel grounds we're beautiful espically while the sun setting with the beach right next door with it's own private beach. We picked a perfect time to go as the hotel was quite so we had the pick of where to lie around the pool. You had a pool bar, snack bar to eat and drink from through out the day and the main restaurant for afternoon and evening meals all within 2 mins walk. The poolside entertainment team were top notch and Mr Nehat think that's his name made our hoilday with his jiggy jiggy oi oi arobic workout. Music around the pool had everything for all ages. Plenty of activities to take part in if you want something to do not like us a book and cocktail or beer got us through the days happily. water sports available on the beach front free to hotel guest for 30 mins. The hotel bar and area was above the main reception was relaxing and some entertainment happened in this area on a few nights. While drinking away the evening and sampling the entertainment brought us to the 12pm most nights and the rumble in the tummy for a light snack. Ever night from 12pm you can grab a snack before bed if you so wish which for me was a first in a hotel that I've been to. Free mini bar in the rooms meant a supply of cold bottled water or coke cola to rehydrate. As an extra cost we had a Turkish massage for around the same price in the uk but maybe a bit of bargaining we could have got the price down so try this folks. All in all and nice enjoyable place and hotel. The bad point luckily not many and nothing to do with the hotel but the Thompson Rep for us didn't really make much of an effort with us and when enquiring why the local buses wouldn't stop for us to which the reply was you need to wave at them wasn't the answer we were looking for was said. We later found out the reason why which was due to the other larger hotel down from us had a bus taxi rank that meant they had buses already filled waiting for collection so no wonder they didn't stop. Then to top it off talking to another person to find out we had made out as moaning customers for this. Anyway forget this part enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHMET U, General Manager at Richmond Ephesus Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Ephesus Resort

It was a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel.

the valuable comments which comes from you, really motivate us to serve you better.

We will be very glad to welcome you in our newly renovated hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mehmet UCAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the Richmond Ephesus 2 years ago and went back again a week ago taking our daughters and their partners with us, We were in a garden room directly above the one we previously stayed in and we were delighted to discover that the bathrooms have been upgraded. One of the party was a vegetarian and I am delightd to say that they found plenty of delicious food to keep them going for the week. We had a brilliant time and all six of ud thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We visited the a la carte restaurant twice and the fish evening was absolutely wonderful. I have only one suggestion that would have improved our visit if it might be possible to create an outside non smoking area it would be brillient but I do know this wouldn't be easy. We will be going back and I think the rest of our party is likely to do so too.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the garden rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHMET U, General Manager at Richmond Ephesus Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Ephesus Resort

It was a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel.

the valuable comments which comes from you, really motivate us to serve you better.

We will be very glad to welcome you in our newly renovated hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mehmet UCAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have now been to this hotel on 6 occasions. We like it so much we have taken family and friends and recomended it to others who have been. All have enjoyed it. This year the rooms have been upgraded and a multitude of other little things to improve the holiday.

A relaxing place with lots to do if you want to.

So much that I could tell you so probably easier If you just message me your question and I'll give you a full and frank response.

Room Tip: A great hotel but we always stay in the Villas in the garden. Villas A, B & C in rooms 11, 12, 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sentoffagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHMET U, General Manager at Richmond Ephesus Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Ephesus Resort

It was a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel.

the valuable comments which comes from you, really motivate us to serve you better.

We will be very glad to welcome you in our newly renovated hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mehmet UCAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The resort driving up looks like it would be wonderful, large, modern and with lots of amenities. First the internet was not very good in any location. We had problems with check in. We were a group of 26 and they dealt with the check in very poorly. Our room had a problem.....it was like an ammonia bomb went off.....we could not even walk in the room. We were given a room that was not in the main hotel. The rooms and bathrooms were nice but not very clean. The grounds actually were not very clean and not very well maintained. The grass was not cut and the weeds were a foot high. The pool area was nice but the pool was not heated....or heated very little. The restaurant was actually very good. The food was varied and was hot and they had omelet station in the morning and grill stations in the evening. There were lots of family's with children. The spa was also very good.

Room Tip: If staying in the main hotel...if noise is an issue do NOT stay over the "disco" or ball r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHMET U, General Manager at Richmond Ephesus Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Ephesus Resort

It was a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel.

the valuable comments which comes from you, really motivate us to serve you better.

We will be very glad to welcome you in our newly renovated hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mehmet UCAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.3 mi away
Palm Wings Ephesus
Palm Wings Ephesus
#8 of 155 in Kusadasi
658 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aria Claros Beach & Spa Resort
12.0 mi away
Paloma Pasha Resort
Paloma Pasha Resort
#1 of 11 in Ozdere
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
9.1 mi away
Notion Kesre Beach Hotel & spa
8.9 mi away
Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Ephesus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Ephesus Resort

Property: Richmond Ephesus Resort
Address: Pamucak Mevki, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#3 Spa Hotel in Selcuk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#7 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Richmond Ephesus Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Ephesus Resort is located at the most beautiful spot of a very special geography bringing together the historical riches and natural beauties on the seafront in Pamucak Bay, Selçuk District of Izmir.A spotless Blue Flag beach as far as the eye can reach, soothing turquoise sea, a vast garden with all shades of green and the history near you… Besides its special location, easy to access Richmond Ephesus is 75km away from İzmir Adnan Menderes Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Ephesus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Ephesus Hotel Selcuk
Richmond Ephesus Resort All Inclusive
Richmond Ephesus Resort Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing