We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Exploration”
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Could not ask for a better location. Steps from train station in Selcuk and at the base of the Basilica of St John. Helpful staff that delivers you to Ephesus..a little later than my liking at 9am, but they collect you at 12 noon..just about the right amount of time to tour Ephesus. Hotel is filled with beautiful Turkish ceramics and fabrics. Perhaps the only shortcoming is the breakfast compared to other Turkish hotels of similar quality, but the top floor view compensates

Room Tip: Cobblestone street in front, higher rooms have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SkepticNTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I could not fault this hotel. It is located opposite the Basilica of St John, a short walk to the mosque and the Temple of Artemis. And just a few kilometres from Ephesus and Sirince. It is a perfect base for the sights.

The staff are well informed if you require tourist information. The top floor bar/restaurant is very pleasant and has some good meal deals.

The bathroom was small and there was little storage space. However the room was very, very clean and had an amazing view of the storks' nests from the balcony.

Every day the towels were folded into a different animal. Hats off to the housekeeping staff.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rocca1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our stay at the Bella Hotel was lovely. I went with family in July 2014 and we stayed at the Bella for three nights in order to visit Ephesus, Pamukkale, and PMD (Priene, Miletus, Didyma). The hotel is located across from Saint John's Basilica (which has ancient ruins), and overlooks stork nests. We had arrived by plane to Izmir and took a train from the airport to Selcuk. The hotel is an 8-min walk from the train station. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the hotel is beautifully decorated with painted porcelain tiles and traditional carpets. Our room was cosy and clean, and the fresh towels were shaped into very cute animals every morning.
Nazmi drove us to Ephesus for free, and gave us enough time to explore the beautiful ancient ruins before picking us back up. He also arranged for us to go to Virgin Mary's House for a small fee, and booked for us with a tour to visit Pamukkale.
The breakfast served on the terrace was excellent; the best we had on our 10-day trip. The food at the restaurant was also very good, and their portions are generous. They serve traditional Turkish food, and offer an inexpensive formula which includes a soup, starters, salads, and meat.
We were leaving to Bodrum afterwards, and wanted to visit PMD on our way, so Nazmi arranged for us to go with a driver from the staff, in order for us to keep our luggage in the car while he drove us to each of the three Greek sites and later to our hotel in Bodrum. The price was reasonable considering that our luggage was safe and that we toured three sites.
They also have a lovely in-house boutique from which we bought three framed tiles.
Our stay at the Bella was great; we felt very welcome and enjoyed our time there. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ephesus or going to Selcuk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nour A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel Bella was perfect for a few days stay to visit Ephesus. The hotel is in a great location right opposite the St. John Basilica which we visited a couple of times. We loved the storks which were on top of various posts next to the hotel. From the roof top of the hotel you get a great view of the young storks flapping their wings and practicing flying (we visited in June) Also on the roof top you can relax, read, watch TV, play backgammon, order drinks and chill. It’s a lovely space. Breakfast is served here and you can order dinner if you wish. The food was actually very good.

The hotel is very friendly and they offered their guidebook to borrow for our visit to Ephesus. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the Ephesus site (about 10 minutes away) and a pick up 3 hours later, which was perfect. Before setting off they checked that everyone had a bottle of water. This is a good idea as once in the site there isn’t any for sale.

The rooms are very small. Not much room for luggage. There’s no TV in the room, which was fine with us. The bathroom was interesting as the vent from the shower seems to go to the room next door as suddenly a man’s voice was very loud in the bathroom scaring the living daylights out of me!

All in all a lovely stay and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As others have noted, the location is excellent. The breezy rooftop terrace/restaurant is delightful, with views of nearby ancient ruins and the stork nests. We stayed three nights and had all our breakfasts and dinners on the terrace. The food was fresh, well prepared and varied. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The terrace is a place where you can feel at home, with a small library of guide books available, a TV, the friendly staff, and comfortable seating.

We had not finalized our plans when we arrived, though we knew we wanted to go to Ephesus and also make some road trips to Pamukkale, Aphrodisias, some other nearby ruins, and possibly Bodrum. Nazmi had recommendations for us, all of which turned out to be excellent. On very short notice he arranged for a driver to take us for a day trip to Aphrodisias (highly recommended) and Pamukkale.

The rooms are small, which could be an issue for someone who wants to spend a lot of time in their room. But who would come to a place like this and want to spend a lot of time in their room?

Hotel Bella, including the terrace, is beautifully furnished with carpets and tiles. Don't miss Nazmi's shop next to the hotel, where he sells beautiful carpets, tiles, and other art objects. Nazmi, of course, wanted to talk to us about carpets. We did not go to Turkey to buy carpets, and I told him we had no intention of buying any. He told us that was OK, he would like to tell us about them anyway. We listened, and after thinking about it for a couple of days, ended up buying two carpets and two large framed tiles. One of the tiles was specially made after we left to match the color and style of the one we chose in the shop. They arrived today, and they are even more beautiful in our home than we remembered them in the shop (plus the special order was perfect). Everything was exactly the way Nazmi said it would be. The large framed tiles were packaged so securely I think they could have dropped out of the plane and survived.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel Bella was perfect for our 2-night stay in Selcuk for a visit to Ephesus. The hotel is clean, well-decorated, and has great service. The rooms are very affordable and quaintly decorated. Our room and bathroom were on the small side, but definitely worth the price. The breakfast was nice and the rooftop breakfast terrace is the perfect place to enjoy it. Don't forget to look out for the nesting storks!

The location is great, w/in 2-3 blocks of the train station, 1 block from the main shopping area with local restaurants, 1 block from the St. John's Basilica ruins and castle. It's also a short drive to Ephesus; the hotel will shuttle you there and back and will let you borrow a handy Ephesus guide book. They also let us borrow sun hats for the day (very helpful). I lost my mobile phone at Ephesus and the hotel staff went out of their way to contact the ruins multiple times to check if it was turned in. I highly recommend Hotel Bella for your visit to Ephesus!

Room Tip: all rooms seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms small but comfortable. Lovely rooftop terrace for meals. Owner could not do enough to make our stay memorable. He even lent us his well worn guide to Ephesus. He also suggested a remote but delicious fish restaurant called Carina near Priene.

Room Tip: We went for a three bed corner room which was slightly more expensive but agreeably larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#14 of 33 in Selcuk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#11 of 33 in Selcuk
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
625 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: £28 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Bella Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing