We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very hospitable staff.”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent a night here but had a lovely memorable stay here.

We were picked up from the otogar. While this is 250m away, it can be a bit hard to find but once there, the town is very easy to navigate and everything is walking distance.

We were given a very good room with a balcony. The room was nicely heated in a little while - very nice considering that was what we were hoping for in the cold.

You can easily walk to the castle, the museum, acqueducts or walk around town on your town. There are very good kebab shops around with a bakery dishing out fresh bread and sweets all day, all night.

The people in Selcuk were very hospitable so do talk to them. We had wonderful conversations back at the hotel as well. Breakfast is what you get in Turkey - never had a bad one with the usual fresh baked bread, cheese, jams, olives, eggs, tomatoes, fruits, etc.

Certainly a very good stay there and few manage to be memorable.

Room Tip: Take a look before taking one. Quite a few different ones to choose, each with their own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed 1 night in Selcuk. We took a plane from Istanbul to Ismir, a shuttle bus to the otogar (7TL) then a minibus into Selcuk (8TL).
Good location, an easy walk to the bus station where you can get a minibus to Ephesus . Nazar House has a swimming pool for use in summer in a nice courtyard. The owner collected us from the bus station and breakfast was good. The room and bathroom were small but clean and quite adequate for 30.50E. We also had a small balcony from which you can see the nearby castle.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzie5melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This hotel in Selcuk had great location to Ephesus and the Temple of Artemis, etc. Finding this place was a bit challenging by car but after circling the general area we finally found it. The owner helped us get a good parking spot on the street just next to the hotel which was convenient. The room itself (a triple, a double bed and a single) was decent and actually quite spacious compared to other hotels in Turkey. We also had a little balcony. Wi-fi was available for free. We had a problem with the TV and the owner was very quick to come and fix the problem.

The hotel was located quite close to the center of town and we had a quick walk to dinner. In the morning, we were treated to amazing views on the top floor terrace while we had breakfast - a very typical Turkish breakfast with cooked to order eggs. The owner and his family were super-friendly and we chatted for a while in the morning during breakfast.

I would have no problem staying here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We visited Ephesus during the day and then stayed at Hotel Nazar. Great staff, tight rooms but excellent value. Perfect winter location.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at the Nazar in late November & found it to be excellent. After arriving at the otogar we found our way to the hotel with the direction of extremely helpful local people. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the otogar & the centre of Selcuk. Our host, Osman was helpful & friendly & prepared a wonderful breakfast for us each day & made good recommendations for dinner. Alice the dog was an added bonus. She's a friendly & quiet puppy who loves visitors.The hotel is in a quiet & safe neighbourhood. Our room had a small balcony & great views of the citadel & the St John the Baptist basilica. Osman organized for us to be taken to Ephesus top gate by a family friend without cost-she was very helpful too. Our room was a good size and very clean. Great shower too with plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdibden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Booked this hotel based on previous positive reviews but rooms are small with old diry carpet, tiny bathroom with a moldy shower that overflows each time, old scratchy towels. The owner comes across as very nice but this is a front to make you feel bad if you complain at all about the room. He will rip you off with the exchange rate, so best to pay in Euros. Unfortunately there's not much accomodation choices in this town. Next time would rather pay more for a more comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My friend and I stayed here for several days in late November, and the owner of this hotel has an unbelievable impact on our trip. In addition to providing an excellent breakfast every morning, Osman helped us by:

1) Breaking down our itinerary piece by piece on our first night to make sure that we could see everything.

2) Found us a tour to Hierapolis and Pamukkale in low-season, which was no easy feat.

3) Most importantly, when he could not find us tours to visit Priene, Miletus, Didyma, and
Aphrodisias (all definitely worth visiting), he broke down the pros and cons of various options to reach these cities before finding us a low-cost automatic rental car. Neither my friend or I had ever driven in a foreign country, and frankly, we would probably not have made it to these sites without Osman.

In addition to the awesome owner, the rooms are spacious and clean, and there exists an adorable and crazy energetic dog named Alice. This place feels like home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 34 in Selcuk
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 34 in Selcuk
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: £35 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nazar Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing