We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milk Grotto”
Review of Milk Grotto

Milk Grotto
Book In Advance
More Info
US$250.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: St. George's Monastery, Wadi Qelt, Mar Saba, and Bethlehem
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Milk Grotto”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was one of the stop of our West Bank tour and found it to be a peaceful spot. The legend is that Mary stopped here to nurse the baby Jesus and a few drops of her breast milk fell to the ground and turned the cave white. Believe what you will...!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    77
    33
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Largely forgotten site with modern additions!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the site where milk from Jesus's mothers breast supposedly fell and turned the cave it's startling white colour. On arrival you go down a short flight of stairs which takes you into the cave area. I found this area empty and peaceful. Of the side is a sealed prayer area for the nuns. Overall I didn't enjoy this site as there was very little information and the modern attachment was out of place with the keeping of the place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vedrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to pray”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The very nearby church of the Nativity is certainly the must see spot in the city of Bethlehem. The atmosphere there, though, is very much tourist attraction. So, go there and stand in line to touch the spot where Jesus was born and then come here to have a meaningful conversation with Him. Here there is no sign of the animosity between Greeks and Latins, only a quiet, beautiful, place to imagine a Blessed Mother feeding her beloved baby. What mother doesn't know that feeling? I lit a candle for my own, beautiful, lactating daughter and her precious bundle.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madrebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth seeing. Lots of surprises.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I don't know what I was expecting at the Milk Grotto but I was pleasantly surprised when I got there. It was quiet, very well maintained building with a calming feeling. Worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tgaribian24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool and still”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The first thing that hits you is the stillness and coolness of the grotto once you reach the bottom of the steps as you touch the white walls that feel like ice its so relaxing that you can close your eyes and easily drift away. Make sure that when you have had your visit to look around outside as we spent so much time in the grotto that we missed all the great features outside above the grotto

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank m270869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milk Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Milk Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing