We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive walk through Ephesus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trajan's Fountain

Trajan's Fountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.34*
and up
Kusadasi Half-Day Trip to Ephesus
Ranked #18 of 56 things to do in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Impressive walk through Ephesus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Trajan's Fountain must have been impressive in its time. Another wonderful ruin as you walk down the path on the way to the Celsus Library which can be viewed from this spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryll M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gearhart, Oregon
Level Contributor
468 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Another impressive spot on your walk down the hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is one of my favorite spots on the walk through Ephesus. The fact we can view it is wonderful though I suppose a true archeologist would tell me the not yet excavated shops nearby matter more than an old monument. Another writer points out this is one of many stops on the long walk through ancient Ephesus. I have commented on a few but a person needs to appreciate the entire city: visible plus the 85% we will not see in our lifetime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Well-Preserved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The fountain provides another example of a well-preserved and reconstructed ruin. The signage and pictures help you understand what the fountain was used for, and probably looked like. Overall, the city has been beautifully reconstructed, and will amaze those who travel here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank csharp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“not much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

it's hard to imagine what it used to be like bqack then, but you are already there, so... you have to take pictures and then, if you have the time, search it online so you can see what it used to look like and what history it has

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cocacola499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
293 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Like it. It looks beautiful now, cannot imagine how it looked centuries ago. I found all Ephesus amazing. Take pictures

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank teresa3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trajan's Fountain also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Trajan's Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing