We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, smelly bathroom”
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Let me start off by saying the hotel staff was great! The hotel and rooms were small. Decorated in nice Turkish style decor. The rooftop restaurant was quaint and had a great view of the storks and the town.
The problem was that the washroom smelled like sewage, which made the whole room smell really bad! We had to sleep with the windows opened and bathroom door closed just to keep from gaging. We had booked 3 nights in the hotel, but only stayed for 2, because we couldn't stand the smell. And really you don't need more than 2 nights to see everything there is to see in the area.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Walkable from the bus and rail stations, and convenient to the town's attractions. The hotel has a panoramic restaurant on the roof from which one can see a couple of storks nests as well as the city's hilltop castle and St John's Basilica steps away. All the furniture and even the bathrooms are new and clean. Rooms are tight with little space to lay luggage. My bed was a little firm. Heating was fine and everything worked properly. Very helpful staff. The owner has a 2nd hotel close by, and operates a shop on the ground floor for decorative items and carpets, great to browse through, very well lit and fun to visit. All the public areas and rooms have high quality decorative items on display. I visited in the off season and the staff were very helpful with my logistics getting around to see all the sites on my own.

Room Tip: Those with heavy bags might request a lower floor. There are no phones in the rooms. They do have ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisandroVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Quaint hotel, cozy rooms, well decorated and situated on side street across from Basilica St John. No elevator and lots of steps to rooftop, so be wary of this is an issue for some. Great staff, friendly and willing to assist with anything. Provides transport to and from Ephesus and arranged another day trip. Also dropped us off at bus station at end of stay. good food, reasonable prices-free breakfast included. accurately rated on Tripadvisor, well earned. Thanks again to the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simplifie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Bella hotel in Selcuk in Oct 2013 for 2 days. It has reasonable tariffs.The hotel is decorated with some lovely paintings and ceramics. Moreover it is quite close to the central bus stop and railway station. The owner sells ceramics and carpets which are lovely. I just feel that the staff could be more helpful once the guests check out. Otherwise,liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asterix04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Bella. We were greeted by Erdal, one of the owners and given an orientation on the terrace over tea. He gave us a book on Ephesus and gave us all the options on how to visit and prices (on your own vs. audio tour vs. tour guide). It was nice to have that all laid out. He also drove us to the nearby town of Sirince, which was a fun surprise - just over the mountain, a drive full of nectarine and olive groves. We were there in the off season, which meant that everyone at the hotel seemed to have a lot of time to help us with anything we needed. We loved the adjoining shop, with one of the best collections of ceramics and rugs we've seen in Turkey. The halls and rooms are filled with turkish handicrafts - we felt like we were in a museum! Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My friend and I loved everything about this hotel when we stayed on November 12-13. It's nicely decorated with carpets and ceramics from the store the owners also run, and located in the heart of Selcuk across from St. John's Basilica. The owners were extremely helpful -- they drove us around to the sites in Selcuk, planned an itinerary for us, and were generally friendly. The upstairs restaurant / lounge is very comfy with a beautiful view of the city, castle, and mountains. The owners also sell handmade ceramics and carpets for reasonable prices. I bought some ceramics but didn't buy a carpet, although I did learn about carpetmaking from the owners. In the end, I think Hotel Bella had the best carpets and ceramics I saw in my one week stay in Turkey. I'd highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Upon arriving at Hotel Bella my husband and I were warmly greeted by the hotel owner Nazmi and his staff. We were given a few minutes to unpack and then instructed to meet with Nazmi in the restaurant. After reading some of the previous reviews we didn’t know what to expect. Or were expecting a rug sales pitch that was described from the other Trip Advisor posts. As it turned out Nazmi was like a tour guide and came up with an itinerary of all the things we wanted to accomplish in our 3 day stay. He drove us to Sirince that afternoon for lunch and picked us up later. Told us what would be a good time to go to Basilica of St. John. We had dinner that night at Hotel Bella and it was very good. Bottle of wine, mezes, great kabobs, and baklava in a warm Turkish ambiance for about 70TL or $35. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are decorated beautifully with Turkish decor. The breakfast that is included in the price is very good and plentiful also.

The next day Nazmi drove us to Ephesus. With Nazmi’s experience he knows just how long you will need at the attractions. He picked us up 3 hours later and then drove us to an awesome lunch spot and actually helped us pick what to order before he left. My husband and I like to be in charge and do our own thing but we trusted Nazmi’s guidance and he didn’t disappoint. He gave us the privacy we like and we never felt pressured to do what he recommended. That afternoon we met with Nazmi for his aforementioned carpet tutorial. We really had not planned on buying any rugs but we felt the value and quality are so superior that we just could not pass it up. We ended up buying 3 rugs and getting a great deal on some quality souvenirs. So if you plan on buying a rug while in Turkey wait until your stay at Hotel Bella. Nazmi is truly an expert on them and gets some wonderful heirlooms from all the villages he visits during the winter months.

On leaving day Nazmi insisted on driving us to the train station. An easy 5 minute walk. He checked the train schedule and saved us money by insisting we didn’t need a shuttle to the airport. If guests want to rent a car that also can be arranged and delivered directly to the hotel.

Hotel Bella’s sign reads “Come as a guest and leave as a friend”. That is exactly how we feel. We were treated like life long friends staying at Hotel Bella. A great experience!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms in front are nice with good views, but a little loud in the morning due to being on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacktdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#14 of 34 in Selcuk
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 34 in Selcuk
452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Bella Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing