We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment and overpriced”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We booked a room with a baby. very small. dirty. ants everywhere. The room have seen better days. the decor seems very tired . The breakfast was okay but slow service. the location is nice and quiet. a big disappointment in total. we wanted to leave right away but decided to stay because of the baby and left right after breakfast. never again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ystz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    41
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
85
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This was the worst experience, and never again.
I have dragged my entire family to stay here for the holidays. We reserved three rooms. Upon arrival there was a bad odor in the entrance lobby of the hotel. The room was smaller than we expected. We have asked for the biggest / luxury rooms, all they could say is that in a boutique hotel the rooms are small...
The baby crib wasn't appropriate for sleeping (instead of a mattress they tried to assemble a piece of carton and a folded sheet) - they insisted that this is the original crib’s mattress…

After a couple of hours we figured out the room is in practice worn out and dirty. I will simply refer to the three pictures taken of the bathtub, the window frame (with a cigarette) and the ceiling.

I can go on and on about the service and how they treat their customers, but that is not the point, the point is that this hotel is not appropriate for any type of stay and I strongly recommend to stay away!

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank O S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I love in general boutique hotels but this one is defiantly not. it is more a 3 stars hotel but the cost was very high. they don't even offer mineral water which you should expect when you paying 200$ ++ per night. the decoration saw better days. the balcony was nice, but at night it was very noisy. the bed was too small, and overall we expected for more...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_unique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T-A
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed for a night at this hotel.
We ordered a suite which was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable, a very large flat TV in front of the bed, a Jacuzzi (a little bit narrow), separate WC and washroom. I liked that there were books in the room.
The door was not acoustic enough and the AC unit noisy but OK.
The front desk staff was very nice.
I had a very good and professional massage.
There is a public Jaccuzzi and sauna
The breakfast was disapointing - good for a cafe, average for an Israeli good hotel.
The decor was OK - but not special enough as excpected from a boutique hotel.
The location - very good - close to the Carmel Center but quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Really a very nice hotel in Haïfa, far from the touristic zone very calm and mainly with local customers, it will make you discover the real Israeli way of life.
Receptionists and personals are the kindest we have encountered from a long time. Really ready to please you every time the best they can.
We stayed 6 nights our room was perfect, wide with a large bathroom and Italian shower but other can be very small so ask to visit it at your arrival.
Breakfast are correct as soon as you can obtain a real espresso. Mint tea is tasty and I recommend the ice mint lemonade which is fresh and delicious.
Restaurant has a wide and nice terrace but not a wide menu so you will prefer a remarquable new bar/ restaurant that has just opened nearby. Price is correct for the level of service.
Only bad point is that there is only 3 or 4 parking and that the street parking are pay per hour from 9 to 8pm. The conditionned air is also very noisy. The pillows are too bigs. That will cost a star.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarmelManagment, Manager at Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
I would like to thank you for your kind words, and I am truly happy to hear that your stay with has been a good one.

I regret to hear that the parking spaces on the premises have troubled you, and would like to point out that usually hotels charge extra for parking, which we do not. And we do our best to provide free and convenient parking to all of our guests.

Thank you again, and we do hope that you will think of us again on your next visit to Haifa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I stayed there for one night in one of their superior rooms, which was nice but small. When we arrived the lady at the reception was having her dinner at the front desk!! We went to the bar to have a drink and it was full of young workers, it was noisy dirty and untidy but the bar tender was nice and helpful. We wanted to order room service but they told us the kitchen was closed and it was only few minutes after 10 pm but eventually after my husband went down to the restaurant he managed to get us some salad bread and a cake which they were ok. The breakfast was good but we had it in the room and it arrived with no salt and pepper or sugar for the tea!! The roof terrace was disappointing as it had a ceiling so you couldn't sunbathe although it did say in the information pack that you could! Over all it was ok no attention to detail and with helpful staf but very unprofessional. I wouldn't go back for this price!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarmelManagment, Director of Sales at Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Helen,
Thank you for your feedback.
I would like to reply on some of the issues you brought up in your review.
The hotel has a strict policy regarding "dinners at the front desk". Her dish was in fact placed by a waiter on the front desk table, but was instantly removed to the office in the back far from the eyesight of our guests.

Regarding your visit at our restaurant: our restaurant works daily from 7:00 a.m. to 22:00 p.m. (kitchen closes before that at 21:30) and I am sorry to hear you were not able to order a proper room service.
It is possible to order drinks etc, or even take away from other local cuisines with the assistance of our front desk staff.

And finally the roof terrace was recently modified to suit our guests both in winter time and in the summer. I apologize that it was not mentioned in

On a personal note, we are doing everything in our power to improve the quality of our services, thus your review is important to us and we welcome it as a part of our way to learn and get better.

We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Haifa.

Best Regards,

Boaz Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I splurged for a one night getaway. We booked a package which included an overnight in a suite and a double spa treatment. On the good side, the treatment was very professional and we very much enjoyed our time there. Otherwise, our stay was pleasant but disappointing.
If you travel by car, parking is an issue, solvable but an issue. The reception is small, and no privacy is available. Our room/suite was large but well due for some renovation, bathroom fittings are old, and some tiles broken etc. we had to ask for our room to be cleaned again as we encountered some trash which was not ours. There is a generally a lack of attention to details, there is always a mop or vacum or garbage bag in the corridors, the staff rooms are widely open etc. The hotel restaurant which served breakfast was quite full, thus service was very slow. The restaurant is open to the public and this is probably the reason (although it should be).
The hotel services and facilities are very limited; I would not categorize this as a boutique hotel, rather a small hotel. Upon check out we were asked and kindly gave feedback, hope this is taken into account, although I felt the question was more polite than sincere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.3 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.5 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.6 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Address: 1st. Kikar Heinrich Heine | Off 30 Moriah Blvd., Haifa 3448507, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with superb amenities and comforts, prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing