We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent a vacation with family, including 2 small children. There is a nice zoo at a walking distance. Kids loved it. A lovely promenade access is hidden at the back of the hotel - ask for directions.
All the rooms had a great view. Very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Dennis A.
Thank you for your kind review; it is so generous and thoughtful of our guests to share their lovely experiences with other travelers.
We of course, try to give the best service and experience for all our guests, especially the younger ones, and pleased that you and the family enjoyed your time with us.
Looking forward to the next time to welcome you,
best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    203
    69
    29
    26
See reviews for
205
186
26
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was my second stay, wifi is really important and unfortunately it's absolutely terrible here. You have to pay a fee per device, and I don't mind that if the wifi is decent but this wouldn't allow me to maintain a VPN connection or send emails with attachments in less than 15-20 minutes and several would never send. I talked to several other guests and learned they all had similar experiences. I always carry a portable access point and cable in case this happens but I was unable to make their wired connection work.

Now, if you have an actual life and don't need to go back to your hotel after a day of work and do emails the hotel is probably great for you. The staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is plentiful though it's hard to get coffee, you always have to flag down the one coffee server every time which is annoying. I wish they had meat with the eggs but I'm probably just not very cultured.

The room had a beautiful view of the bay and was quite clean and functional. There is a small balcony which was great to go out and watch the bay and get some cool air in the room. Bathrooms are very spacious with very nice, large towels. There were plenty of power outlets and storage space for a long visit.

Room Tip: Upper floors recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelSnobAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear HotelSnobAustin,
Thank you for your thorough and insightful feedback.
We're delighted that you overall enjoyed our new renovations and our team looked after you well.
Dan Hotels recently introduced free wifi areas in all our hotel lobbies and continue to listen to the needs of guests. We have ensured your message has been heard and hope to be able to offer a more thorough coverage for you on your next visit.
Please do be in touch so that I may be of direct assistance for the future,
best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Doron.keren@danhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was my second visit to the hotel since it was renovated, this time for a weekend conference.

We stayed in another beautifully decorated suite on the 8th floor. While it did not have the (incredible) view of the bay, it did overlook the carmel and the sea behind it. Very relaxing.

As you can see from my previous review, my only criticism of the hotel was the breakfast, which I felt was not at the same level as the newly refurbished rooms.

This stay I have to say that the breakfast has definitely improved significantly, as both the variety and quality of the food were very high, equivalent to the high level of other good 5 star properties in Israel.

I met the hotel manager and commented about the improvement in the breakfast. He said that this was an intentional step, partly as a result of my previous review! He also mentioned that they're now planning on renovating the dining room, which should even further improve the experience.

Conclusion - write reviews, in some hotels they really make a difference.

Room Tip: High floor and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear dr63,
Indeed! Guest feedback is of utmost importance to us, we thank you for all the comments enabling us to continue our bid for constant improvement.
We're delighted that our breakfasts now live up to the rest of the newly refurbished and renewed hotel and look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

While we were staying in a room on the 3rd floor, the hotel had an event with loud music that lasted until 2am (on a weekday). They originally said it would be done at midnight and then extended it for 2 hours with no regard for the people on the 1-5th floor. We all asked many times, but they described that they had a contract that lasted longer than usual.

The challenge is that if they have a party, everyone on floors 1-5 can hear it (I checked).

The hotel is great!! Just don't stay on floors 1-5.

Have fun.

Room Tip: Stay above floors 1-5 or it is way too loud if the hotel has an event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Adam r,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and apologies if any noise seemed to interfere with your enjoyment.
On the rare occasion we host midweek events, we do try to ensure that any loud music ends before midnight, it is a concern if this did not seem to be the case for you this time as our records show that the music was quietened that evening at 23.30.
We're happy you enjoyed the comfort and decor of the hotel in any case so look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you,

best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Recently renovated it regained luxury and comfort. The rooms are big, all with great view over the bay and the city. You will be pleased by the nice smell of the towels, the sheets and the entire room. Good breakfast. The staff of the hotel is pretty polite.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TjNiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Tjniko,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us; it is through guest feedback that we are able to monitor and develop on our hotel amenities and services.
I am personally delighted that you enjoyed the new renovations made and mainly that our team of friendly professionals were available to make your stay that much more enjoyable.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back and just advise to join the e-dan loyalty club prior to your next stay for great deals and discounts throughout the chain.
with very best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Wonderfully located hotel with a view overlooking the Haifa Bay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were spacious and well appointed with bath sheet-sized towels. Plenty of closet space for an extended stay. It was great having a balcony too for some relaxing down time.
Breakfast was bountiful and there were many choices, not just an Israeli salad type breakfast.
The staff were helpful and this hotel has a fabulous little gift shop with many great finds and prices!
The only thing that would have made it a perfect stay was connecting with the internet. If you spend time in the comfortable lobby, you have free internet. Internet in the room is not free. I wouldn't make this a reason not to stay here though. The hotel is a great choice for anyone that is staying in the Haifa area.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Haifa Bay. The other side of the hotel doesn't have any view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Annette o,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is always great to hear from our guests.
It always warms my heart to read when guests perfectly experience the memorbale stay we work so hardily to create for all; thank you so much for enabling me to give credit where it is due.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back and just advise to join the e-dan club for great benefits, inlcuding one hour of free in room wifi every day of stay.
Most importantly, please come back again soon!
Best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pnei Kedem
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the Dan Carmel for a conference. The food was great and plentiful, the service was courteous, our room was clean, bed was comfy. We found a crib ready set up completely four our toddler who was staying with us with blankets and everything (we are used to having to ask the staff to set one up even though we pre-ordered). The hotel is right near the Bahai gardens.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden the the Gulf of Haifa, we stayed on the first floor and could get sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Chana r,
Thank you so much for the great review; feedback from any guest is always important to us but in particular your kind words were very much appreciated.
We'll be delighted to prepare for your next stay, just let us know when that might be. You may also like to join the e-dan club prior to further stays, to benefit from great discounts and deals throughout the chain.
Looking forward to next time,
best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.2 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Property: Dan Carmel Haifa
Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#3 Business Hotel in Haifa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#5 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing