We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cactus B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eilat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cactus B&B
Ranked #3 of 24 Eilat B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We did have a truly nice stay at this B&B. It was difficult to find, but that is probably due to the fact that we are challenged in the directions department. Sandra did provide very good directions to her place plus she allowed us to leave our bags in the room before official check in time so that we could drive to Timna without our luggage in tow.

It was a very pleasant room with a queen bed on a platform with stairs, and another twin bed in the kitchen area. It was lovely to be provided with free tea, coffee, milk and water. The washroom was a good size.

The outdoor little courtyard area with table and seating was very nice. We sat out there for quite some time enjoying her little garden with flowers and the weather.

Breakfast was sufficient and tasty, and we found Sandra ever so pleasant to chat with.
We enjoyed a lovely walk in the evening to the main street and enjoyed some food at an outdoor establishment.

The B&B is very close to the airport, which suited our purposes, as well as very close to our car rental place for drop off, (Eldan).

I would certainly recommend this B&B for your stay in Eliat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
26
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Safed, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We found the owner most helpful. She found out what our interests were and suggested what we might want to do in Eilat, gave us a map, helped with calling taxis, etc. What hospitality!

My husband and I have special dietary needs as we keep kosher. As most who have similar needs would know to do, prior to making our reservations we made certain there would be no problem at the Cactus B & B. The proprietor did not charge for breakfast which we would not be able to eat. Instead she graciously directed us to places where we could shop for food we could quickly prepare in the delightfully outfitted little kitchen in our tzimmer. She also was able to give us information about kosher restaurants in Eilat.
We found the Cactus B & B sublimely peaceful, tastefully and creatively decorated and our hostess was most helpful, friendly and willing to "go the extra mile" to accommodate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This bed and breakfast has the charm that is missing from the big Eilat hotels; I found the sweetness of the inner courtyards appealing and the interiors, done in bright coloured cottons put you in the mood for the beach and a breezy way of life.

I found the owner of The Cactus a bit prickly – excuse the pun. Maybe I asked for too much …..breakfast was included and we discussed the meal because I am a vegan; but she wasn’t prepared to accommodate anything outside of what she normally serves for breakfast, which included eggs, yogurt and cheese which was all outside of my dietary needs. Since I was paying for the breakfast, I took my share of those and kept them in the fridge for my son to eat during the course of the day. Well, the next day she removed them from the meal, but I still paid the full price. There was a 24/7 café just outside her place and they sold a variety of fresh vegetables – I thought she could have boiled me a potato and along with some olive oil, kosher salt, and the olives which were provided I would have been happy and would have felt that she understood hospitality and the theme of ‘going that extra mile’. On the day that we left, she requested us to leave an hour earlier than the normal check-out time because she had her next set of guests arriving early.

So, while I liked the style of the rooms, I found the proprietor unpleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was the most wonderful place to arrive to. Eilat isn't known as the homeliest place in the world, but this B&B was homely and wonderful. The setting was gorgeous and the room just right - it was so colourful and so well looked after, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Eilat.
If you need a place in Eilat, this is it. Unless you're looking for a lifeless, cold, generic hotel room - in which case, keep looking.

It was gorgeous and perfect for a visit to Petra as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTravel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed four days at the Cactus Bed and Breakfast. We loved the ambience of the rooms, the privacy and little courtyards where the wonderful host Sandra brings you a hearty breakfast each morning. The attention to detail in each room with the beautiful and unique furnishings and colours made you feel special and as though you were really somewhere different. Sandra was the most friendly and gracious host who also has an excellent knowledge of not only Eilat but Israel. We loved our stay and would recommend to anyone wishing to experience a more personal and friendly stay in Eilat, the Cactus B & B. Sandra and Garry Page Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: As there are only three rooms with their own private little courtyard, they are all similar in desig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassandra1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

we were 8 friends and we rented 3 rooms from Sandra having the chance to see all the rooms. The best thing is the interesting design of the rooms and most important: very very clean! all the rooms had all necessary things with essential but modern furniture and towels/fridge provided.
Sandra was helpful and provided maps and local information. Breakfast was substantial but some sweet things were missing (croissant/milk) but that really depends on tastes. In case you decide to visit Jordan from there, the problem is that you don't have where to store your luggage and you will have to pay a room in order to keep your things in there. Also because there is no storage location in the airport/bus station.

Room Tip: take the room in the separate building, that's the best one!better shower and better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneR145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
400 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were a family of three and were recommened the Cactus by Shulamit Dive Center. We took the larger of the two rooms Sandra rents out. It had a anteroom with a bed, fridge and fan but no aircon athough it did get cool air from the very good (and silent) airconditioner in the main room. The fridge had a a large bottle of water and milk thoughtfully included.

The main bedroom had a large double bed futon style on a wooden platform with lots of colorful sheets, throws and cushions in a stlish minimalist style. The room also had a small TV with cable, fast free WIFI and a second single bed--so you can sleep four in the room. Rooms are small and have no cupboard space so if you have alot of luggage you will be cramped.

Bathroom is normal sized with a shower--the latch had come off the shower control when we arrived and remained broken during our stay, but it was easy to control the water using the small white plastic button the latch normally connects to.

Room was very clean and Sandra had thoughtfully turned on the airconditioner before we got there so it was nice and cool when we entered--a welcome respite from the fierce heat in Eilat. Note that rooms aren't serviced--trash bags, extra toilet paper, liquid body soap, dish cleaning product and a squeedgie to clean the water off the tiles in the bathroom are provided to you though.

Breakfast was okay but nothing fancy: juice, toast, yoghurt, hard boiled egg, an apple and spreads. Another reviewer mentioned cereal which we didn't see. Sandra will give you coupons entitling you to a 10% discount at the wonderful Pedro's restaurant a few steps from the Cactus B&B. Make sure to try it at least once. It specializes in meat and fish but as a vegetarian I found some great options too. It is essential to book on Friday night when restaurants that are open over the Sabbath are limited.

As other reviewers have noted there are several small supermarkets (including 24 hour one) within a few minutes walk as well as a large laundromat.Note that the ATM in the supermarket across the street charges a high commission and limits you to a 400 INS withdrawal--otherwise it's a 20 minute walk to the main banks, like Bank Leumi which will let you take out far more commission free. The area is a very quiet and safe residential area. It isn't easy to find the Cactus B&B as you can't drive to it--you have to walk down an alley way. But Sandra will give you very good directions. It may be easier to tell the taxi to take you to Pedro's as taxis know that.

You pay a deposit via Paypal to hold the room and the balance in cash upon arrival. We were told if we arrived early Sandra could keep our dive luggage but there wouldn't be a place to change or a means of using the toilet, so plan your arrival accordingly.

Although they are colorful towels in the room rather than the standard white hotel ones for room use only, they aren't for taking outside the rooms. Ask Sandra to loan you separate beach towels.

Cactus is simple but clean and a welcome antidote to the heaving hotels packed after the Ramadan and Jewish holidays. Sandra responds to e-mail correspondence very efficiently and is helpful in calling taxis or offering advice on local matters. We enjoyed out stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#37 of 62 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Prima Music
Prima Music
#19 of 62 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.1 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melony Hotel
Melony Hotel
#42 of 62 in Eilat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dan Eilat
Dan Eilat
#13 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arava Hostel Eilat
Arava Hostel Eilat
#5 of 44 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus B&B

Property: Cactus B&B
Address: Ye'elim St, Eilat, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Eilat
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing