We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and charming”
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms small but comfortable. Lovely rooftop terrace for meals. Owner could not do enough to make our stay memorable. He even lent us his well worn guide to Ephesus. He also suggested a remote but delicious fish restaurant called Carina near Priene.

Room Tip: We went for a three bed corner room which was slightly more expensive but agreeably larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This little 3 star is better than good. The place oozes atmosphere and the rooftop restaurant, bar is everything you would want.

An added bonus is the little hill opposite which houses the grave of John The Epistle and which is a perfect place at sunset.

The only negative is that the rooms are a tad small but, hey, it used to be a rather nice house and you'll probably only be there for a couple of nights.

Overall, excellent and the food is good too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Love the decor. Rooms were small and sometime smelly. Toilet was small and stuffy. Rooftop restaurant was pleasant with reasonable breakfast and dinner. Staffs were pleasant and welcoming. I am not sure what other choices of hotels there are in Selcuk but heard from the guide that this was one of the best in the town. All in all, I have mixed feeling about this hotel and would have rated it very good if the rooms were larger and not smelly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank VNC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The combination of several good things make this place like a home for travelers: nice bedrooms, kind and very attentive staff, good terrace view with lunch and dinner excellent options, decorative ceramics and tapestry along the corridors and inside the bedrooms. The family room with 4 beds was perfect for my family. Also they helped me to arrange an excellent tour guide for Efesus and Priene,Miletus and Didima sites. I do recommend any traveler to have this hotel booking and enjoy their hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front of St John basilica, with a view to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmersonPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I cannot rate the service and property of Hotel Bella highly enough. My husband and I had a wonderful time staying there - and I'm sure that we would not have enjoyed the sites of Ephesus and its surroundings nearly as much as we did without the help and hospitality of the owner of the hotel and our true host, Nazim.

Most hotels will pay lip-service to the idea of "guest" and "host" but Nazim and his staff take it seriously. You truly are a guest when you stay at Hotel Bella. Nazim gave us spot-on advice for how to plan our day trips and then drove us around to the places we wanted to visit, lending us a guidebook - all free of charge. He is an amazing hotelier who knows how to strike the perfect balance of being friendly and hospitable without ever being pushy. You are under no obligations ever, but Nazim and his staff truly want to help you enjoy your stay. It was just superb service.

The hotel is decorated with sumptuous Turkish goods - wood carved beds, artistic tiles, gorgeous carpets, etc. The quality is much higher than you'll find in Istanbul's touristy areas and markets. Nazim has a shop that was unfortunately out of our price range, but whenever I'm in the market for a Turkish carpet - I know who to contact! In the meantime, I just enjoyed the carpets and art that filled the hotel.

The rooftop is an amazing place. It looks out over the St. John's Basilica, the Castle on the hill, and the town of Selcuk below. Best of all, you are eye-level with the town's Stork nesting platforms. Storks are not native to the United States so we had never seen these magnificent birds before, we were enthralled to watch them in the nests!

Each afternoon we would lounge on the cushions on the rooftop, drinking tea (free of charge), and watching the sun go down. If you choose to eat dinner there, the food is very good. I recommend eating there at least once during your stay.

If we ever return to Selcuk, we will definitely stay at Hotel Bella!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel got so much right. There were only two problems I had with it. 1. The one waitron was rude and abrupt. Given that the staff/owners at this hotel could give training on customer service, how he still has a job is beyond me. 2. The bed has a solid piece of wood at its foot, which prevents your feet from resting comfortably unless you are short.

I would still recommend Hotel Bella though. The terrace is a fantastic place to rest and eat. The hotel's decor is phenomenal - full of turkish wares. A really charming hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed two nights at Hotel Bella - a decision based on reviews read. The location of the hotel was a pleasant surprise with two historical sites right on the doorstep. We had arrived by bus and found that we were only a 7-10 minute walk from the hotel. Great when pulling a trolley case. Upon arrival, which was around lunchtime, we were shown to our room and given time to settle before an arranged meeting in the rooftop restaurant (gorgeous spot) to be given local info. I expected a hard sell on the hotel gift shop as this is mentioned in many reviews but it was only ever mentioned twice in passing. We were going to head off for lunch before going across the road to the ruins and our host encouraged us to eat from the hotel restaurant - which we did - and while it was ok we were rather surprised when checking out to see a random figure put down for this 'snack' with little indicationre a breakdown of costs. So would pay to check cost of food before eating! A real bonus is the offer of transport both to and from Efes. This was much appreciated and, as we were only staying one night, a huge help in achieving visiting this historical ruin. The rooms are fine although our AC was pretty inefficient. But clean and comfy and great breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#14 of 34 in Selcuk
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 34 in Selcuk
452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Bella Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing