We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room, food, service but...”
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a nice corner room with a view of the basilica - a triple because we like a bit more room. Erdal was very help[ful to me regarding advice re onward buses long before we ever showed up and I appreciated his patience. The breakfast and dinners are fine although the wait staff - two guys - is a little impatient if you don't know right away what it is you want from the several selections available for dinner (fixed price). The location is great - right across from St. John's Basilica. No tour charge for the ride to Ephesus (which is really a great site) but there is for Mary's House (also well worth the trip). Even if you're not Catholic or even religious, it's still very interesting and very peaceful (except for 2 obnoxious German tourists who thought it was funny to try and open up and read the written prayers people had attached to a board, smoking, talking loudly when the signs specifically ask you not to).

BUT - be aware that there is an agenda to get you to purchase either (very nice) ceramics from their shop just off the lobby or from the rug shop in the basement and despite our repeated demurrals to "and when we get back from Mary's House we will just tell you something about rugs - no pressure" you will be getting a pitch unless you are very firm or just don't show up. It is pitched as "education" so "you understand about Turkish rugs for later on". We said several times we were not interested in rugs but then again as we pulled up from the Mary tour we were handed off to Nazmi - "no pressure" - yet there we were (shame on us). As mentioned in one of the reviews below, we were told how these rugs are getting harder and harder and harder to find because they aren't making them, the vegetable dyes are hard to get, the supply of old ones is drying up, etc. (I know where they are - they're now in the U.S. and Europe, apparently). And we actually did buy a rug in a hard to find size so it was effective (upon conducting a mental inventory of spaces in our house we discovered that we actually did need one for one space). We noted that someone we had met earlier in the day - a traveling priest no less - had apparently decided that he wanted no part of the rug pitch and didn't show up. They really need to knock this off because 1) it's disingenuous; 2) since you are staying in the hotel you are a captive audience and 3) there is subtle pressure and no matter what you leave feeling manipulated and that affects the overall experience. But then it's successful for them and it's not like I'll be returning to the area any time soon...).

They were nice enough to get us to the bus station (it's close but you don't want to walk with heavy bags) and when my wife thought she had left her jewelry at the hotel my call from the station got a very quick search of the room and the car - turned out she had forgotten she packed it.

So they get high marks for customer service, location, food (nice restaurant, beautifuuly decorated), and the room. But please knock off the disingenuous sales tactics. Don't get me wrong - the stuff is high quality and you can likely get a much better deal here than in Istanbul or the other places - but only if you're really in the market for it. If you're not, you'll have to be very clear on that point - apparently above and beyond repeated demurrals.

Room Tip: Get the triple on the corner - more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very charming and family owned hotel. We stayed 3 nights in a balcony room overlooking the street, the city, the mountains in the background and also had a very good view of St-John's Basilica next to the hotel. Our room was large by Turkish standard, with a queen bed and a single one which we used to put our luggage on. Very pretty ottoman decor, very warm and inviting, also very clean. The maid even put a cute towel sculpture on your bed every day: swans, elephant, etc.Only drawback is the noise coming from the kitchen and roof terrace early in the morning, the room is right below. We ended up eating at the hotel all 3 nights, the food is really good, fresh, very affordable and plentiful and the view unbeatable. Very good staff, very polite and quick. Beer and wine is also very affordable. Breakfast is not a buffet, rather a prepared plate with fruits, veggies, cheese, jam, olives, etc, along with bread, honey, etc. You can order eggs any way you like as well. This hotel has by far the best location in town, right next to St-John's Basilica which is totally worth a visit, especially at end of day when the sun is low. We had our own car so did not use the hotel shuttle to go to Ephesus, so cannot say anything regarding that service. Overall a very pleasant stay, very good staff and welcoming owners, comfortable room, excellent food, one of the prettiest roof terrace we've seen, lots of character and absolute best location. Truly enjoyed our stay and would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Just be aware that room on the third floor might get some noise from kitchen & roof terrace earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We flew into Izmir and drove to Hotel Bella which is easy to find as it looks out onto the Basillica. The rooms are decorated with lovely pottery which they sell in their shop. If you took away the decorations you are left with a very small room with little room for your luggage. The bathroom was very small and not up to the standards we experienced in the other hotels we stayed at in Turkey. Our room had a little deck and it was nice to have the door open for fresh air at night. There are good restaurants a short walk down the hill. The breakfast was simply but sufficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baxter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel bella for 2 nights in October. It is located right across St John Basillica, the Citadel and the aqueduct ruins. It is about 5-10 min walk from the train station, but is on a hill, so a little challenge going up with luggage. The decor is nice, especially the top floor restaurant. Breakfast was good, but no variety. The room was small, with basic amenities-towels and beddings. We could deal without TV, but there were no cups/glasses in the room. The bed squeaked. However, Erdan and the rest of the staff were friendly.The hotel is also close to the bus station which we used when we went to Sirince and Kusadasi. I will try another hotel next time I am in Selcuk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amrel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were here in April and the storks were all around on top of the Roman ruins just across the street, building their nests. That was the first thing really struck me about this place! The storks sitting on the tops of the ruins. It really made me think about just how old this town is!
Situated about as close to the ruins of Ephesus as you can get, Selcuk is a great little town. We had a corner room upstairs with the Basilica of St. John just across the street from us. The room was great for the 3 of us (we had our teenage son with us) ... three beds were in the room and there was still plenty of room to move about.
The bathroom did have an odor coming out of the pipes--a bit of sewage smell. That was the only bad point about the hotel. We just kept the door to the bathroom shut and it really did not cause us much concern.
Upstairs they have this marvelous area where they serve tea and breakfast. There is an indoor area and an outdoor area. From the outside, you can stand and look down the street towards "town". It is quite a nice view.
The walk to town is very easy. If you want to go to Ephesus, the nice guys at the hotel will be happy to take you and even loan you a guidebook. They took us to some other places too---like a place that makes those great gözleme pancakes, the place where the 7 sleepers were, and to Mary's house. We also paid the hotel to pick us up at the airport...which was wonderful because we really didn't know how to explain how to get to the hotel to anyone else, had we rented a taxi.
We really had fun here....I loved the location so very much. It felt like a normal neighborhood. At night we would walk down to town and eat there--we found a favorite place that we returned to twice. It was nice getting to know the locals.
I definitely recommend this place and look forward to a return trip!!!

Room Tip: Loved our corner room with the view of the basilica and storks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyMeToKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A beautifully decorated hotel with fine wall decorations in the rooms and public areas. However the bed and bedding were less comfortable than the aesthetics. A rather ordinary breakfast was in the pleasant roof restaurant but this was much better for dinner, with fine views up to the basilica and castle. Overall the hotel has a good location. The staff were particularly welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great position as can walk everywhere from here (town small anyway), but great to eat dinner & spend tme on the roof top terrace. It overlooks the town & can see storks nesting on the remains of the Roman aquaduct

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor facing front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skull_Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#14 of 34 in Selcuk
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 34 in Selcuk
452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Bella Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing