We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just visit it once”
Review of Mount Hermon

Mount Hermon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$240.00*
and up
Golan Heights and Safed Tour from Herzliya
Ranked #211 of 1,129 things to do in Israel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“just visit it once”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

when you enter you have to pay for every thing to use or play in it acept playing in the snow but the view is beutiful up high over some clouds it very crowded u had to wait to get onboard ao sled or the cablecar

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jiryes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    15
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A Year Round Attraction”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Israel's tallest mountain is Mount Hermon. Most people know of Hermon for the best, and one of the few, places to ski and snowboard in the Winter, but it is also a great place to visit year round. Hermon is a massive, beautiful site to see. A great place to hike, or spend the day taking pictures. There is even a year round ski lift for a great experience and view of the surrounding areas. In addition, given the location and height of the mountain in the Golan region, expect great weather in the Spring and Summer. This is a year round attraction.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Boaz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An amazing place turned terrible by it's management”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I'm looking at Mt. Hermon as a ski resort, from a snowboarders point of view, but most of what I'm about to write applies to any kind of visit there.

Mt. Hermon is an incredible place. Located at the pinnacle of the Golan heights, the tallest mountain in Israel and the only one with ski-able snow (albeit for only a few weeks a year) it's a point of interest for any tourist and resident in Israel. It's the only place you can ski, it's the only place you can take your kids to play with snow and sled, it's views are stunning and it's history of conflict tells the story of the whole region, and is very interesting in my opinion.

But the fun is spoiled, by a terrible monopoly it's management has on these treasures. When you've got no competition, why would you make an effort? And they really don't. It's a tiny resort with only 40km of ski-able terrain, a miniature size augmented by how badly maintained it is. Lifts only open about 1.5 hours later than official opening times. Prices are higher than a top-notch european resort (over 40 euros for a daily ski-pass!). Rental gear is horrible, the lowest quality and all scratched and torn and always wet and foul smelling boots. The lifts are 50 year old twin-chairs that take about 15 minutes up a single slope, about 3 times slower than it takes to ski down it! Restaurant prices are ridiculous, the parking lot is packed and if you end up using the lower lot, you've got to literally claw your way into the 30 year old bus they use to drive visitors up to the slopes. Then the slopes themselves are terrible, not maintained in any way and with 0% artificial coverage.

Yes, I love the views. Yes, it's the best (and only) we've got. Yes, tourism is important for my country's well-being.
But with slow lifts, over half-an-hour queues at each lift, and such bad pistes you can hardly enjoy the skiing, and driving over 3 hours, spending the equivalent of over 100 euros a day just for that? No, I'm sorry, but it just makes no sense.

I'll be riding the slopes of europe this year just like the last two, and dearly recommend you do the same.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Moti_Granovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go there in summer”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It may be a nice place in winter and spring, but I was there in the end of summer and it didn't look very nice. Rocky desert without any life, a "sci-fi" view of many military buildings, radars, towers, vehicles, wire fences and tracks riding around.. There is no trail, you can only walk a few hundred meters from the lift station and return the same way. No bus is going to Mount Hermon, the only chance is to have a car or taxi. The view of Israel and Syria may be good when the air is clean, but we coudn't see further then 10-20 kilometers. At 11am, there is a guided tour, but it was only in hebrew and I didn't understand much. In the Majdal Shams village, you can get excelent and quite cheap food from the Druzes. I'm givinf 3 stars because of the strange sci-fi view of the military buildings on the mountaines around I have never seen before.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breath taking experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Here after taking the ski lift up you feel as if you are on top of the holy land with snow all around you and a bit further down bright colors of wild flowers. Well worth a trip!

Helpful?
4 Thank byron0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Hermon also viewed

Lebanon, Middle East
 
Qiryat Shemona, Northern District
Masada, Northern District
 

Been to Mount Hermon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing