We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff...Nice Place...Good Food”
Review of Mount David Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount David Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff...Nice Place...Good Food”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed for 3 night in Oct 2013 with a group of 25 pilgrims. Everyone were very much satisfied with the service and friendly staff (always smiling) especially at the restaurant. Nice location walkable distance to the church of nativity and souvenir shops. Mr. Eisa at the front desk was very helpful. Nice and clean rooms. We did not plan to stay at this hotel, our previous hotel in Nazareth was horrible so asked to change all other hotels. We all were so glad and happy when we reached Mt. David. Will be making future reservations for all my other tours.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    22
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in Dec. 2013 as part of a group of 40 pilgrims. This hotel was not a personal choice.

Friendly staff especially those in the restaurant where we had breakfasts & dinners throughout our stay. George from reception even recognized & greeted us at his family's shop in Manger Square. We appreciate their great smiles & charms especially in their attempts to speak to us in our national language.

If team from reception desk is reading this review, can you please ensure my cards are posted as the various addressees in various countries claimed they have not received my cards even after > 1 month.

However, room was basic & not unlike a room in budget hotel. Won't elaborate on what requires improvement in the hotel except for stating our observations in this review. Suffice to share that the disparity in the quality of this hotel with the other hotels (which met our expectations) we stayed prior to our arrival in Jerusalem was a matter between us & the trip organizer.

Hotel is within walking (15 minutes) distance from Church of Nativity. Manger Square where we encountered numerous friendly locals was beautifully lit for Christmas. Hotel is also along the same street leading to Manger Square & as such, there are numerous shops including a decent supermarket.

During our stay in hotel, there were other groups of overseas visitors.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suleterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very good hotel located on Manger Street, with easy access (walking distance) to loads of Souvenir Shops, restaurants, coffee hangouts, etc. The staff is exceptionally friendly and the hotel is owned by a Christian Arab Family who are very much a part of Bethlehem.
Food at the Hotel is absolutely yummy, with traditional middle eastern favorites aplenty at the amply stocked buffets.
Nice Coffee lounge with a variety of coffees.
Rooms very clean with good housekeeping and heating was in super shape (we went earlier this December when it snowed!).
Free wi-fi meant keeping in touch with home & work was easy.
Highly recommended, especially for Christian pilgrims and tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danielceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed at Mount David in March 17 to 20 along with my tour group friends. Excellent hotel with a beautiful view of the city. food was excellent and the hotel is close to many souvenir shops and to the Nativity church. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The chef at the restaurant personally stands at the buffet table and explains what food is served. Just loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed there four nights everything was wonderful.

1 - friendly staff
2 - clean and comfortable rooms
3 - delicious food, diverse
4 - delicious coffee (cappuccino) made ​​by (Walid) bartender
5 - the receptionist was help us a lot, (Isa)
6 - friendly bartender with daily Nightlife


I advise everyone to go there

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VijithaaPeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our group of 18 just spent 9 nights at the Mount David. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, good showers, very friendly staff, in a smaller, less commercialized setting. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the hotel. The food was not what you would find at a luxury hotel, but for our purposes was enjoyable and more than adequate. The rates including 2 meals a day were far below what you would pay in nearby Jerusalem. About a 10 minute walk to the church of the Nativity. The people of Bethlehem are very friendly towards visitors - who make up a large part of their economy. Our group never had a moment where we didn't feel completely safe. I intend to try to bring future groups to the Mount David.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Spent about 3 nights here as a part of group on a pilgrimage.

Staff was very friendly, and was always engaged in conversation with the guests at dinner and breakfast time, explaining different dishes they've prepared for us. Food was plentiful, with a variety of dishes and tasty as well.

Rooms were spacious, clean and neat. They had free wifi as well.

We had a walk to the Church of Nativity in the eve, and on our return to the hotel the atmosphere was very cool and breezy. Nothing to complain about the weather back in September.

It was quite a pleasing stay at Mount David.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crishani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.6 mi away
Manger Square Hotel
Manger Square Hotel
#1 of 25 in Bethlehem
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bethlehem Hotel
Bethlehem Hotel
#5 of 25 in Bethlehem
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Hotel Bethlehem
Grand Park Hotel Bethlehem
#9 of 25 in Bethlehem
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jacir Palace Hotel Bethlehem
0.1 mi away
Shepherd Plaza Hotel
Shepherd Plaza Hotel
#3 of 25 in Bethlehem
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holy Family Hotel
Holy Family Hotel
#14 of 25 in Bethlehem
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount David Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount David Hotel

Property: Mount David Hotel
Address: Manger st., Bethlehem 00000, Palestinian Territories
Region: Palestinian Territories > West Bank > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are traveling to Bethlehem and need a place to stay that has free wireless Internet access, spacious rooms and comfortable beds; a relaxing lobby and a beautiful bar. Mount David Hotel is the place that you are looking for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount David Hotel Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing