We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty average and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“pretty average and disappointing”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Disappointing . Nice quiet neighbourhood would seem to be main attraction of this hotel but interior decoration of our room - which was quite large, was awful - dark brown walls and carpet , not very good lighting - very depressing I counted five different materials - concrete finishes and wood and various tiles in the bathroom - poor lighting and meagre toiletries for a Spa hotel .Worse was lack of proper cleaning - bath surrounds were dirty
Very nice spacious balcony attached to room
Reception staff adequate but not very friendly
Breakfast staff better but breakfast itself tired and uninspiring .
Free parking and free wifi
For what it promises ,very disappointing and needs new management and a "shake up "
Would not stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newmarket18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    40
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
84
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa... The room was 'fine'... A little aged and needed some TLC.
We had an issue, and causing me to write this negative review.
As my girlfriend got out of the shower she was reaching for her bath robe and found a large flying cockroach inside of the robe. Was quite a terrifying experience for her.
The young guy that was working the front desk did his best to address the situation (he sent some wine and cake), but he was not a manager and probably not trained to deal with crisis situations.
The next morning, I made every effort to connect with a manager or owner, Both of which were not making themselves available. I also left my cell phone number, I never received a phone call.
When I checked out I was offered a 15% discount, but that is simply insulting.

Any good hotel management would look for any opportunity to differentiate their service, and this was a complete lost opportunity.

On another note, this was the lowest quality food or breakfast that we encountered during the trip. Really disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a night at Villa Carmel.
The hotel as a huge potential as it has a very European and pitoresque feel to it but for a 5 star hotel you'd expect rooms to be totally dust free as this caused us not to be able to sleep relaxed.
We had to change rooms because the first had even more dust.
To have a nice carpeted room is cozy but it must be vacuumed properly on daily basis.
The finishing touch must be better maintained (spots and cracks in bathrooms)
If this is taken into consideration and something is done about it, then it'd give it indeed 5 stars as staff quite friendly and aiming to please.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnstars25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday in Haifa, Israel from a ten day stay at the Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel (which we got a very good deal on). and on a quiet tree lined street within a fifteen minute walk from the main street area. We booked in at reception and received a very warm welcome and were showed to a very nice medium sized room on the ground floor which was very luxurious. A nice king sized bed, flat screen TV, white bathrobe & slippers and a a nice bathroom with walk-in shower! We also got a complimentary glass of wine each which was very pleasant indeed. The staff were very warm and attentive. Downstairs is the bar and restaurant which extended to the garden with an attractive water feature in place which we spent many an hour there relaxing.
On the roof is a very nice spa, hot-tub and sauna and shower room.
Regarding the food at the hotel the breakfast is adequate for $15 each but you can get better at a restaurant two minutes walk away called the Expresso, We did not have lunches or dinners there as there are cheaper and better places to go. Indeed the Expresso served a really good breakfast for 50- 60 Shekels which was very good value! and fabulous pastas in the evening. Another place to eat is the Nof Hotel which has a Chinese restaurant inside and is just past the Dan Panorama Hotel which is incredible value and it is Kosher! We had a main course between us as the portions are quite large and it was very good value.
We enjoyed our stay at the Villa Carmel and would definitely return again.
You may get a better deal booking direct with them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a lovely boutique, neighborhood hotel. The staff was warm and welcoming as well as helpful and kind. The restaurent downstairs was excellent, for both breakfast and dinner. I felt bad that we were the only diners there one might for dinner. The breakfast had delicious condiments, all fresh and homemade. I was surprised and pleased to find gourmet chocolate in the room when we arrived.
This hotel is a treasure!

Room Tip: Room 5 is spacious with a spacious bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtrvlchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

A real shoot of fresh air for the frequent travellers which normally have to stay in the hotels which belong to big chains...
Full of nice small details, chocolates in the room, selection of extremly good teas in the room, all amenities, nice staff, very friendly. Rooms are big enought, nice bathroom.
Hotel is located in Carmel mountain, near Haifa dowtown. Full of restaurants around.
If you want to feel special in Haifa this is the place. For romantic visits do not miss it.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sergi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

OK, this is small hotel with some 15 rooms, attentive staff, location in a quiet neighborhood close to the street where it is all happening in Haifa. It looks like someones' big house rather, this gives it a nice homey feeling. Good restaurant downstairs. Breakfast till 12:00 (luxury!).
Other that that - the rooms need repair and serious soundproofing. Shower is nightmare to make it work. Hangers were missing in the closet.
I must say staff is very attentive and helpful indeed it is just that some problems are better solved before the guest arrives...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KotArina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.3 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
1.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 28 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Address: 1st. Kikar Heinrich Heine | Off 30 Moriah Blvd., Haifa 3448507, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with superb amenities and comforts, prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing