We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for kids”

Haifa Educational Zoo
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good for kids”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A lovely nice little zoo. Usually well kept, although when we were visiting, many of the employees were at a convention. The zoo is located on a hill side - so lots of walking in steep paths.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    72
    20
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley Moor, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First time at Haifa Gan HaHayot”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was surprised at how many animals were there as it is an urban zoo. It is not the biggest zoo but there is a good variety of animals given its size. The reptile house is really impressive and the lioness was resting right next to the glass (we got some great photos). They have a pretty good variety of birds too. The downside is that it was cold and there were no indoor cafes that we could find. Also, there is quite a bit of walking up and down as the zoo is very nicely built on a hillside.

There is also a nice playground for the kids after the zoo.

We had a great time! I would go back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoresh, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lets go to the Zoo!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

All the range of animals you can find in Israel, well taken care of, in this enjoyable zoo.
The educational explanations are great, the signs and paths comfortable, could be a bit of a hike, but that gives the opportunity to enjoy the view of the wadi nearby.
Some of the employees are with disabilities, and in my opinion that is a wonderful thing. I salute the management for it.
Perfect for kids and adults accompanying them.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable and interesting way to spend an afternoon for animal lovers”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

It's great for spending an afternoon with the kids.
Take under considiration that the zoo is very big and built on a mountain. small children get tired from walking especially up hills. There's a special viehcle that can take you from place to place but it costs money and then you might miss seeing some animlas

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuval06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great visit with kids”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's the second time I've been in this zoo. The first time we didn't really like it, cause we were with toddlers in strollers and it's not very convenient, as the zoo goes up and down the hill. But now, when the kids are more grown, it's really fun.
There were not a lot of people, we got to see all the animals in there, got to pet them in petting zoo and even hold a python. In the entrance to the zoo there is a playground and a carousel, so when we left, kids got to play also.
All in all, lots of fun! Don't know about the food in the zoo, we took our own snacks. Also, it's not very expensive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haifa Educational Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Haifa Educational Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing