We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Chico, California
1 review
“What a disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We chose this hotel because of a listing in the Lonely Planets guide. It is an overpriced dump - the room was the size of a closet. The fridge was broken and when I mentioned this at the front desk, the clerk said, ``It isn`t a fridge, it`s a mini-bar``. R-r-r-right - with a electric cord and a thermostat.

When I headed out the door with the electric kettle to find some ice in the neighborhood, the clerk forbid me to use it for that purpose - ``It`s for heating things`` he insisted using it for ice would damage it. He said, ``What do you want ice for?`` like ice (when it is in the 30sC outdoors) was an insane idea.

The breakfast included orange-colored soda pop or Kool-aid in lieu of juice, and stale sliced sandwich bread.

``Free parking`` means on the street, if you are lucky or aggressive enough to find a space!

The bathroom was clean, but the much-touted ``art`` does not begin to compensate for the inadequacies of this dump.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MartiWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    68
    34
    26
    20
See reviews for
33
80
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

I just got back from Haifa after spending 2 nights here. The first room had a back mold layer in the sink and an awful smell. The guy at reception grudgingly gave me a new room. It didn't have a funk but the hand towels were crusty, the bath towel was stained, toilet and mirror hadn't been cleaned, coffee cups and glasses were dirty too! The hotel is not in a nice part of town. The rooftop deck looks out to a dumpy buildings and the industrial port area. Since it was prepaid I had to stay two nights. The ads are very misleading.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaDWarrioRGirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haifa hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

I just got back from Haifa after spending 2 nights here. The first room had a back mold layer in the sink and an awful smell. The guy at reception grudgingly gave me a new room. It didn't have a funk but the hand towels were crusty, the bath towel was stained, toilet and mirror hadn't been cleaned, coffee cups and glasses were dirty too! The hotel is not in a nice part of town. The rooftop deck looks out to a dumpy buildings and the industrial port area. Since it was prepaid I had to stay two nights. The ads are very misleading.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaDWarrioRGirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

The Gallery Hotel situated amidst the market area, taxi & bus services, suitable for people traveling from afar who are not familliar with the area. The highlight would be the best breakfast service and great service from the hotel manager.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florita312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed here during 3 nights for a professional purpose, and have been amazed by the quality of this hotel and of the service here. The hotel is in a very central and animated area, the rooms are comfortable and clean, free wifi, good breakfast, spa, terrace with a great view on the city and on the harbour... We were welcomed by the really kind and helpful Dani, who can make it in 7 languages ! I will certainly come back in Haifa again for holidays, as I didn't have time to visit this beautiful city properly. I will of course stay again in the Gallery Hotel, that I recommend at 100%.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

hi my name is rosita ,i really happy i got this hotel they have good service and rriendly people iam going back today but i dont feel want even go back to my home i wanna stay with them i know when i go back i gonna miss them so much but what we can do life is like that , if u wanna stay some where safe and friendly place i recommend gallery thank you have nice trip ilove all worker in gallery bye

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosi155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

To be honest the Hotel is ok. The rooms are ok and clean, but the Manager was so rude!! Unbelievable!! The day before we were given upgrades for free without asking anything but by mistake the girl charged more and told she would give the money back, which she tried. But for some reason she couldn't get the money back on my credit card and told she would try the day after again. Next day the she wasn't there any more and when I explained to the Manager what happened, she called the girl and shout at her and then started shouting at me as if it was my fault we got an upgrade!! This lady was very rude but I manage to get my money back. I would not stay there again only because the people there are rude!! Be careful and check everything before you pay, otherwise you'll get into trouble!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.7 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#22 of 27 in Haifa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.1 mi away
Bat Galim Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel Haifa

Property: Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
Address: 61 Herzl Street, Haifa, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Gallery Hotel Haifa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where art and comfort meet. A spectacular boutique hotel planned and designed with the inspiration of art and scenery as an artistic gallery featuring a variety of collections. The hotel is in a "Bauhaus" building located in Haifa, the gateway to Northern Israel. The focus is on a sense of calm and peaceful serenity, with personal friendly service towards each and every guest 24 hours a day. The hotel is located in the heart of Haifa , in a historical neighborhood that enjoys city scapes including Mount Carmel, the Mediterranean sea and the North of Israel. Art Gallery Hotel offers its guests a central location, a short walk or drive to all business centers, shopping centers and tourism attractions. The hotel is within 10 minutes driving distance of the Haifa port, and about 15 minutes from Haifa's airport, and about 80 minutes from Ben Gurion airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing