We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable window ınto turkish family life”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An unforgettable window ınto turkish family life”
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We would lıke to say how much we enjoyed the warmth and hospitality of Osman and his family at Hotel Nazar. After having traveled for about 10 days in Turkey, it was probably the first time during our trip that we felt we had connected to a Turkish family - it was as though we were stayıng wıth friends.

Hotel Nazar ıtself ıs very well located - a walk-to-everywhere-in-Selcuk kind of place and in a local neighbourhood that ıs perfect for observing Turkish lıfe outside your wındow as well as the old castle on the hill that we could see from the window of our room. Our room and bathroom were spacious, clean and comfortable.

Do try Osman's sıster's cooking - delicious Turkish home cooking that is a refreshing change from kebabs and grills. And ıf Osman has the time to take you on a day trip (as he dıd for us) - don't hesıtate.

Thank you Osman and family - wishing you and your family all the very best!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esprit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    159
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
286
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We booked Hotel Nazar based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we weren’t at all disappointed. Staying at the hotel felt like being welcomed into an extremely friendly family’s home. Osman proved to be one of the most helpful and genuine hotel owners we have come across. We arrived on a public bus in the middle of a heavy downpour, and without our knowledge the bus driver had called Osman, who then waited for us in the rain to guide us to his hotel! He also gave us advice about buses/transport and even organised a free drop-off at the Ephesus gate for us. The rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. Ours came with A/C and a television, as well as a beautiful view of the nearby castle. Wi-fi was free and had good reception in our room. We also enjoyed two delicious home-cooked dinners at his pension, which although on the pricey side were nonetheless very tasty. We truly enjoyed our stay with Osman and his family, and would highly recommend the hotel to anybody looking for a small friendly pension.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nader83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

From the moment of meeting us, as arranged, at Izmir airport, Ozman proved to be a charming, friendly, thoughtful and trustworthy host. His small family hotel is well situated in the heart of the town The warm and intimate ambience is evidenced by the care of his dependent elderly mother who is given respect and honor through her rightful place in the lobby or hub of the hotel. The unobtrusive presence of family members going about their family chores added to the informal friendly family atmosphere, reinforced by the inclusion of Alice (a gorgeous young puppy kept appropriately in its outside place). Bedrooms while not luxurious, are cosy and comfortable. Home cooked meals were superb, especially the fresh, tempting us to eat dinner in the hotel for the three nights, preferring the personalised attention and having been won over by the first night's meal. Breakfast, similarly, proved very satisfying, with made-to-order omelette a specialty. Extra services offered by Ozman included thoughtful assistance with bus bookings, personal assistance with luggage, and genuinely warm greetings and farewells. Hotel Nazar provided us with firsthand insights into hospitable family life while allowing appropriate distance between host and guests.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizannehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Over one month travel in Turkey with wife and 2-year old daughter, this was one of our absolute favorite places we stayed. Osman and his family are incredibly friendly and helpful; the terrace dinner is fantastic and a great value; spotlessly clean with great rooms and little touches. We stayed three nights and plan on another stop - there is a lot to see around Selcuk, and the town itself is great. I highly recommend Hotel Nazar. One note - we had a little trouble finding it (may be that were clueless because once we found it, it seemed easy). The city apparently won't let them put up direction signs. But just call and they'll come find you,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

What a lovely little place to stay. The family that runs the place is great -- they were very welcoming and even dropped us off at the bus station for free. The location is great, an easy walk to the center of town, but just far enough removed to be a little quieter.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabonder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We spent our first two nights in Turkey at Hotel Nazar and greatly enjoyed our stay. The "double luxury room" was clean and up-to-date, with a great view of the castle and satellite TV. The pool area was also a refreshing place to spend time recovering from sightseeing. We ate dinner there both nights and were pleased with the food, both in quality and quantity. We found the family who runs the hotel very open and welcoming, and could tell they took great pride in welcoming visitors to their hotel and their country.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaginPlainsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belair
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I'm not in agreement with the Canadian review. Our stay in Nazar was great! I think it was the friendliness of Osman, the owner, that gave it such a welcoming attraction. Osman's mum was ill (and originally was the cook) and the way he cared for her and gave back to her a little she had given to him was a real example to us in the west. We felt under no compulsion from Lilly, the Turkish rug salesperson to buy her carpers, nor, difficulty saying we were eating out that evening. The cost of the accommodation was the lowest - even Formula 1!!
I think we were overwhelmed with the hospitality of Turkey and the genuine way of wanting to help visitors.
I think one of the highlights of Nazar was having breakfast, and the evening meal, so close to historic ruins.
Great place! Great people!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LesBelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Property: Hotel Nazar
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nazar Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing