We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Friendly Employees, Nice Spacious Rooms”
Review of Theodor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Theodor Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Reviewed 18 November 2012

During the first week of November, i spent the night in the recently renovated Theodor Hotel located in the Hadar quarter of old Haifa. It gets its name form the Zionist visionary Theodore Herzl who many consider to be the founder of the Zionist movement.

Since the Hotel is located on Herzl Street, and named after the founder of Zionism who was also an avid writer and lover of books, this hotel is a concept hotel, and the theme is Library. You will find a large collection of books all over the hotel.

Although this hotel is billed as a boutique hotel, it boasts some 98 rooms and occupies 11 floors in a 17 story building built during the latter half of the 20th century.

I found the staff to be very service oriented and friendly. They were polite, and handled all special requests in a timely manner. Even though this hotel is located in an old building with entrance ways that are preeminent of former times, the rooms are fully renovated and very spacious - one of the advantages of an older renovated hotel as compared to a newly-constructed Hotel where the rooms are significantly smaller.

I recommend the Theodor Hotel for all types of travelers.

Room Tip: The upper rooms with a view of the port of Haifa are preferable if you like a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazadaToursService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have rented 45 rooms for a family event, for short weekend.
The food was great, very tasty and profusion.
The stuff were very pleasant and kindly.
The rooms were very clean and cozy. Great view from every single room.

Very good hotel for tourist' that want to visit Haifa and North West of Israel.

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadavfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

modern, nice, clean.center location,very good full breakfast
comfotable nice room
easy to get all the intersting places, museums,andthe sea
the dinning room is nice the breakfast uncludes vegetables of all kinds, fruits,cheeses, yugort,olives etc. etc.

Room Tip: higher floors towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 297761Lea69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

When I first laid eyes on Theodor hotel in Haifa, I thought my driver had accidentally dropped me off at a Russian brothel. The gleaming black marble on the facade, couple with the many Russian signs, made me feel uneasy. The entrance to the hotel could have been a 70's James Bond set and finding out where the hoot the reception is, is a chore. But then it changes: the reception has a bit of a boutique feel to it: lots of books, spacey and light, quaint furniture and even quainter staff. The hotel supposedly is a 'boutique hotel', but in my opinion that label has been applied too many times to too many places that don't deserve the title. Theodor is a 'probably - but not quite' boutique hotel. The rooms are ok, the paint job in the bathrooms is bad, but the beds are comfy and an effort has been made to give the rooms a homey feel. As it is a high-rise, the views from the windows are fantastic, but location-wise it is a no no. There are no restaurants in walking distance - best you take the 'Carmelit' to Carmel Central.

Breakfast in the hotel is legendary: really good stuff!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanoded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

As several previous reviewers pointed out: The rooms are clean and comfortable. They are spartan, but not cramped. The view from the 14th floor was wonderful. As an American, it took me a couple days to get used to breakfast, but once I did, it was pretty good. I liked the atmosphere of the lobby.

As of 5 July, the construction was right in front of the hotel entrance. That made entering and leaving a bit interesting; but, it didn't bother me. During our stay, they were replacing the bricks in the sidewalk. I was actually very impressed at how quickly they worked. I expect that, by now, the construction is a block or more down the street. If you have a car, construction could make things difficult; otherwise, I wouldn't worry about it.

The staff was reasonably friendly, and, unlike other reviewers, I did not have any trouble communicating in English with the staff.

One reviewer used the term "Little Russia" to describe the neighborhood. That is an accurate impression. Walking around, I saw and heard as much Russian as Hebrew. During the day, the neighborhood is very busy and somewhat crowded; but, I never felt unsafe.

My only word of caution about the hotel is that it is not near any of the tourist parts of town. It is a 15 minute walk to the German Colony and Baha'i Gardens, and a 20 minute walk to the train station. As a result, I think it is slightly over-priced. Also, most of the restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk close between 8 and 9. For $10 to $20 more a night, you can stay in the German Colony or at the top of Mt. Carmel. In my opinion, that would be $10 well spent.

Room Tip: If you don't mind waiting for the elevator, the view from the higher floors is really neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room is very basic. Clean but not spotless.
The breakfast is average.
No parking, you have to pay 20 IS per entrance in a privet
parking
The curtains are too short so the sun is in early in the morning


--

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Average hotel. You pay what you get. Breakfast is fine and rooms are ok (all rooms have great views). It's located on a interesting street, with lots of shops and some restaurants. It is specially interesting because the hotel don't have restaurant (just cafe for breakfast), what it rather uncomfortable if you arrive late and most restaurants in the street are already closed (they close rather early).

On the not so good side, the Internet connection is free, but not every floor has an wi-fi Access Points. So, if you are not lucky (as my case), I have to seat near the entrance door of my room to get only low-speed connection (in the room table or bed no connection at all). Sometimes I even had to so to the lobby because I have to download some files and it took ages ...

As for the staff, most of them didn't speak English well (just basic Questions: "get me a taxi", "I want to check out", ...). And they were not specially kind.

To end with, there was some noise in my room overnight. I asked other guests and they had the same. It seems that the air conditions are a bit noisy. You can sleep, but it would be better not to have that noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElPantera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#4 of 28 in Haifa
357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.8 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theodor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theodor Hotel

Address: 63 Herzl, Haifa 3321214, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range: £54 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Theodor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Theodor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing