We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This pension hotel offers much more than a delightful building near the center of Selcuk: brothers Osman and Asim create the feeling of a home away from home. After a day or two you feel like part of the family--including the 'family' of other travelers you meet on the rooftop for breakfast (and lunch and dinner, if you want). The food is great, the walled garden with a swimming pool is a plus, and the brothers know the best company for a PMD tour (Priene, Miletus, Didyma--Greek and Roman sites hard to reach without a car) with a wonderfully knowledgeable guide. Whatever my question, they had a helpful answer--including help with wheeling my luggage to the train station because I had a problem with my knee. And the hotel is only a five minutes' or so walk to either the bus or the train station.

While most American tourists come to nearby Ephesus on huge cruise ships, being bussed in and out of that famous Roman ruin, they miss the charm of Selcuk, its Saturday market, its hamam (Turkish bath), its storks (and stork nests high on ancient pillars in the town center), and its excellent museum. I loved sitting on the hotel rooftop in the evening, watching the walled fort high on the hill or staring over town rooftops into the distance, and seeing the storks fly by with food for their nestlings.

If you want clean functional accommodations, a wonderful family atmosphere, great home-cooked food and views, a 45-minute walk (or a free ride) to Ephesus, and even a small bookcase of English books that various travelers have left behind, stay at the Nazar Hotel. I high recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint.
The room we had at the family run hotel was spotless and their Owners made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay at Selcuk.
Bed was comfy and the bathroom was in near new condition. Bar soap is provided. Simple yet appetizing Turkish breakfast is provided.
They provided free shuttle to Ephesus and also to the bus station when we were leaving. They always responded to our request positively with a smile.
It was a leisurely 10 min walk to the bus station. The weekend market was held in the same vicinity.

Look no further for an affordable yet warm stay in the charming town of Selcuk. Highly recommended and thanks to Osman for making our trip at Selcuk memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastMeetWest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel was booked for us by an agency, and we were very pleased with their choice. Room was small but very comfortable, with a small balcony. The family who run the hotel are all very friendly and helpful, and the home-cooked meals they serve on the rooftop terrace are so good we ate there every night - there was good variety in the nightly fixed menu. They were also by helpful when there were some glitches in the hotel pickups arranged by the tour company, offering to drive us to the bus station. They have computers available, but the Turkish keyboard is a challenge! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at Nazar Hotel from April 30 to May 4, 2012
Very nice with a beautiful walled garden, swimming pool and roof top terrace (great views) for breakfast and dinner (if you like). Rooms are basic, functional and very clean - just what we were looking for.
Very nice hospitable and helpful family. Brothers Osman and Asim and their families do a great job. A young boy family member (about 5 or 6 years old) brought us our yogurt at breakfast and very shyly practiced his English by saying good morning. He was wonderful and reminded us of grandchildren.
Was thinking about renting a car in Izmir but I decided to use the pick up and drop off at the airport service that they offer and that was a plus since a free shuttle to the Ephesus site is available. Selcuk is very walkable.
All in all a perfect introduction to Turkey outside Istanbul and Ankara.

Room Tip: Neighborhood seemed pretty quiet after dark so any room is probably okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantimotaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were referred to the Hotel Nazar by a couple that we met in Istanbul. We were a little unsure when we booked the room considering how cheap it was. It was beautiful. We arranged to have the staff, all family of course, pick us up from the airport for a very reasonable rate. Our room was basic, but very clean and comfortable. The gardens were beautiful and the pool was clean. The whole garden pool area looked like it was out of a magazine. Next to the pool in her house you can find the sweetest dog Alice. She loves attention. We had a delicious dinner for very cheap on the roof top terrace as well as the included breakfast. The food was very good. The stay also includes free transportation to Ephesus. The great part about this was that they would take you as soon as you were done breakfast. We got there before all of the crowds and really enjoyed taking pictures at the library with no one else in them. The hotel is in a great location, close to other ruins as well as the bus station and shopping markets. We were really impressed and would go back to the Hotel Nazar in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateZimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our family of four stayed two nights sightseeing in the area. Driving up to the hotel we weren't sure if we made a mistake booking as the area seemed more residential. After walking in we were relieved. Very clean hotel with great courtyard and pool. Family Room was very large and the four of us had plenty of room. Osman told us that it used to be two separate rooms before they renovated the hotel. We were very comfortable and had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We wouldn't recommend the hotel restaurant. There are better nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The two brothers who run this hotel are so accomodating. We arrived late at the hotel our first night and he asked if we were hungry. Starving! He rang the kitchen, although they had just closed and said that they will have dinner for us in 10 minutes. The room was spacious, clean and a great location. The roof top resteraunt served a great included breakfast. The owner drove us to Ephesus and dropped us off.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#10 of 34 in Selcuk
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 34 in Selcuk
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: £35 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nazar Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing