We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coloured experience”
Review of Canberra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canberra Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed in Canberra several times. I have also read other people´s rewievs. I agree totally that the staff are absolutely great! The manager Savas is the most service minded and friendly person you can expect to meet in a small hotel! The hotel is conveniently placed within walking distance to Efes - over the cemetary through the olive grove is marvellous, anyone with normal condition can walk it. If you stay in the top floor you might get problems with water but the place and staff should make up for that and the wiev will be wonderful. There are many small hotels in Selcuk but I wouldn't hesitate to say that Canberra is the most priceworth. The rooof terrace restaurant is simply great, you can watch sunset over Efes time after time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the St John´s. in high season you might get a room on the back side, surely ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night after we visited Ephesus for a whole day. Coming from Ephesus the hotel is located just on arrival to Selcuk in a small road runnign parallel to the main road.
As we did not had any reservation we just opped in and the staff at the reception was very friendly and helpfull. Room was as you can expect in 2 star hotel, but everything was working and clean. The best of this hotel for sure is the terrace roof with a magnifican view towards the old custle of Selcuk or towards Ephesus direction. Breakfast was Ok and was served on the terrace as well. For sure this Hotel is not a holiday hotel, but to stay for 1 or 2 nights, when visiting Ephesus and Selcuk the Canberra Hotel is a good choice, if you do not require a pool and othr 3 or 4 star hotels amicabilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsme57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed with a friend of mine at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. One of the brothers was working at the desk and told u we can do a full day Ephesus tour for 49Euro and we would be dropped off at 3:30 at the train station for our train to the Izmir airport. However, the next morning when the tour guide came at 9:30 we were told that that isn't possible. We missed out on an hour to see different areas of Ephesus b/c of this however I was feeling under the weather so it wasn't a huge deal. We were only able to see Ephesus and not see anything else. We had some time to kill before our train and hung out in the lobby. The other brother was working that day and he turned the heater on for me and gave me oranges which I thought was a very caring gesture.
The room itself is small but that is okay if you are only planning on staying for a day or two. The location is right by the bus station (where they will pick you up if you call but we walked) and we were dropped off at the train station which is also in walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My girlfrind and I stayed two nights there on a backpacker trip. It was one of our best value hotel. The room are large for the price and the roof terrace is great for the breakfast. The hotel is well located, near the dolmus stop offering connection for the main attraction in the surrondings. Don't miss pamujak beach or Ephese. From the hotel, you can easily walk to the main square and enjoy the nice cafe and restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Situated away from the city centre(5 min walk) this hotel is ideal for those needing a cheap and clean resting place to visit Ephesus , Mary's house and temple of Artemis . Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Solid clean hotel, although ugly, but has a roof top restaurant with a great view at night. The location is ideal for visiting epheseus and walking to St. John's Basilica. Great for those on a budget, it includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiggyKawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Canberra Hotel for one night as a base for visiting Ephesus. The room was bright and clean with two small balconies, the bathroom was small and basic, but clean, and service was pleasant. We were loaned maps of the town, but asked to return these. Internet access was good in the lobby and computers were provided for guest use, but I could not access Internet From my room on the fourth floor. The restaurant was very good- mezes were tasty and a wide selection was offered. The view was splendid. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to a budget minded traveller who is looking for a safe, clean base from which to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty18588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
5.1 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
4.9 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
0.1 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari, 1067 Sokak no.15, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canberra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are elegantly designed, each floor in a different color. Direct telephone, shower and WC, balcony, television, air conditioning, hair dryer. Rooms with view on Isa Bey Mosque. The Castle Restaurant seats 60 persons indoors and the Terrace Restaurant seats 100 persons capacity. We offer delicious Turkish cuisine. We also have two bars, in the lobby and on the terrace. Staff will assist you in all your needs, answer all your questions and make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra Hotel Selcuk
Canberra Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing