We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The good
1. Great location, by the restaurants on the main drag.
2. Beautiful building for hotel.
3. Cheerful staff
4. Great wifi and air con in rooms
The bad
1. Breakfast selection ......meh
2. Bathroom was grotty, plastic bath was gross and room generally needed a serious refurb

All in all, a good place to stay, but make sure your bedroom is up to scratch!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    165
    34
    16
    11
See reviews for
132
212
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

thank you colony hotel for the fantastic stay. your staff are jewels in the colony crown .and the location is fantastic walking distances to all the best restaurants .it was the highlight of our tour in Israel.

Room Tip: look for room that faces the Baha'i gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family and I stayed for two nights in The Colony Hotel and were very pleased with the friendly staff, clean rooms, and beautiful location and scenery. The included breakfast buffet presented a large variety of delicious drinks and foods of high quality. With a wide variety of TV channels, free Wi-Fi, and attractions all along the same street, we were entertained every bit of our stay. The staff was very kind and made us feel welcomed in the hotel for our stay and the future. All our love from Marlene, Teyta Eveleen, Michelle and Julene. Thank you Simon, Izak, and the whole staff! See you soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was a great stay due to the brilliant location in the lovely German quarter. Some of the best restaurants in Haifa are just a short walk from the front door!
The staff were very friendly and helpful making our further travels around Israel much easier. They organised to deliver a suitcase to Tel Aviv whilst we travelled south, which saved us money and made travelling so much more comfortable. The room was a little dated but very comfortable, with a lovely balcony overlooking the street, which comes with the more expensive room. Great room service and free bottled water, chocolates and toiletteries are a very nice touch.
It's also very close to the train station and the gardens - I would recommend this as a great starting point when travelling in the north of Israel.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the larger room and balcony. Don't worry if room is facing the Ben Gurio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I live in Haifa more then 12 years but this time had to find nice hotel for my grandma's stay. Israeli prices are high so i can't say this hotel is cheap but it was the cheapest among normal hotels - much cheaper then Meredian on the beach or any hotel on the mountain (Panorama' Nof etc.) . Also i was looking for some nice area that will represent Haifa in the best way and will be comfortable for 80's years old woman.
1. The building (and the room) - was built at 1905. It looks nice and authentic from outside and inside. The place is realy near (about 400-500 meters) from Bahai Gardens and it one of the most beatiful places in the city. From our room (206) we could see Bahai temple and the gardens. Outside the hotel have very colonial style. Inside there is a lot of eastern ceramics. The furniture in the room was classical and comfortable. I realy liked the bathroom and its window in retro style - it was nice to take the bath drinking coffe and looking at he bahai and the moon through opened window.
As for room: the single room I've ordered was huge and comfortable. I stayed there with grandma for 2 nights and was sleeping on the comfort sofa. Actualy this room could be for 3-4 people (2 couples on a budget). The area is quit noisy - there is a lot of restaurants around. But it was silence in the room. The bed is excelent. And you have any basic equipment you may need. Excellent.
2. Food - we ate only breakfast. Its a buffet breakfast with very nice choice and good service. Dairy. On saturday it was a litle bit worse but thats cultural point - the place is cosher and it means they do not cook on saturday. I've paid 75 shekels (21.5$) for additional breakfast- its excpensive, we could have for this money outside a nice lunch. Actually there is a lot of nice restaurants around and the hotel gives you 10% discount in most of them. Just ask for it on reception.
3. Service - excellent! They smile, they help, they just always there when you need them and there is always nice solution for what you need. The room was always clean and we didnt see or heard chambermaid even once. Easy and quick chek in/out. We left on saturday and had to be out till 12.00 but the reception proposed us to stay later so we left at 14.00 and actually could stay even more. The do not have luggage room but ready to keep your luggage on reception.
4. The area - what to do and where to go....as i said there a lot of restaurants (i realy love Fatoush. Rak basar is nice but you shoud take busines lunch other way it do not worse it). Also there is Bahai Gardens. As for us we went to Bat Galim beach (3 stations on a bus). Later we took cableway from the beach to Carmel mount and went to Stella Maris church. From there you can walk to the top terasse of bahai gardens or come back by bus to hotel. We took a taxi because all this on july heat was a little bit too much for 80's years old woman. Taxi from Stella Maris to hotel cost 30 shekels (8.$).

So - I would highly recommed this place to anyone who wants to visit Haifa. And my grandma told me she's coming back there soon.

This time I didn take any pictures but actually you can realy trust photos on hotel's site

Room Tip: just tell on reception what do you prefer - sea view or bahai gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefly_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were very happy with the friendly staff and clean rooms. Great location in German Colony. We were recommended a great dinner place too by the staff. Truly a good experience had by the entire family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

In the German Colony near several restaurants and way downhill from the Gardens. No shopping nearby. My basement room was acceptable, clean, good bed and bathroom with a jacuzzi I did not use. Noisy. The wifi barely worked in the room-too far from the router. Had to go to the lobby or sitting area outdoors which is lovely at the front of the hotel at the base of the stairs to get good wifi. Visit was for business and I needed good wifi so this was a problem. Breakfast superb and copious. Friendly service. Good price and value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Haifa

Property: The Colony Hotel Haifa
Address: 28 Shderot Ben Gurion, Haifa 3502322, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colony Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Haifa is situated in the restored historic center of Haifa, in a unique preserved building, that was completely renovated in 2009 into a boutique hotel offering 40 luxurious rooms of the highest design standards. The hotel is located only 300 m from the world famous Baha’i Gardens which is one of the World Heritage Cultural sites. Next to the hotel are restaurants, cafes and a shopping mall, and it is only a short distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Colony Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing