We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience staying with a Christian Palestinian family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anastas House

Anastas House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anastas House
Ranked #8 of 19 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience staying with a Christian Palestinian family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed at Anastas House for 10 days recently while attending a conference in Jerusalem, traveling back and forth by bus from the station at Damascus Gate and walking thru Checkpoint Gilo 300, then a short walk to the Anastas family home. I had visited the Anastas gift shop, on the ground floor of the same building, on a previous trip to Bethlehem and had been impressed by the quality and variety of the items, many designed by Claire Anastas herself, many one-of-a-kind. I had also been impressed by this warm-hearted and hard-working Christian family, surviving behind the separation wall which almost completely surrounds the Anastas home. Claire told me when I arrived that she was prepared to do anything for me, and this was true - from delicious breakfast with the family to detailed directions on how to get around town to arranging a one day tour to Galilee, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms are available with various numbers of beds, to suit single travelers, couples, families or gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This B&B ran by a couple also owning a tourist shop in the same street, is surrounded by three walls. It was not always like that. Owner Claire Anastas will tell you the story of the guest house and how it came to be located so close to that wall. Staying here is a true experience.

In addition, it is reasonably priced and rooms are simple but clean (no A/C).

For those who travel by (rental) car, it can be very hard to reach. The owners should really add the right directions to their website, as for now it is really difficult to reach in some cases.

Directions:
In case the Checkpoint 300 at Rachel's Tomb is closed, ask if you can visit the Anastas family for your stay. If the gate is still closed, you need to drive to South-Bethlehem and drive to the guest house from there. Thanks to the very friendly owner Jamal Nashash of the Queen Helena Store, we found the following directions (learning by doing):
1. Coming from Jerusalem, take the 60 towards the South of Bethlehem
2. Enter Bethlehem through South-Bethlehem
3. On your left-hand side you see a gas station. Pass that and follow the main road all the way until you reach the Intercontinental Hotel on your left side. This will take 10-20 minutes.
4. Follow the bend in the road to the right and immediately take a left again. This is a very small road . Although it feels contra-intuitive, take this road (honk so possibly approaching vehicles can hear you).
5. Go to the left and when you see a Chinese restaurant take a left again. Going down the road will lead you to the guesthouse. It is on number 221.

In case you still get lost, ask people for restaurant Al-Karawan, it is well-known and located next to the Anastas family's house (also a nice place to eat meat and salads prepared Arabic-style)

Note: this is actually the same B&B as the other listing on TripAdvisor called "Claire's Bed & Breakfast". It is a guesthouse, but also includes a simple breakfast, so strictly taken, it is a bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EazyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Anastas' home and business have been negatively affected by the separation wall. But travelers will have the chance to experience Claire's delicious home cooked meals. The rooms where we stayed are basic, clean and comfortable with a private bathroom. I had very limited time to shop in Bethlehem and was delighted to find quality and reasonably priced items at their stores, especially olive wood carvings. I highly recommend their place if one wants to experience the hospitality and resilience of Palestinians in Bethlehem .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oholdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This was an excellent place to stay and I can thoroughly recommend it. It is only a few hundred yards from Checkpoint 300/Rachels Tomb with a quick, regular bus service into Jerusalem (Check the time of the last bus!). It is also within easy reach of Bethlehem’s Manger Square. The house was in turmoil when I visited because they were revamping some bedrooms; nevertheless, I was made extremely welcome by Claire and Johnnie and my bedroom was very comfortable. The Palestinian breakfasts were well presented and delicious. There are several good places to buy an evening meal within a short stroll.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

It's sad there are no reviews for Claire Anastas' guest house, because it is without a doubt the best place to stay when visiting Bethlehem. Her family's warmth will not make you want to leave, despite of the conditions they were forced into when the wall was built on 3 sides of their house. Once the lively main road between the holy cities of Jerusalem and Bethlehem...

Claire's family is Christian, which will also allow you to feel the current situation of Christian families in Jesus' birthplace.

The rooms are big, very comfortable, spotless clean,... There are several showers with hot water, all in the rooms. And breakfast is home made and prepared by Claire herself.

Even though they themselves are barred from going to Jerusalem by the Israeli authorities, the guest house is located close to the center of Bethlehem AND Jerusalem. Visitors staying at her place can access both cities easily and rapidly. Accessing her house, is also more easy than it may seem: just take the bus from Jerusalem to Gilo Checkpoint (or Checkpoint 300, of Checkpoint Rachel Tomb), go through it and walk no more than 1 minute to her house. Nothing more easy...

For the real and authentic Bethlehem experience, there is no better place to stay in than this guesthouse.

Read more here: http://anastas-bethlehem.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=46&Itemid=53

Room Tip: All rooms have comfortable beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.0 mi away
Jacir Palace Hotel Bethlehem
0.0 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bethlehem Hotel
Bethlehem Hotel
#5 of 24 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shepherd Plaza Hotel
Shepherd Plaza Hotel
#3 of 24 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
House of Peace Hostel
House of Peace Hostel
#5 of 15 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manger Square Hotel
Manger Square Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastas House

Property: Anastas House
Address: Rachel's Tomb, Hebron Road, Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories
Region: Palestinian Territories > West Bank > Bethlehem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Anastas House Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing