We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View”
Review of Theodor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Theodor Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were given a corner room on the 17th floor with large windows facing the harbor and enjoyed the amazing view. The hotel is located in the business area of the city and has excellent bus connections. Breakfast featured a good selection of fresh vegetables as well as hot foods.
Senior citizens should ask about reductions on the buses as well as in the museums,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nechama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Singlehandedly the worst hotel I've ever been to in my life, the shower does not have any anti slip features, causing my wife to slip and hit her head against the shower faucet. The faucet broke off completely because the pipes inside are rusted out beyond repair and deliver rusty hot water. Long story short the hotel staff took their sweet time fixing the leak and when approached by the hotel manager she attempted to but the blame on us. I would stay as far away from this hotel as possible while it looks decent on the surface it's completely rotten on the inside both the employees and the building itself. There's cheaper and better hotels in haifa.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxAza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I just returned from vacation and I told her that the first thing I do as soon as we get home is to thank the professional staff of Theodor hotel. They gave us an exemplary hospitality and made us feel very comfortable.
The rooms are extremely well appointed and clean, great view, great food, and the most important thing - the hotel is in an extremely convenient location.
Very recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavidavid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I were part of a group that stayed at this hotel last Sunday night (June 2nd to 3rd, 2013).
I am sorry to say that we very disappointed with the hotel.
The only nice things to mention are the room itself, spacious and with a nice view. The Wi-Fi service worked just as it should.
However, when we arrived the toilet seat was soiled and on the floor around the bowl lay unidentified dirt.
The room was constantly filled with a humming noise, drowned by loud noise as from water flowing through piping. These noises went on the whole night.
At the buffet we found many dishes to be not fresh, especially the lukewarm, dried-out chicken drumsticks, as well as corn, and some salads.
The air conditioner in the room did not respond to the thermostat. It had one setting only: very cold, so we had to turn it off. We did not have blankets in the room and the duvets were too warm to use with the air conditioner turned off.
As for the towels, there was only one towel per person and they exuded a strong smell of chlorine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancing-freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The entire street around the hotel is under extreme repair for blocks--so getting there is an adventure. Parking is difficult to get to and costs 20 shekels a day, though once you find it you are right below the hotel. The hotel has 16 floors and you will not notice this from the street, as somehow only about 3 stories are visible. One of the employees described Hotel Theodor
as a 4 star business boutique, but whatever it Is, it's low down on Haifa's mountain so at least you have a chance of taking a walk without a Sherpa. The views on all sides are pretty spectacular. Breakfast is okay, not lavish. The rooms are small but adequate, appointments remind me of early south Beach.

Room Tip: pro: all the free cold drinking water you can use con: you have to get it yourself from a pipe in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Israel has some strange set ups for Hotel locations. This time, the Hotel was fully marked from the outside but once entering, instead of a lobby & reception, there was a long corridor with other businesses in it followed by a lift at the far end where you had to attempt to find where to check in! The reception was part of a vast lounge area which seems to be a sort of Jewish custom in which to congregate to watch people? We have never worked out why. The rooms were quite upmarket but there was no food apart from tea making facilities. You paid for parking underground. It was a good central location

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Good points:

1. Decent hotel
2. Basement parking
3. Nice view from the room
4. Restaurants & stores nearby
5. Good location to begin exploring the city
6. Staffs generally friendly & helpful but alternated with a little indifference

Bad points:

1. Parking not free

This is a hotel which entrance is inside an office building complex but it was sufficient when we stayed there for our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 28 in Haifa
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#22 of 28 in Haifa
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theodor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theodor Hotel

Address: 63 Herzl, Haifa 3321214, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range: £53 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Theodor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Theodor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing