We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again. comfortable, friendly, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Would stay again. comfortable, friendly, great location”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

After a few days on business at a "modern" hotel in Haifa, moving to the Colony for "vacation" was a real pleasure. Easy walking to bus, the Bahai Gardens and the German Colony. Friendly staff, yummy breakfast and wonderfully comfortable room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGailS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    164
    34
    16
    10
See reviews for
130
210
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were travelling across Israel for one week this May.
The Colony Hotel Haifa was the most cosy place / hotel we were staying during this time-
Nice architecture, not too big sized / more intimate, nice furniture, NO CARPETS !! in the rooms, very clean, excellent & friendly service, great breakfast, a large roof top terasse with view on the amazing Bahai Temple gardens, located in the German colony - a very smart street with lots of excellent restaurants. We regret, that we only had time for a one night stay. To us, the Colony Hotel is a MUST, when staying in Haifa!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsevenfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The hotel is a magnificent structure, and the rooms are large and majestic. Stone floors, old fashioned tubs, etc. The staff were friendly, and there was not only free internet, but a computer station open for guests (most hotels do not have this, we found). The neighborhood is very charming...a long two-block street of restaurants. The hotel has a roof deck from which you can see the B'hai gardens and the sea.
Downsides: our room was not quiet (street noise--ask for one in the back), and you cannot access the gardens from this neighborhood--you have to take a bus to the top of the hill to get to the entrance. It ended up being great taking the bus thhrough the city neighborhoods, but we thought we were picking the location to be convenient to the gardens.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfotherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

really nice hotel . Immaculate everywhere . The hotel manager was really helpful and friendly {iSAAC }. Simon the banqueting manager gave exceelent advice on where to go and eat out .Reception staff especially Yossi . I would recommend anyone to stay in this hotel while in Haifa I am already planning to return in the summer .

Room Tip: room on 3rd floor has best view ,rooms with jacuzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIASMATTAR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This is our seond trip to Haifa in 2 years and the first time in Haifa we stayed at the Dan Panorama and weren't impressed. We decided to go with this boutique hotel in the German Colony based on previous reviews and weren't disappointed. The room was quiet, good size. Free wi fi, good selection of Englsh newspapersi and an excellent location. Many restaurants within walking distance...all different cuisines.. Breakfast was very good, even if it was during Passover. The only downside was parking can be a challenge. There's a small lot behind the hotel and on street parking in the area. The place had a definite European feel to it. We plan on returning there on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmacyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Ives, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at the Colony Hotel whilst on a small group tour of the Gallillee. All the others on the tour stayed at different hotels and by some of the reports, we definitely picked the winner. This is a comfortable hotel in a street lined with eating places and looking up at the beautiful Baha’i gardens. Breakfasts were a bit crowded with a tour bus leaving and what seemed like the whole hotel eating at the same time. The hotel was just a bit tired (or do we call it elegant) but the room was large and comfortable. If ever I am back in Haifa, this is where I will stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dojies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Hood, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We spent most of our stay in Israel in Jerusalem, but did take 2 days to visit Caesaria, the Golan Heights, and the Sea of Gallilee. We chose Haifa as our overnight staging location and it was perfect.

We stayed at the Colony Hotel in Haifa, which is within easy walking distance of the port as well as the beautiful Ba'hai Gardens. There was ample hotel parking, attentive service, and a wonderful, comfortable room. The atmosphere of the hotel was elegant, and -- to elaborate further -- the suite in which we stayed had a great bed, great wireless service, a super bathroom, and ample space in which to work.

PS: There is also ready access by foot to such remarkable restaurants as Fatoosh, where we ate some exquisite local cuisine.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Haifa

Property: The Colony Hotel Haifa
Address: 28 Shderot Ben Gurion, Haifa 3502322, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colony Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Haifa is situated in the restored historic center of Haifa, in a unique preserved building, that was completely renovated in 2009 into a boutique hotel offering 40 luxurious rooms of the highest design standards. The hotel is located only 300 m from the world famous Baha’i Gardens which is one of the World Heritage Cultural sites. Next to the hotel are restaurants, cafes and a shopping mall, and it is only a short distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Colony Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing