We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments on the edge of the German Colony”
Review of G38 Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
G38 Apartments
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Haifa
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We rented a number of apartments in this well maintained apartment block and were very pleased. Our son was marrying locally and several members of the party stayed here.
The apartments are roomy, bright and clean. They have modern interiors, full air-conditioning, HD TVs with international cable and fast free wi-fi with access points on each floor (so no problem connecting). The kitchens are reasonably equipped with a fridge, a microwave, a two ring electric hob and an electric kettle. The rooms also have their own ironing boards and irons, so never a dull moment.
There is a free washer and dryer in the basement and a large roof terrace with great views North East toward the port of Haifa and Akko, and West toward the Baha'i Shrine.
Regarding location, the apartments are probably 200m (220yds) from the lower entrance to the beautiful Baha'i gardens at the top of the German Colony. The German Colony has numerous restaurants and bars. There are a couple of very small shops/kiosks quite close to the apartments but the closest supermarket is a good walk away.
On the downside, there's no lift and we struggled to find sufficient clothes storage space in our large apartment (two adults and two older teenagers), but others in our party did not have this issue in their apartments.
I would absolutely fully recommend these apartments to others - I've been in several of them and they were all of equal quality.

Room Tip: I've seen 4 apartments and they were all good. We were on the top floor which is a bit of a clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremy_norbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Best location and living style in Haifa. We loved the apartment style and being left alone for our entire stay. There's a shared laundry. The rooms have kitchens. It was perfect. Unfortunately I had read previous reviews of theft in the room by the maintenance person. I knew this and locked my valuables in my secured luggage. During our stay we had friends lose their jewelry and cash by the maintenance person. We hope the owners realize that it will really hurt their business if they don't get rid of this person.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've satyed in G38 for a week to visit my family in Haifa.
I usualy visit Haifa every year and staying in one of the local hotels.
I wasn't sure what is a "boutique rental apartment" means, but I took the chance...
I was suprised to find a very modern, sleek and lofty apartments with fully equipped kitchens.
You have basically all you need beside the clasic hotel service (which I never use).
We had a safe, free internet service and a laundry room - free of charge (also with all the cleaning supplies). The location was great, right in the middle of the grrman colony and 2 min. from the Baha'i gardens. I also had a free parking place to my rental car.
There wasn't cleaning services but for the price we payed it was the best value for money I ever had since I'm visiting haifa...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed in G38 a family of 2 + 2 and enjoyed it very much. The studio we had was very clean and very comfortable. Good value for the price we paid.
The location is very good - walking distance from the beautiful Baha'i gardens and the German Colony.
The service was excellent, everything we needed was addressed quickly.
I would recommend G38 if you are looking for this type of accommodation, which I'd different from your usual hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motya-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just returned from a week stay in Haifa, where we rented rooms at G38 "hotel". Inexpensive (IKEA furnished), clean, simple accommodations in the center of German Quarter of the city. However something left a bitter taste and unsettling feeling when we left. It was supposed to be maintenance-free accommodation- no daily cleaning, no change of bedding or towels, no basic supplies replacement. basically our apartment for seven days to clean and maintain. what a surprise when we realized that someone was visiting it during our absence, and at the end we were missing about $ 100 (no safe in the room but a promise of privacy and safety). that is nothing compared to our friends' "mishap" with a maintenance guy rummaging through their luggage caught red-handed(!!!) when they returned to their room a little earlier one day. Explanation: air-conditioning/ heating check-up (including note from a manager of the place). And they also detected discrepancy in their finances.
Looks like despite the obvious cost effectiveness we are not going to visit that place again. Our advise is to seek accommodation in regular hotel and definitely ask for safe in the room or on premises to avoid losses.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank edalein007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: A piano terra, se non volete fare le scale perché manca l'ascensore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amorosopaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#2 of 28 in Haifa
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colony Hotel Haifa
0.7 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G38 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G38 Apartments

Address: 38 Ha-Gefen | German Colony, Haifa, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Haifa
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your G38 Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing