We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I found this place on Tripadvisor and emailed them to hold a room. No fuss no bother. The room was available when I arrived. Great roof top terrace for meals with a view of the Basilica.
The hotel is off the main road in a family friendly neighborhood. It is walking distance to the centre and the bus station. The guest computer in the reception area was a bonus since I dont travel with one and always on the lookout for an internet cafe. The garden are next to the pool is a great place to read and relax after a day at Ephesus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProdigalSonReturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    159
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
286
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Nazar hotel was a lovely hotel, very centrally located. We got to the hotel late and were hungry, we decided to eat at their restaurant on the terrace. The cook whipped up a special vegetarian dish for my husband as there was nothing on the menu he wanted.
In the morning we were driven to Ephesus by Lily a family friend who also ran a small carpet place opposite the museum. We had a lovely day walking around the ruins and they dropped by Lily's store on the way back.
We had a great time at this lovely hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great location close to the city center by short walks. Friendly, hospitable owner/staff. Nice quaint room. Good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famous_nobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

When you walk in it feels like a little tucked away haven especially the breakfast room overlooking the tiny pool and the green outside the glass doors- a little shelf of books and a friendly owner who is happy to chat about different countries and his own...rooms are clean, small with tiny balconies (if you need to smoke) overlooking the spectacular ruins in the distance and a littel grocery store just below-its easy walking distance to almost anywhere and they will pick you up from the bus station whenever you arrive,

Room Tip: ask for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinkblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The Nazar Hotel is a clean, modern, family-run hotel about 1 10 minute walk from the railway station. Rooms have private bathrooms, air-conditioning, satellite TV in several languages, and there is also a computer in the lobby for guest use. You can get non-smoking rooms. There is a small outdoor pool with a patio for relaxing or sunbathing. The very friendly family dog makes the hotel more like home.

The food is excellent and is typical of Mediterranean cuisine. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Evening and lunch meals are available at reasonable prices.

There are some other services that travellers who have been on the road for a while will be thankful for. The hotel will arrange for your laundry to be done, provide free transport to Ephesus and will help you book travel onward.

Your hosts Osman and Asim are impeccably helpful and exemplify Turkish hospitality. We booked our room from Canada and received an email saying that the room would be waiting for us and asking us not to worry about it. Sure enough, the room was ready when we showed up tired and hot after a long day of train travel. These are truly nice people.

Selcuk is a small town and was a wonderful change from the hustle of Istanbul. There is a great Saturday market that draws vendors from the region. For a smallish town, it was a very big market. We had a good meal at the Old House Restaurant, a 10 minute walk from the hotel, but then again, we never had a bum meal during our visit to Turkey.

Room Tip: Opt for the larger rooms - you'll enjoy the space and the price is fair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Servator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fran Bay Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I loved this hotel. We stayed here for two nights and was delighted with aspect of this hotel. We arranged a pick up from the Izmir airport from them and was personally escorted by Murat.

We did save some money by getting the smaller room but we felt it was fine for the two of us.

Pros:
Location - close to the main town area and the bus stop
Staff! Very helpful, willing to drive us to the sites (though we already scheduled a private tour so we didn't use this service)
BREAKFAST! The typical Turkish breakfast of cucumbers, tomatos (so good), cheeses, olives and breads served to you. But also EGGS made to order as well as yogurt and oats. Served on their upstair terrace that was so peaceful and relaxing with an amazing view
Price, very reasonable
Bathroom - normal bathroom with shower and toilet separated (many B&Bs/hostels have the toilet and shower in the same space)

Cons:
Bed were hard

Feel very confident staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel was nice and well taken care of by a father/son duo. They were very nice and helpful--arranged for a guide to Ephesus, provided great breakfasts and gave advice on places to eat.

The accommodations were simple--we ended up upgrading our room so we could have more space. It felt a little overpriced for the space and the location--not far from town, only a few blocks but also not near much.

The pool, patio and roof deck were nice but the hotel was nearly empty when we stayed there so there wasn't much going on (they would have served us dinner on the roof deck, but they would have been cooking specifically for us, which we felt weird about). Plus there are plenty of great places in town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agdouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Property: Hotel Nazar
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nazar Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing