We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Chinese restaurant”

Taipei Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 373 Restaurants in Haifa
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tel: (972) 579-428613
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Thisa nice Chinese restaurant in the downtown of Haifa. The food was good the same was good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    8
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“AVOID this one!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We ordered the business lunch. The sweet and sour chicken was soggy, the sesame chicken was tasteless, the "fried" rice was not fried and the "Chinese" salad was roughly chopped cabbage laced with HOT peppers! When we drew the waiter's attention to the surprise we received tasting the chopped hot peppers in the salad, she shugged without expressing concern or offering an apology. The service was merely adequate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Changed for the worse!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We used to eat at this restaurant regularly (then called Taiwan), as a family and as a couple, when it was under the old management. It was the best Chinese Restaurant in the area. Last Monday we took our son there for his birthday. This was our first visit since the restaurant changed hands and we were disappointed.
The dish we loved the best, General Tso Chicken, wasn't offered, while the dishes we did order were all relatively tasteless. The spicy chicken dish we ordered was completely bland. The restaurant wasn't that clean. The waitress didn't seem to speak English or Hebrew and knew little about the menu.
We used to love the place, but we won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HaifaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a delicious restaurant”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we eat today a very tasty lunch in a cozy atmosphere,at a very reasonable price.we had canto-style spareribs,pai-tai and crispy calamari and for the desert fried banana and ananas and everything was exquisite. from my experience,this is the best chinese restaurant in haifa and one of the best in israel.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ernest68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Handy location, very good food”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I and a friend had lunch here our last full day in Haifa and couldn’t have been more pleased. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding and plentiful. It was a bit pricey, but given the quality it was worth it especially when compared to prices for most other restaurants in Haifa. The restaurant itself is near the top of Ben Gurion Ave., just below the beautiful Baha’i Terraces and Shrine of the Bab. We highly recommend Taipei to you if have a hankering for great Chinese food while in Haifa. The Kosher Chinese restaurant in the Nof Hotel near the top of Mount Carmel doesn’t even come close in either quality or service to the Taipei. Spend your shekels here; it’s worth it. Your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CyFyGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taipei Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 

Been to Taipei Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing