We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality that can't be beat”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hospitality that can't be beat”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

When I arrived the owner immediately helped me set up my Ephesus tour for the following day. He scheduled me with a "no frills" tour, which is known for not stopping at tourist shopping traps. Our guide was very informative and I enjoyed the tour. He upgraded me to a nicer room without me asking and insisted on driving me the short distance to the train station even though it was a busy time and many new guests were arriving. I can see why Nazar is #1 on Trip Advisor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    159
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
286
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ilker the owner knows customer service very well. From the moment we first contacted him, he was quick to reply and had a very sound knowledge of turkey. The hotel is excellent, very well maintained and the family take great pride and care of it. Food was lovely, we ate breakfast daily and had 2 evening meals. Very healthy and tasty. He went the extra mile, offering to take us to the beach and driving us to meet the tour bus so we could leave after we had breakfast.. Very thoughtful. Plus he also organised our hot air balloon flight in cappadoica, which was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: We loved our room, had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our first stop in Turkey was at Selcuk and we chose this hotel on the basis of reviews. And I must say it was a very good decision. The owner Ilker, great guys he is. Extremely helpful and yes he made our trip very easy to explore because of all his suggestions and advice. Exploring turkey on your own is bit difficult but thanks to IIker, we could not have had better trip :). People if you want to stay near Ephesus, will definitely recommend this place, walk able to all known places and very easy to commute, it gives a town feel, you see people having Apple tea and playing board games in evening in nearby cafes, we just loved the feel of exploring inside of turkey. It is not a luxury hotel, but if you are looking for Cleanliness, good service (24x7) and warm people, then this is the place and you feel at home the way they take care of you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumegha_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Nazar Hotel in Selcuk for one night as part of our plan to see Ephesus. We arrived in the evening and headed to the hotel, which is right past the aqueducts. We met Ilker, the excellent owner.

The rooms were small but clean. The best part of the stay was really the hospitality: Ilker consistently went above and beyond. He walked us through logistics for Ephesus and then personally picked us up after our Ephesus visit, in light of our tight timeline. He then spent significant time helping us game plan Istanbul, as he used to be an Istanbul tour guide. Then, he emailed with us even after we left selcuk, through the rest of our turkey trip, and helped us book activities in Istanbul. Again, above and beyond.

This is a great place for people who are comfortable with relatively spare rooms but really enjoy the hospitality. Ilker is second to none on the hospitality.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danielle Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location very close to Ehpesus makes this an ideal stop on a coastal journey.The hotel is small and family run; we felt welcome the minute we arrived. The owner Ilker, and his family do an excellent job running the place. Rooms are small, but have everything you need and are very comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had in our 2 weeks in Turkey and the evening meals at 10 EUR + very reasonably priced drinks were an amazing value (food was excellent). We enjoyed some time by their lovely pool and had a great stay overall. There are many interesting day trips you can take from Selcuk and Ilker was very helpful providing advice on how to plan our days without trying to hard sell us on tours which was really nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretchyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The owner knows both English and Hospitality better than any other of the 100+ hotels I've ever stayed in - and he's only had this one for 16 months. I sent an email about transportation options from Marmaris and within five minutes got a detailed email with options - with a note at the bottom to have one of the bus companies in the Selcuk bus terminal call when I arrived - which I did and he sent someone to pick me up free of charge. This is not usual, and was a great way to start off the visit.

He and his family run a really nice little hotel with all of the great things mentioned in other reviews (breakfast terrace, nice pool, etc.). Many hotels do this sort of thing, but few do it with care and attention to hospitality. It seemed like they really liked the guests and wanted them there. Many hotels either make you feel like it's just a business transaction or become way too officious. They strike a lovely balance of being helpful and respecting privacy. They also do things like charge only 1 TL for a big bottle of water and drive guests 65 KM to the airport for free (the owner was going there anyway and offered to take it and refused money for doing it).

This is an amazing place to go and I recommend people starting off in the hotel business to come and send their staff here so they can understand how to really run a hotel. Thanks for a great experience! It's also close to the castle and St. John's church (you can see both in full view from the breakfast terrace).

I recommend getting the map and going to the Kebab House on it (location #1) for a quick Durum and if you're nice to the owner of that restaurant he'll drop you for free at Ephesus top gate - and if you're in shape and adventurous it's a nice walk from the exit at the bottom gate to the temple of Artemis and back to the hotel (5 KM max)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspiredDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nazar is a small hotel where you deal with the owners. In a nicely renovated building with comfortable rooms. Some are a little small but have everything you need. If you are looking for elevators, flat screen television and valet parking, this is not the place. If you like warm friendly service and breakfast on the rooftop in the shadow of a castle this is definitely the place.
The hotel is close to the sentry of town but parking is still easy if you are driving. You can walk to several of the main attractions. They serve a very nice village breakfast and dinner is home cooked and very reasonably priced. On request they will even do your laundry at an exceptionally reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Principaltraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Property: Hotel Nazar
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jet2Holidays so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nazar Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing