We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful/Sincere service & clean”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful/Sincere service & clean”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We were in Selcuk April 18 - 19, 2011 and loved our stay at the Hotel Nazar. All four of us were welcomed with a handshake when we walked in the door (including our 12 & 9 year old daughter's). The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable - with a great view of the castle out of our window. The location is across the main road from the center of town, but was quiet and a 5 minute walk. We were happy to have less street noise. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

I would absolutely recommend the Hotel Nazar to anyone visiting Selcuk. We all agreed that the service we received was the nicest, most sincere, during our entire 10 day visit tp Turkey. We felt like we were visiting a family who took personal care of us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    159
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
286
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Had a great stay here, got along great with Osman and the family. Not that experienced with tipadvisro so only just reviewing now.

Rooms clean and free transfers to Efes. Food was great and service friendly and warm. Pool was a welcome refreshment in the evening as was the chance of a cold beer around the pool.

A bit of a walk from the station, but that was only because I lost the number and only printed the map and not the hotel details, can't blame the hotel for that!!

I was very happy with th hotel and the rate and it was one of the best places that we stayed at in Turkey.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_H001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Hotel Nazar is a great pension within walking distance of the bus station. The room was clean, warm, and had 24 hour hot water. Our room was cozy and comfortable, and the free breakfast was delicious. Making Nazar even better is the friendly and English speaking owner, Osman. They also offer free lifts to Ephesus. We highly recommend this hotel for any traveler to Selcuk, Turkey.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhall12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Nazar for two nights in March 2011 over my honeymoon after reading positive reviews online in my search to find a hotel near the ruins at Ephesus. Hotel Nazar is a cozy hotel run by the brothers Osman and Asim and their family. It is a very clean, very amenable hotel. It it also pretty bare bones, without a lot of amenities, and reminded me a lot of the hotels that I stayed in when I traveled in provincial France -- simple and straightforward. That said, I think we made the right choice for staying in the area. Salcuk is very close to Ephesus and the hotel arranged for a resonably-priced tour guide. They also gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner -- Edjer Restaurant -- we went both nights that we were there! Lastly, they were very accomodating with our weird travel schedule and both picked us up at the train station at the last minute and got up very early in the morning to make us breakfast before our departure. Overall, I think this hotel was a good value and I felt very taken care of.

I want to add that my husband and I traveled here in the off-season (early March). Which was perfect in terms of seeing the ruins without huge crowds. However, I imagine Salcuk to be a lovely and lively town when the weather is a bit warmer and more amenable to outdoor dining and relaxing by the pool. That said, there was still plenty to do in early March and the hotel rooms were adequately heated and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crs256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Our stay at the Hotel Nazar was odd. Just odd.

We had arranged for a ride from Izmir airport, and the hotel proprietor met us as scheduled and drove us to Selcuk. He was an extremely cautious driver, and we were passed by every car on the road as if we were standing still. It seemed as if the 90-minute drive could have easily been completed in 60-minute or less. But at least we arrived safely.

As there were three of us traveling (one couple and one single), we had arranged the deluxe room which slept four people. The room was clean, but very spartan consisting of 4 single beds, an armoire, and a television. It was not at all homey, nor was it a place that we wanted to spend much time. Because there was no chair in the room, and given that we were the only guests in the hotel (apparently December is very much off-season), we borrowed a chair from an adjacent unlocked room. We also helped ourselves to a few extra towels from the unlocked linen closet when the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor.

After the next morning's room cleaning, the chair had been removed from the room. We discovered that the vacant rooms as well as the linen closet had been locked tight, as if we had committed an unpardonable sin. The front door to the hotel was always locked, and we were not given a key, but had to ring a bell for entry at all hours. As someone else wrote on this site previously, "we felt monitored, but not in a friendly, welcoming way."

The family was outwardly friendly, and happily drove us to the historic site of Ephesus, but we never got over the feeling that we weren't particularly welcome. We felt as if we were a means of paying the bills during their slow season. One of the oddest experiences is that the family had an elderly grandmother, obviously in the very late stages of life, who was parked in the central living area. We felt as if we were intruding on a very personal and very painful family drama. (Perhaps this is why we never felt as if we were welcome?)

Our plans changed and we needed to leave a day earlier than previously planned. When we broke this news to the family, we again felt like we were committing an unpardonable sin -- even though we agreed to pay half the room fee for the last minute change of plans.

Upon check out, we were told that the credit card machine was broken and they could only accept cash. Even if this was true (which we doubted), it was extremely inconsiderate to wait until such a late hour to tell us. We did not have time to go to the ATM as we had to catch our ride to the airport, and had to pool all the cash we had in order to settle up.

Although the hotel has many positives (cleanliness and location primarily), I'm afraid I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipeman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The staff was great at Nazar Hotel. The location was great too, although Selcuk is such a small town any hotel would probably have a good location. The rooms were very basic: no TV unless you pay a little bit more. The regular sized rooms are very small but clean. The mattresses were quite hard. The breakfast was good, the usually: scrambled eggs, sliced tomatoes and cucumber, cheese, bread and jam, coffee or tea. If you are on a tight budget, this is a good place to go, but if you can spend a bit more money… find something a bit more comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slinky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We would lıke to say how much we enjoyed the warmth and hospitality of Osman and his family at Hotel Nazar. After having traveled for about 10 days in Turkey, it was probably the first time during our trip that we felt we had connected to a Turkish family - it was as though we were stayıng wıth friends.

Hotel Nazar ıtself ıs very well located - a walk-to-everywhere-in-Selcuk kind of place and in a local neighbourhood that ıs perfect for observing Turkish lıfe outside your wındow as well as the old castle on the hill that we could see from the window of our room. Our room and bathroom were spacious, clean and comfortable.

Do try Osman's sıster's cooking - delicious Turkish home cooking that is a refreshing change from kebabs and grills. And ıf Osman has the time to take you on a day trip (as he dıd for us) - don't hesıtate.

Thank you Osman and family - wishing you and your family all the very best!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esprit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Property: Hotel Nazar
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nazar Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing