We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average food, "transparent" customers”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Minna Tomei

Minna Tomei
Ranked #11 of 360 Restaurants in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai, Korean, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great Asian restaurant featuring cuisine from 5 countries.
Haifa District, Israel
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“average food, "transparent" customers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

been there couple of times about 4 months ago. in the first time - food level was average, not something exotic that remines you of food you ate originally at india or thiland. a few weeks later we decided to give it another try. made a reservation for lunch, but when we arrived we were seated at alousy table, practically in the hallway... and there were plenty of available better seats. our requests for a change were practically ignored by the staff - and we left the place, not to return anytime soon. it is very sad - because there is a place for such a restaurant in haifa, and it has a very good potential.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    121
    36
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oriental mix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We looked for Indian food and that is how we found this restaurant, but when we got there we saw they have Sushi and Thai food and Indian . . . I'm not saying the food was not good, it was the noodles dish we ordered was very good but the Chicken masala I ordered was not exactly Indian (which was the original idea for going out that evening) I think they should decided which type of restaurant they are? If you try to be everything you are neither. Overall the food was good, the service was good and the value was good, sometimes good is enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoazBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Minatomei at Castra big yes, the new branch on the Carmel NO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

While dinning at the Castra branch (Fliman st.) of Minatomei about a dozen times and being very happy with it most of the times, I must say my experience with their new branch by the Carmel Center is awful. Unlike all that is very good in the large and main restaurant, the new one lacks it all. We were replied on the phone by a bored person who didn’t seem too eager to secure us with any spots. We arrived to a bad looking new place with an awful design, in and out. We entered to a place, which was almost half-empty with badly dressed waiters. Serving personal English abilities were rather bad. Though we were “warned” that the new branch has only about 85% of the menu we were happy with it, as the main branch has a huge variety. They didn’t mention here that some of reduced menu is missing as well. The waitress was trying to communicate with us but even when I have folded my big ears at her, we just couldn’t hear her. The acoustics is so bad here that even one couple speaking in the hall won’t allow you to hear anything. It was so annoying that I just stepped out of there. It was only one of very few cases were I retired from a restaurant after sited. Expensive, bad service, bad looking and badly performed place. How can two branches at the same city be so different ?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you are looking for average food in a very noisy place go there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Do not expect to have a conversation while eating there because you will not hear each other while eating very average food. Even if you will ask to lower the music volume they will ignore you at best or give you a piece of their mind about your strange request, No chance we will ever go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MxM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
270 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“In the top local echelon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice atmosphere , pretty varied menu , tasteful food , rather on the expensive side , better to reserve beforehand

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minna Tomei also viewed

Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 

Been to Minna Tomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing