We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place.”
Review of Canberra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canberra Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Dnipropetrovsk, Dnipropetrovs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have been there in July 2012. We really like this place. If you want to visit Ephesus, or Virgin Marry's house, or any other historical places of this region you may stay in this hotel! There are clean rooms, polite service, good restoraunt. Not bad location of hotel is very close to bus station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 306_306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    58
    37
    16
    2
See reviews for
12
66
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Had an issue with Intrepid Travel and had to withdraw from the tour and got stranded at Canberra Hotel. The manager had gone to the extreme to make everything so much easier for me. Assisted in getting a bus to Istanbul and as I had to hang around Selcuk for 13 hours doing absolutely nothing he said to make myself at home and feel free to relax in the reception or in the terrace cafe. He approached me on a regular basis asking if I would like some tea and offered to store my luggage behind the desk if I wanted to go for a walk. The service of Canberra Hotel could not have been any better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great location down a side street.
The restaurant was excellent and I enjoyed conversations with the staff.
Laundry service was a convenient feature.
Nice store and a great cafe on the main street closeby.

Room Tip: any room is probably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Canberra Hotel and was very impressed all around. As long as you aren't expecting true luxury at this price, you should be impressed. My room was quite small (typical of Turkey), but it was spotlessly clean, and had a very comfortable bed plus nice amenities. There was a small balcony and another wall of mostly glass, so it's very sunny without the curtains closed.

The fellows who run it (brothers, I think) are very friendly and speak fine English, which is somewhat rare in Turkey at this price. The rooftop breakfast lounge is very nice, as is the standard Turkish buffet breakfast. I had dinner there one night and loved that as well, though it's important to note that they serve a mixed selection of Turkish salads and other dishes there rather than a full menu. Portions are very big for the price, and it is high quality too.

The location is another fine feature, as it's on a quiet road about 50 meters behind the main road to Ephesus, and basically across the street from Artemis and the Ephesus Museum on a nice pedestrian street. It's also next to a mosque, and when windows are open you'll hear the Calls To Prayer for sure.

Similar to another reviewer, I was given a free ride to the bus station upon checkout, even though it's only about 500 meters away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the mosque should be quieter, though less scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerryChampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Checked into this hotel but then unfortunately broke my wrist and up in sleeping in hospital instead. However the owner was so kind and helpful, keeping in touch with the hospital, providing transport and looking after our luggage. We can't thank him enough. What we saw of the hotel looked very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stationed in Selcuk for the purposes of a day in Ephesus. The ancient site is within walking distance.
Greeted on arrival by the owner who could not be more helpful. His english was impeccable as he not only escorted us to our rooms but took us up to the rooftop dining area. From there he gave us a potted history of Ephesus from its Greek and Roman beginnings right up to modern day conservation efforts. He said he had a passion for archeology. It showed.

Rooms were adequate for the budget traveller. I ended up in a room with 2 small balconies near the top floor. TV is was on the blink but as we spent no time in the place, I didnt make an issue of it. Shower was old, plumbing wasnt the best, some flooding in the bathroom afterward, but nothing major and par for course I find.

The food on the roof top restaurant was excellent in the evenings. A nice varied selection of Turkish fare, all on display and cooked in front of you. The combination of the great views over Selcuk, with the Aegean in the distance and the call to prayer in the background made for a relaxing evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spartan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great value, fast wifi, great balcony views.
Room is small, but standard in Turkey. The staff was very helpful and provide an Ephesus guidebook at check-in.
The breakfast was awesome!
You'll like Savash (owner), his English is good.
Selcuk is definitely the town to stay in if you are interested in the archeological offerings.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredrickGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hitit Hotel
Hitit Hotel
#27 of 33 in Selcuk
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#11 of 33 in Selcuk
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Hotel

Property: Canberra Hotel
Address: Ataturk Bulvari, 1067 Sokak no.15, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canberra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are elegantly designed, each floor in a different color. Direct telephone, shower and WC, balcony, television, air conditioning, hair dryer. Rooms with view on Isa Bey Mosque. The Castle Restaurant seats 60 persons indoors and the Terrace Restaurant seats 100 persons capacity. We offer delicious Turkish cuisine. We also have two bars, in the lobby and on the terrace. Staff will assist you in all your needs, answer all your questions and make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra Hotel Selcuk
Canberra Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing