We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Eilat
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Splendid place to be”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I chose the hotel as it was a bit away from the Eilat city, to spend quiet and relaxing time. As it was rather low season (February second week) resort was not full and rates were very good. All the rooms are like small houses with independent entrance, so you have a lot of privacy, nice back drop and view towards pool and the sea. We were in room 310, up in the hill and it was separate house with balcony and wonderful view. As the room is more like little thai style house its quite spacious and partly in 2 levels. Beautiful bathroom- soft towels, quality soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion. Hair dryer.
Paths up to the rooms are steep so they use these little golf cars (they call it tuk-tuk) to take you to your room or downstairs would you wish so/ 24h.
Free bikes, wifi, fitness center, pool (also outdoor hot jacuzzi), sauna and spa + little shop. Free shuttle service.
Across the street was underwater observatory and 2 beaches, north (500 m from hotel) and south (300 m from hotel). Both of them had free entrance for hotel guests, also sunbeds etc in North one, which nicer beach to be.
Breakfast (7-11am) was excellent- big selection of salads, cold dishes, warm dishes, omlett, pastries etc.
Laundry service, ironing room if you wish to iron your clothes. In pool area they had also baby cribs, so guests didn’t had to go to room to put their infant to lunch time nap.
We are very satisfied of the hotel choice and enjoyed our stay 100%.

Room Tip: All the rooms with number 300 and 200 were separate houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadi-rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    153
    122
    82
    86
See reviews for
334
334
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here with my mom for 3 nights in Feb. A great place to relax in the off season - no crowds. The weather is warm - but not hot.

Breakfast - excellent.
Hotel staff - cordial - but you need to be clear in asking what you want done (including specifically requesting that they make up your room)
Location is really great - away from the main boardwalk, quiet, and beautiful.
Rooms & View - really nice

Room Tip: If you are in the older suites, ask for a room as high up the mountain as possible. You will get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmonavacado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We used a great Winter rate to visit the Orchid Hotel and Resort in Eilat, and loved our stay. We asked for a quiet chalet far from the road and the hotel's centre, and we got one of the "three-in -a-row" chalets with a lovely loft and generous balcony. I'd try for a single in the future, just to add extra privacy. The room was beautifully put-together, subtle colours, and excellent lighting. The bathroom was of a good size and with no signs of "wear and tear". We found the buffet breakfast and dinner buffets to have more than enough variety and the presentation was a delight. My steak at dinner was done medium instead of medium-rare, but it was delicious. The staff were helpful and very pleasant in all things. We came as a couple, but saw that the needs of children were attended to. I think families would enjoy the spacious design and the common areas. I am especially happy that it is on the South Beach, just a short walk (or bicycle ride, as these are free with your room) to the best snorkeling spots in Eilat. This resort provides much calm and comfort. I will be sure to be a guest many times in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevorahJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I spent some time in the hotel 13 years ago and liked it so much that when we needed a hotel for a night before our trip to Petra we did not even looked any other hotel, just booked a room in the Orchid. We found that while the staff is very nice and
accommodating , the view is wonderful and the breakfast is pretty good, the maintenance of the hotel have been grossly neglected. The wood walkways and walls are splintered all over needing some carpentry as well as painting, some of the appliances are are "semi-broken" etc. I still would go back and would recommend it for friends but with less enthusiasm than before.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkVeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were fortunate enough to sty in a shangrila villa which are the villas at the very top of the resort backed only by the mountains and with a full exquisite view of the red sea...I believe we received an upgrade...not sure why. I would totally recommend staying in these phenomenal suites with jacoussi and daybed on the outdoor balcony(takes 1 hour to fill up), lovely bedroom and awesome indoor bathroom with a massive bath. Fold out double couch for our 2 kids. Breakfast was great and variety (except the eggmaking area was dirty and I mentioned it to the staff but they didnt seem to care). I ate buffet dinner there which was nothing special(but Im a chef and extremely fussy) so the Israeli inlaws were more than happy with it. A special thank you to Tal the F&B manager for his generosity. I loved the allnight free internet and free calls all over the world. The tuk tuks were excellent and the kids loved it. I would definately only stay here if I had my own transport. Not sure about the other rooms...didnt look but it totally suited me to be out of central eilat and commute in to restaurants and shopping. I loved this hotel (mainly due to the villa) and would highly recommend it if you stay in these top rooms

Room Tip: take the top shangrila suites as far left as possible when looking at the hotel (next to the penthou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My fiancee and I received a gift from our parents - 3 nights at the orchid. We were upgraded to the Shangrila Villas and boy was that the best thing that could have happened!!! The Villa was beautiful - had an outdoor jacuzzi and a huge indoor bathtub. A breathtaking view from out bed that overlooked the panorama of the Red Sea, the palm trees and the beautiful red mountains of Eilat.

We felt no need to leave the hotel premises to go into the town of Eilat. The food was fine - the New Years Eve meal was stellar! There was light entertainment in the evenings, pool, air hockey, swimming, a spa and gym - we just had the most relaxing, romantic and wondeful weekend!

And the staff could not have been nicer or more attentive - every request was met in a manner of minutes! Definitely my favorite hotel in Eilat!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded or if you can - splurge and get a villa - so worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdonnaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Ticked all the boxes; Room serviced every day (clean bedding & towels), staff friendly (went out of way to arrange an easily accessible room because of children and offered up-grade at no extra charge [up-grade unfortunately would of been no use for children, pity]), breakfast was excellent (very wide choice), wifi reliable and amply safe and secure car-parking. Would recommend to anyone with children.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFindlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.7 mi away
Orchid Reef Hotel
Orchid Reef Hotel
#12 of 62 in Eilat
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
4.1 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 62 in Eilat
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Isrotel Agamim
Isrotel Agamim
#17 of 62 in Eilat
856 reviews
4.0 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#25 of 62 in Eilat
1,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prima Music
Hotel Prima Music
#20 of 62 in Eilat
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat

Property: The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat
Address: South Beach | PO Box 994, Eilat 88000, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Eilat
#11 Business Hotel in Eilat
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eilat
#17 Spa Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Hotel Eilat PO Box 994 south shore of Eilat Orchid Hotel Eilat The Orchid Hotel Eilat, classed as one of Israel's most beautiful hotels, is located on the slopes of a mountain, on the shores of the Red Sea, overlooking a majestic view of the Red Sea Gulf and Edom Mountains. The hotel, situated next to Coral Beach offers two wings with 192 luxurious well-equipped rooms and suites, designed in the style of Asian architecture. The Siam Wing invites you to enjoy the magical and unique setting of the Red Sea in air-conditioned rooms featuring a balcony, a king-size bed, LCD TVs and other luxurious amenities. The Siam Wing offers rooms with a gallery, suitable for two adults and 2 children and the highlight is the luxurious Chao Phaya Villa, with private pool and breathtaking views. The Shangri-La Wing, located on the mountain summit, proudly boasts the Grand Shangri-La Villa and Shangri-La Villas, decorated in the inspiration of the magical Far East. Each room has a balcony with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of the Red Sea, spacious bathroom, plasma T.V screen and elegant furnishings. The hotel's most luxurious wing, Villa Royal, features 4 luxurious villas located on top of the mountain with breathtaking views surrounded by private swimming pools, spacious tanning decks, luxurious bedrooms and bathrooms. Guests staying in the Villa Royal Wing enjoy a special and exclusive Butler services. If you conjure up the will to explore outside these luxurious rooms, you can enjoy a range of other facilities including a fully equipped gym, a spacious swimming pool and a luxurious spa complex. The spa offers spacious massage rooms operated by a team of professional and courteous staff and Thai style dry and wet sauna. The hotel offers a range of complimentary services for the benefit of hotel guests that include high-speed Wi-Fi access, international calls from rooms and lobby, children's club, and back and bicycle loan services. If you are feeling peckish, the hotel offers superb cuisine with a variety of freshly prepared dishes. The lobby bar serves a variety of dairy dishes from morning to evening and meat dishes can be ordered at the snack bar. For those who prefer to dine in the comfort of their own room, our efficient and professional Room Service team will be happy to deliver these dishes to your room. Finally, if you want to venture out and enjoy Eilat's many attractions, the nearby beach offers a variety of water activities. In the city center itself visitors can enjoy a vibrant nightlife, variety of restaurants and, of course, tax-free shopping centers! *Smoking in the hotel and it's grounds is strictly prohibited. * Please note that pets of any kind are forbidden in the hotel, other than guide dogs for guests who are registered disabled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Resort Eilat
Orchid Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing