We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Bella was a great base for Selcuk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Bella was a great base for Selcuk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nazmi gave us a very warm welcome with many helpful suggestions for the surrounding area. Ephesus was well worth the visit and the guide Nazmi suggested was excellent. We also quite enjoyed our morning in Sirince. Loved the roof top terrace, watching the storks. The hotel is perfect for seeing the sights around Selchuk but this is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are tiny but clean and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dale1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    254
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
124
415
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

As other reviews point out, the rooms at Hotel Bella are on the small side ... BUT, the warmth and helpfulness of the owners, the great location, the lovely roof restaurant, and the convenience more than make up for that. We stayed three nights, and Erdal could not do enough to make our visit to Selcuk and Ephesus successful. When we arrived, after settling in, Erdal met us up on the roof to provide an orientation (and the ubiquitous tea of course) and make suggestions for our visit. As we arrived on a Saturday, he immediately sent us to the local farmer's market (a must-do if you are in town on Wed or Saturdays), and we had a nice dinner at the hotel that night. The hotel helped recommend a guide for us for our visit to Ephesus, and Erdal even gave us a ride up to Sirince Village for a nice morning of browsing the shops (go to the felt store, it is extraordinary). Breakfast in the morning was simple but did the job, the hotel staff was truly accommodating, it is an easy and short walk from the hotel to the center of town (which is a few streets lined with restaurants and shops), and we think we made a great choice picking Hotel Bella. Although we didn't buy anything, we enjoyed browsing the attached shop as well as looking at the art decorating the hotel. If you are visiting Selcuk you are not looking for a resort experience, but rather a good base for exploring the fantastic ruins -- you will not go wrong with the Hotel Bella. (Our visit coincided with the stork migration, and as there were a few nests just outside the hotel easily seen from the roof and our balcony that was an added bonus!).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were treated so well from the moment we arrived. Nothing was a problem for them from serving us breakfast early to helping with planning our days. Providing the nesting cranes for entertainment was pure magic. Loved the rooftop terrace.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and there was little noise at night and we enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suquamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently stayed there and would highly recommend it.

What makes this hotel is the quality of the staff. The host, Erdal, is superb. He gave us a really good briefing at the start and was very helpful. My husband was sick while we were staying there and Erdal drove me to the pharmacy to get some medication.

We love the rooftop bar and restaurant and had a very nice dinner. The breakfasts area leo excellent.

Our room was very small however this was more than compensated by the positive aspects of the hotel. All in all, a great hotel and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful, the hotel very nice, room was a bit small, but the location was perfect. Across from the ruins of the church of St. John, a block from the center of town, 3 km from Ephesus, Hotel Bella is perfectly situated. Breakfast was filling and fresh, and the rooftop terrace has wonderful views across the village. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Be careful, Hotels.com will book you a room that they say has a balcony, but it doesn't....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We were only here for one night but the owners were very welcoming and accommodating. Parking was on street but it was easy to find a space. The room was small but nicely furnished with traditional decoration. Our room faced the street which made it noisy during the day but it didn't disturb us in the night. The bathroom was small but the shower was great. The best thing about this hotel though is the lovely rooftop terrace. It suited us for our short stay and I would recommend it to anyone in a similar position.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
199 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

First impression of Hotel Bella is they have a great rate and in good location within the city of Selcuk. We did not realize how good we had it until we arrived. First off it was road side parking, right next to their entrance, and parking was always available, then we realized exactly where we were!
The hotel is located immediately across from the entrance of St. John’s Basilica, and what looks to be the remains of an aqueduct and some Corinth pillars; and all this is accompanied with views of Ayasuluk Castle. The hotel is also surrounded with telephone poles; each which has a nesting stork on them. They can be seen best upstairs from the hotel’s restaurant and terrace. Secondly we were promptly greeted as soon as we parked and the hotel staff quickly helped us with our baggage. Another Plus was the main female receptionist speaks English. We were then given a quick review and recommendations of local attractions while drinking Cay and even offered rides to and from these locations. One recommendation was the wine making mountain village of Sirince. We would have completely overlooked it if not for his guidance. The little village is full of shops, charm, wine, ice cream, and architecture, and worth a visit.
Our room and bathroom were immaculate. We reserved the triple room which we did not realize has a balcony which looks out over the front of the hotel and the Basilica. The room along with the entire hotel and restaurant was thoughtfully decorated with Traditional Turkish décor. Completely charming and beautiful and exactly the at home Turkish experience we desired.
Part of the décor encompassed hand painted Turkish ceramics lining the hallways which seconded as a display, because I believe any of it could be purchased. Many of these plates and ceramics could be found at any souvenir shop. I have lived in Turkey for two years and seen many especially in Cappadocia. But the quality of what I saw in hotel Bella’s décor and gift shop was quite impressive. Their prices for items at first might seem high to some, but if you are familiar with tiles and Turkish carpets you will see the quality and its great price comparison. We did buy a few pieces and held some restraint to buy much more. After our visit in Selcuck we traveled to Istanbul where we received sticker shock for the same items and regretted not buying more from Bella’s gift shop! –But wit there’s more. Bella also has a carpet store. The gift shop has stairs going down, at first you might not realize your granted access to go down them, but feel free to go and explore many of their carpets we spent about an hour looking through them!
Another plus was Wifi worked well.
The restaurant serves average Turkish food and compares to most restaurant’s taste and prices. Breakfast is included in the room price and would be the only negative thing to share. The food is a good traditional Turkish breakfast. But unlike other hotel’s that allow you to serve yourself buffet style; we had to wait to be served separate plates from the kitchen, all of our four plates came out at different times about 4-5min from each other. At most destinations we visit we like to be able to grab breakfast and run, which allows us to beat most tourists and large tour groups to locations. But due to the breakfast arrangement here it took approx 30mins to receive all the food and eat, rather than the 7mins were usually able to squeeze breakfast into.
All in all a great hotel and actually my favorite of all 9 hotel’s I have stayed in throughout Turkey!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Property: Hotel Bella
Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Bella Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing