We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for!”
Review of Theodor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Theodor Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is touted as having a literary connection and I suppose it does have a bookshelf in the lobby, and chairs for reading in the lobby, as well as a small bookshelf at the lift exit on the various floor levels. However, since the hotel's key marketing theme is that it doubles as a 'library', surely it would be appropriate to include a few reading lamps in the lobby as well as in the rooms! I am an avid reader and I found the lack of a bedside reading lamp made it completely impossible for me to read!
We had interconnecting rooms with large windows looking out to towards a view of the pale coloured town of Haifa clinging to the hillside as it tumbles steeply towards the ocean. At twilight and again just pre-dawn, when the light softens the hard edges and the house lights twinkle, this view is incredibly picturesque!
Our interconnecting rooms each had two single beds and we had great difficulty finding space to put 2 suitcases in each room. Charging our various gadgets presented a problem as power points appear to have been forgotten when planning what the hotel says is a recent renovation. Wi-Fi didn’t work so I suppose it didn’t really matter that there was no space to sit and use a laptop computer.
It was impossible to take a shower without flooding the bathroom and there was only one towel provided per person. Bathroom amenities were clearly not seen as a priority by the hotel, I think there was some liquid soap in the shower.
There was a shoulder-width balcony or walkway around the outside perimeter of the floor level which was easily accessible via the very large windows, which, given our neighbours in the room opposite were screaming angrily at each other, made us feel a little insecure about having our curtains or windows open as they, like we, also had access to our room.
There were road works occurring in the street in front of the hotel and the jack hammers were in action all night. The area was not tourist friendly at all and we found the car to be a necessity.
There was paid parking underneath the hotel and the charge is per day or part day and not by night. This means that if you arrive for an afternoon check-in and check-out the following morning – you will be charged the full day’s rate for each of the two days.
A buffet breakfast was available and had a reasonable variety of choices however, coffee was self service from a machine and nothing to write home about!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255100Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Nice place! Little gem in Haifa. Street work still continues but does not bother. Parking is tricky. Breakfast is ok on the weeekdays but better on the weekend Good experience overall.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sa39561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel was marketted like a new renovated one. The rooms are clean, the area is poor , looks like slums. The food was awful served in poor plastic. All the details given in the ads are false. We paid in advance for two nights and left after one night, the experience was very very bad

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huguette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The marketing of this hotel was simply brilliant, it is categorized as some sort of "boutique" "library" hotel, which is kind of over-statement. They do have a bookshelf on every floor, the staff is indeed friendly and provides a welcoming and good service, but it is nothing more than a 3-stars renovated hotel, with everything working and in good condition, but.. that's it. The rooms, which for some reason are called "superior" or "deluxe" etc., are small, nothing "luxury" or "deluxe". The neighborhood is a dumpster of a local market, and it's not that nice just do go downstairs and travel around, unless you like the backstage of markets.
According to the recommendations on TA of other travelers I had a pretty high expectations, which were not met...
The Haifa city tour (provided by Haifa municipal authority itself) is a very nice addition to your stay there, and I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EpicureNo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is basic, room has simple furnishing, but functional and inexpensive. The low price and friendly service are the key pluses. On the other hand, the construction work on the hotel street makes it hard to find and access the hotel. The parking is on a parallel street at the back of the hotel and there is no sign of the hotel at the entrance to the parking. Given the construction work and the confusing access, it is really important for the hotel to put a sign with their name at the entrance to their parking. There is a 20 shekel daily fee for the parking. A few large flies were flying over the food at breakfast, which was very unappetizing. Again, this is a porblem the hotel can easily fix. We had a nice urban view from our room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTD-Travel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is nice and a good price. Parking is available also, but you have to ask where it is, and wait for someone to unlock it if you need your car after hours. Ironing board and iron provided in a separate room. No frills but nice hotel. Part of town is not unsafe, but not great for tourists - not near the 'good' part of town. Note, the B'Hai gardens are closed if it rains.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were a little worried, arriving at Theodor late one evening, because of the construction work and the shady neighbourhood we had to drive through. That, however, was not the hotel's fault and we stepped into a lovely lobby, were greeted by the friendliest receptionist, and were directed to a lovely room with one of the most incredible views we have had in Israel.

Everything at the Theodor Hotel was fabulous. It was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, reasonably priced, well-located (if there hadn't been construction), friendly staff, comfortable rooms and bedding, great views, tasty breakfasts. What a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up as high as possible. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloriousForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#4 of 28 in Haifa
357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.8 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theodor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theodor Hotel

Address: 63 Herzl, Haifa 3321214, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range: £54 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Theodor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Theodor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing