We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Eilat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you are an english speaker do not go to this hotel.

the location of this hotel is central and gives easy access to the best parts of the city, however that is the only positive I will take from my stay there.

Our major issue is this:We booked online and breakfast was supposed to be included. When we went down for breakfast on the first day the dining hall manager 'shlomi' said it was not. After our insistence that it was meant to be included he told us to go ahead and eat 'ill take care of it.' We ate, it was very poor quality food but that is besides the point. The next day we went to a restaraunt for breakfast.

Upon checkout we discovered that we were charged for 3 breakfasts. 2 on the first day and 1 on the second. When we explained the situation to 'Claude' he told us that we were liars and that there was nothing he could do. We were outraged! So after 10 minutes of Claude fussing around(we were starting to be late for our flight) he was able to call a manager on the phone. No decision makers were present at the hotel.

During that timeMy girlfriend went to find the dining room manager but was greeted by an attendant who was too busy playing on his phone an told her 'eat breakfast or go away'

On the phone the manager, who we had never met, swore that he had seen us eat the previous day(although we were at the restaurant) and that we MUST be charged because Claude should not let them steal his hotels food.

After almost a half hour of Claude telling us we are liars we finally were able to find Shlomi, the dining hall manager. He said that someone else had claimed they were saying with us and ate breakfast on the second day! After having to convince them it was just us they were willing to take off that charge. however the first days breakfast, which Shlomi had 'taken care of for us' was still on the bill. We said this was completely unfair and Claude became VERY HOSTILE with us.


Eventually, Shlomi was able to calm Claude down and asked us to pay for just one breakfast. We obliged because we needed to get your flight. But this was a terrible experience. And Claude never wanted to apologize.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nhoffenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Nhoffenberg,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    152
    118
    93
    98
See reviews for
332
209
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed there in August 2013 which is when many Israelis are on holidays. The hotel was very busy. On the Wednesday night the pool was open to 11PM and there was music playing that was very loud and could be heard in our room. There was no point in trying to go to sleep before 11PM and seeking quiet in the lobby didn't work either as there was so many kids running around there. Earlier in the evening there was some free kids entertainment in one of the rooms in the lobby. If we had young kids and were looking for this type of atmosphere this might have been welcomed but with older kids and just wanting to relax this didn't fit the bill. Some of the rooms had a really strong cigarette smell to them which wasn't masked with whatever cleaning substances were used. The pull out bed was broken and didn't lie flat. A cot that was provided was far too soft for anyone to sleep on. On the plus side: breakfast was plentiful; there was free wifi in the rooms; the front desk staff were very helpful with directions and assistance; checking in and out was quick; family rooms that slept 4 were available which saves on having to pay for two rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear RosieBToronto,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the cigarette smoke smell, the cot and the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Eilat in August is very crowded. The Crowne Plaza was no exception Nevertheless the staff managed to cope and give decent service.
The food was tasty and plentiful – Every night they had a theme from a different country.
The pool is large and there are a lot of chairs to relax on.
The rooms were large and comfortable with a bathtub. They need to upgrade to flat-screen TV sets – it is 2013 after all!
We had two rooms with a connecting door for a family of six. A very good arrangement.
The new Shopping mall is a short walking distance away - check it out.
Bottom line – enjoyable and good return for your money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinPr, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We do our best to keep our guests happy and a review like yours only tells us that we are on the right track.

We will very much love to see you again among our returning & happy guests!

Best regards,
shiran elkayam
Public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the short summer vacation mid-July. The hotel was not busy so everything was really nice. Rooms overlook the pool and marina. Rooms are clean and large enough. Breakfast is rich and delicious. Staff are friendly and helpful. Problems we had were resolved immediately. Within walking distance of two shopping malls and restaurants around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lior P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinPr, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We do our best to keep our guests happy and a review like yours only tells us that we are on the right track.

We will very much love to see you again among our returning & happy guests!

Best regards,
shiran elkayam
Public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights in the end of July. That is smack in the middle of the busy season and the hotel simply couldn't handle being fully booked, largely by "bridge and tunnel" types.
if you can score a 2 room suite with the extra large terrace than you'll be ok as far as rooms go.
otherwise, expect long lines and slow service just about everywhere in the hotel, i.e.- dining room, bar, snack bar.
If you do go, try May-June or October-November, when it's a bit calmer.

Room Tip: if it's a regular room, ask for 6th floor or higher, on the lower floors, there is very little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Mike R,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My apologies for the inconveniences and for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible. We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Eilat mainly because of price linked to the Crowne Plaza brand. Big mistake.
One of the discussions (arguments) we had with a member of the management was over her insistence that they had a 5 star hotel. We showed them, in the dining room, where the discussion took place, why this can not be considered higher than 3 star. Stained chairs, scratched and scruffy tables, smelly parts of the dining room.
The fault lies in the quality (read poor quality) of the hotel guests.
This hotel caters for a local clientele. In order to keep their prices down they need occupancy as full as possible. This attracts noisy and undisciplined Israels. (I can say that because I am Israeli).
Meal times in the dining room feels like you are in a menagerie with screaming kids and loud parents. It seems that some Israelis have to express how much they are enjoying themselves by raising the decibels, or maybe they actually live like that.
The same went for the lobby area where little kids were allowed to gallop and scream to their hearts content.
The final noise blow came when I was walking back to the hotel and, from a distance of 500 meters, I could hear the entertainment team keeping the guests amused at the pool with shouted exhortations bellowed over mega-blasters.
I ran away to a coffee shop for an hour until the commotion died down.

The price is cheap but so are the guests.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious with balconies to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BarryIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear BarryIsrael,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the level of noise created by other guests during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We are currently staying at the hotel......the stay here has been extremely good and extremely bad!
Breakfast - fantastic
Service at breakfast - fantastic
Bar and Barstaff - pitiful - if you don't speak or read Hebrew, you cannot order anything - no bar menu in English and staff are rude (apart from one man who could see my frustration)
Pool - lovely but SO noisy - they run their kids club at the pool up until 1pm and use microphones, loudly, yelling in Hebrew ( didn't understand what they were saying but I presume updates on races for children, interviewing kids and parents, etc)
Pool Food - ok but again there was no menu in english !
Front Counter - excellent
Room - great
View - amazing
Proximity to everything - short walk

Seems 100% full of families - loads and loads of kids
So, my recommendation - if you speak Hebrew and have kids - great place to holiday!
If you don't, stay away! I'm not coming back, soz !

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wildchildjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear wildchildjojo,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.2 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#11 of 62 in Eilat
2,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#25 of 62 in Eilat
1,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Eilat
Rimonim Eilat
#17 of 62 in Eilat
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isrotel Agamim
Isrotel Agamim
#16 of 62 in Eilat
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nova Like Hotel Eilat - an Atlas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Royal Garden
Isrotel Royal Garden
#21 of 62 in Eilat
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
Address: 1 North Beach | PO Box 1666, Eilat 88000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#28 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the splendor of paradise, the renovated Crowne Plaza Eilat hotel is located on the Eilat Promenade across from the Lagoon s rolling beaches. The hotel offers lavish, spacious rooms, perfect for a heavenly vacation the whole family will treasure.Crowne Plaza Eilat hotel houses a large swimming pool, surrounded by lawns.The hotel s Adam and Eve restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich and varied breakfast includes a salad bar with a selection of cheeses and breads. At lunch and dinner, a rich meat menu is offered. Lobby Restaurant is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The spa provides treatments in an intimate ambience while maintaining a tranquil atmosphere and includes an aerobic fitness room with treadmills, steppers, bicycles and wet and dry saunas as well as rooms for massages and cosmetic and mud treatments. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops, trivia games, cocktails, pool activities, music for dancing and more. Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available.** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Eilat
Eilat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing