We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If this is the best Haifa hotel, don't stay in Haifa.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If this is the best Haifa hotel, don't stay in Haifa.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We just checked out of the hotel after spending two nights including a Passover Seder. Prior to this, we stayed three nights at the Dan Eilat. It is hard to believe that these two hotels are owned by the same company.

The Dan Carmel Haifa is situated on the top of Haifa with great views. The wait staff is very friendly, breakfasts are plentiful and good quality. The negatives are: dated rooms (not luxury), not enough outlets in rooms, awful front desk customer service, and beyond exploitive holiday pricing and poor quality.

Our three families each signed up for a Dan club account in Eilat, which claimed to offer a 12.5% discount on food/beverages on future Dan stays. When we arrived in Haifa, we asked the hotel to put in our numbers as signed up for in Eilat. The hotel found two of the numbers but not the third. Their response was "we'll sign you up now but will not give you the discount on this stay." it was as if they said we were lying about setting up the accounts. After loud verbal back and forths they agreed to telephone the Dan Eilat to confirm that we signed up. The hotel's attitude is to "stick it" to their "guests." When we finally checked out today, the hotel refused to give the Dan discount anyway because this was a "special event."

The "special event" was the Passover Seder. The hotel charged $160 per person for this meal, including kids. The quality of the food was subpar. Kids were offered only the same options as the adults - for appetizer- gefilte fish, chopped liver, or eggplant. They have no sense of what children eat. Our children ate very little but were charged $160 each. The main course included a mystery meat that was extremely fatty. Most adults did not eat the entree either.

When we checked out we were charged 50% premium on the second night since they need a three night minimum, although we just stayed a few nights consecutively at the Dan Eilat.

I've already started to receive Israeli spam messages in my email from signing up for the Dan Club - I highly recommend you do not sign up for this ripoff club.

Bottom line - find a nice boutique hotel in the North, and perhaps do a drive-through of Haifa to see the Baaha Gardens and dine in the German Colony.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for returning to stay at the Dan Carmel hotel and for taking the time to note your impressions , as this is the only way for us to learn how to keep improving service to our clients.
UNFORTUNATELY ,your loaded review is unacceptable. As old clients of our hotel , we offered a 50% reduction on the second night and certainly not charged 50% supplement
All this had been agreed and confirmed by your host , including the Seder dinner
Our reception staff did call the Dan Eilat and gave you the E-Dan number a member of you group without any verbal back and forths from our staff. You threatned to put a bad review on the tripadvisor the very first moment and unfortunately you kept your promise although you
undertood from your host , the person who were is charge of the bookings of your group,that everything was in order and there were no overcharge or mistake by the hotel
Your friend even apologized upon check out , for over reacting , while he understood all the facts
Our employees is undergoing intensive training in order to maintain the level of service and attitude towards the client, on which our excellent reputation is based
We will be happy to see you again at the Dan Carmel Hotel.
Sincerely yours,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    199
    63
    28
    24
See reviews for
193
172
25
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

One reviewer states the hotel is stuck in the 80's. I disagree, I think it is stuck in the 70's although it was built in the 50's.

Needs to be torn down and rebuilt. Internet at $25 a dollars a day. Be real.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

I enjoyed my stay here. The service was efficient and courteous. The breakfast was excellent - great selection. The rooms are clean, a good size and very comfortable. My only criticism was that the soundproofing in the rooms could be better. I guess the hotel was built in the 70s and some might think it very dated - but I found it had a certain appeal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompeyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberias, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

The dan carmel is a clasical hotel of the highest standard, the food is excellent, the rooms pleasant and the service first class. It is obvious that the hotel staff have been trained to make the guest feel comfortable. As a person who has stayed in many hotels in Israel this is certainly one of the very best

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sefton_bergson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

had buffet dinner here on 29 september and when had children eating and touching everything on the buffet with no restraints.. asked maitre d's and he and she shrugged and so we left disgusted. spoke to ny office and they promised a refund onf NIS 170 which has not come after 6 months and 6 calls and e mails.. now ny manager of office is no longer there and i still have not received anything.. what do i have to do to get my money back from this disgusting food service establishment.. I always thought that KOSHER was synonymous with clean>

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ira037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear guest
We at the Dan Carmel Hotel in Haifa are trying to give 100% best service
To our guests but since we did not know anything about the case that is
The reason we didn't act.
We apologize for the incident and hope to see you
Again in our hotel .
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

The hotel was very accomodating. My wife had some digestive problems and they took very good care of her for breakfast. They brought robes to the room when asked and the executive lounge had a nice buffet in the early evening. The room was large and clean.There was a wide variety of tv programs available. Room service was relatively fast. The staff was very helpful and check in and out was very fast and efficient. The only complaint I have is the cost of internet connectivity, which at $20/day was excessive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstroRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
270 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

The Dan Carmel was our first stop on our 2 week tour of Israel and Jordan. We only had 1 night in Haifa as we made our way from the Tel Aviv airport towards the Golan Heights and points north. Our reaction to our first hotel in Israel was disconcerting. Is this the best that Israel can do?? Although the richness of our itinerary would attest that "it's only a room" and we spent so little time there, we feel that a hotel can surely set the tone for where you are. Our initial concern was that we would have to adjust our standards for the rest of our trip but that proved not to be the case in other locations.

This hotel is stuck in the 80's. I'm sure it was one of the best at that time but it is tired and in dire need of an upgrade. Dirty carpet, uncomfortable bed, tired linens, questionable bathroom cleanliness and not exceptionally helpful staff. Rooms are large. Our teens thought it was funny that even the ads for the facilities (restaurants, etc.) and photos in the lobby show "disco era" patrons.

Breakfast buffet was abundant but of rather poor quality. All we required was fresh fruit and decent coffee neither to be found in the large convention style dining room.

The Dan boasts beautiful views over the city and is walking distance to some mediocre restaurants. It's in a very busy neighborhood.

We have checked out of hotels in the US in better shape than this one. There was a large group of 70-80 year old tourists who could not have been more thrilled so consider the source when evaluating the reviews.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Dan Carmel for your one night accommodation in Haifa.
I am sorry for your disappointment from the hotel but we are trying to renovate all the
Time as much as we can without disturbing our guests.
I am sure you will see the different at your next stay .
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 27 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.2 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Property: Dan Carmel Haifa
Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#3 Business Hotel in Haifa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#5 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing