We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid - stay at the Dan / King Sol / anywhere but here (but shout out to the Vitalis Spa staff)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herods Palace Hotel Eilat
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Eilat
Reviewed 30 April 2014

An absolute farce unfortunately. I have spent more holidays in Eilat than I can remember and have often wondered about staying here. It is after all priced at the absolute top end of Eilat hotels and I assumed service would correspond. We stayed for 3 nights at $500 a night in a club room on top floor as this was only availability. Of course the gifts / robes / slippers that are promised for this room (not that they justify the cost) were completely absent. I didn't care enough to complain. They make you sign up front for NIS1000 deposit, which given the cost of the room is not something I have ever had to do and made an uncomfortable first impression. This is to allow you to charge to your room. Which of course I was unable to do any time I tried, much to my frustration, due to some clerical error which of course no one bothered to resolve. Staff were generally disinterested and unhelpful. I had a guy pick out a random English speaking guest from the dinner buffet to come help him deal with (yet another) problem providing what had been ordered - beyond belief.

There is no point going in to a blow by blow account of how every single interaction with staff filled me with dread, knowing that I would have to follow up and likely involve a manager before anything I asked for was dealt with. I wrote a formal complaint to Leonardo who own the chain and they have completely ignored it, hence my writing here. I am not one to vent and generally understand people do their best, and mistakes happen. The attitude of staff at Herod's unfortunately appears to be completely ingrained in the culture of the hotel and I would advise any of my family and friends to avoid at all costs. By comparison, the Dan has always been a complete contrast and is not more expensive. I would never go back to Herod's - for the price the Dan is infinitely better and I would frankly rather stay at the Crowne Plaza / KSP for much less money and a more pleasant experience. Nice as the hotel is, you will never have a 5 star experience here.

My only exception would be the Spa, where staff were friendly and proactively helpful - a rare and welcome reminder of what you expect from a 5* hotel at those rates

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank biz-hol-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

The pool area, boardwalk location, picturesque setting with the Red Sea and the surrounding red toned mountains are gorgeous. We've the hotel and found the Cardo of stores and restaurants perfect. The buffet breakfast was humongous! And beautifully laid out. One complaint; they threw together a breakfast box of pitas and apples even though a full breakfast was ordered properly the day before our tour. We were.very disappointed because we knew what we were missing, The breakfast. was included with our room rates nd they said coffee had to be charged to my room before we checked out. As if coffee at 7:00 isn't a normal part of breakfast.

Room Tip: Pool or sea view. Unless you are a night owl, avoid the noise as music plays near a Tamarind Exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollisuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had the opportunity to stay a couple nights at Herod's Palace, Elat, Israel, last month. What a great hotel! To start, we were with a large group but check in was quick and easy. In our room, we were surprised to find a complimentary bottle of wine, a bottle of water, fruit, & some snack wafers on the coffee table. And the room? A spacious bedroom with plenty of closet & drawer space, a balcony with two chaises for lounging, a comfortable living room with frig and teapot for tea or coffee. The hotel in general is luxurious with numerous beautifully decorated sitting areas. I loved the gazelle statuary that was everywhere - especially the one that appeared to be jumping through the glass into the building!! The food was fantastic in selection and taste. I don't know how anyone could expect a larger or more varied selection. The view of the sea was spectacular and the entire hotel/shop complex is incredible. Though we had no interaction with staff, the hotel Wifi was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohsuzyq10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Modern spacious room, huge bed. There is a kettle in the room. Food is very varied and very tasty. Huge main pool.Stunning view from the balcony.You can lie in bed and see the sea.Generous service in all departments.Great cakes at the coffeeshop.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeritPardessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Most of the staff is unfriendly and not willing to help you. Check-in took over 20 minutes because of the incompetence of the employee. The first night there was a party going on next to our room and we had to call security to make it stop. At the pool a lot of guests wering smoking joints and drinking a lot and making a lot of noise. Wireless internet didn't work at our room and still we had to pay for it. This hotel is mostly used in the weekends (Friday and Saturday in Israel) by rich Israeleans who come there to party (drinking/smoking joints and loud).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

While the vacation started a little bitter taste because of problems with our order, but once Elmer - evening shift manager - took the responsibility and care we got everything we ordered and even more. Big Bonus - we met an exemplary human being we always remember.

Best season, not a tourist. A wonderful holiday we enjoyed it every minute.

We were in the VIP suite, high floor, Breakfast in the dining room is small and spa entry every day - this package really recommended.
Improves spa vacation this season - not hot. Not sure takes the spa during the summer.

Food: We took half board. Selection was great. As a vegan - dining room staff helped with everything possible and find solutions.
There are some things negatively in the dining room: vegetables were not always fresh, there was not a selection of fruit, serving of salad was very uncomfortable.

The hotel is very large, and some of the time the lifts were not effective and they had to wait a very long time. Who bothers him noise, ask for a high floor because the the evening the lobby music very loud.
Who cares double bed and not two mattresses connected, insists on it and check the moment of arrival to the room. For us it was very important and we had a big mess with them. Although we've gotten to note that the reservation in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Herods in March '14 and from the minute we arrived to the time we left we were made to feel really special. The reception staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to ensure the time we were there was totally memorable. The service was very friendly, relaxed, and professional. The pool areas were totally laid back and relaxing and the food is diet destroying! The location on the north beach is also unbeatable. Although we had been in Israel before, we had never been to Eilat - staying at Herods has ensured we'll certainly be returning and there will only be one place we'll be staying (for twice as long next time) Herods. Thanks guys for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghGreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0 mi away
Herods Vitalis Spa Hotel Eilat
0.1 mi away
Dan Eilat
Dan Eilat
#14 of 61 in Eilat
1,594 reviews
0.9 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 61 in Eilat
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Eilat
0.4 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#25 of 61 in Eilat
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Beach by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herods Palace Hotel Eilat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Palace Hotel Eilat

Address: 6 Ha-Yam, Eilat 8851025, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eilat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eilat
#8 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
#8 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
#12 Family Hotel in Eilat
Price Range: £164 - £1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Palace Hotel Eilat 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Boutique Spa Hotel offering outstanding spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Herods Palace Hotel Eilat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Eilat
Hotel Herods Palace
Herods Eilat
Herods Palace Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing