We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Choice”
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Very Good Choice”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the second time I stayed at this hotel and the value was very good.

I had a view of the shoreline and the view is beautiful.

The breakfast is very good. We did not have any other meals here.

The room is very nice and the room and the environs is well kept.

The service at the front desk is excellent and very welcoming.

If you are going to Haifa and you are not looking for a luxurious hotel I can not think of a better hotel to stay at where you can expect consistency of performance.

Room Tip: Get a shoreline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Carol S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts; guest feedback is invaluable in our development.
Your review was a delight to read and we're honored that you returned to us; returning guests are a big compliment for any hotel. It is very special to us when guests marvel at the service we provide so we will be sure to pass on your commendations; thank you for enabling me to give credit where it is due.
Looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you,
best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    204
    69
    29
    26
See reviews for
206
187
26
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Dan Carmel was the first 5 stars hotel in Haifa and has recently been renovated; it has an excellent location and if you insist on getting a room with a view to the north (bay view) rather than a city and sea view - you will benefit from one of the most beautiful views for any hotel in Israel and in the world. The room itself is spacy with fantastic bathroom with both shower and bath; breakfast and food in general is very good and the swimming pool is great.
The hotel is very suitable for business and leisure and is also children-friendly, maybe pet too. Garage parking is relatively inexpensive, yet you have a free parking area 150 meters away form the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ari1222,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts; it is always good to hear from such contented guests.
We're delighted you appreciated our new refurbished rooms and the breathtaking views from almost every window, as well as the overall hotel amenities and facilities.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back soon and just advise, to join the e-dan club prior to your next stay for great deals and discounts throughout the chain.
With thanks and best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I just returned fro a 11 day stay in Haifa. As Baha'i pilgrims we stayed at the Dan Carmel for 11 nights (my 2nd stay at this hotel) and we had a marvelous time. The rooms have been renovated and everything is very modern, clean and well maintained. We had a lovely view of the Baha'i Shrine and gardens, and every night we could watch the Shrine all lit up from our room.
The bed was very comfortable, there was a lot of storage and we basically had everything we needed. On our first night, we were presented with chocolate and water as a gift. The room was very clean every day and when we returned late at night, the light was turned on for us.
The breakfast was amazing (my husband misses that already), and the staff was always very helpful (Mr. Yossi always greeted us with 'more coffee').
The location of the hotel is great; many days we walked up or down the Baha'i terraces.
We loved our stay at the Dan Carmel, and hope to stay there again on our next pilgrimage in a few years. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Hedi9,
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words; it is so important to us to hear from our guests in a bid to maintain our high service standards.
We are familiar with our Ba'hai pilgrim guests and look forward to welcoming them year after year; thank you for joining this year and we will be looking forward to welcome you back next time.
With best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and i spent 3 nights at the Dan Carmel Hotel in Haifa. Let me begin by saying that the ambiance, cleanliness, location, room decor and personnel were outstanding. The patio overlooking the promenade and Haifa Harbor are good for the soul.

Now let me share an amazing story: We arrived on the morning of Tuesday, June 24 with my husband on crutches following a fall in Tel Aviv which tore a tendon resulting in a groin to ankle straight leg cast. As we entered the hotel, we were immediately offered help by the House Manager whose name was Dorina. I cannot begin to thank this guardian angel who helped with bags to keep the cast dry for showers and went on to battle El Al Airlines to permit us to upgrade our flight home while gathering all necessary medical forms El Al required from the emergency room doctors but which El Al kept misplacing. She worked late on our behalf for several days, finally meeting with success which allowed us to return home this morning for surgery.

I don't know what we would have done without her help, or how we would have gotten through three painful days without the beauty and comfort of the environment. ( And the food was good, too.

Thanks to Dan Carmel and heartfelt thanks to a caring and helpful management, particularly Dorina.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lovely harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niva, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice hotel, a little old at planes but good service and nice view.. Only 5 minutes walk center of the town on the hill, and nice restaurants.
Gym is really small, else I did not try any of the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed in the hotel during the weekend for a meeting between 27-28 of June
On Friday 27 th at 13:00 when I wanted to go in my room just for five minutes the cleaning lady wanted to come to clean. I explained to her that I need several minutes and I will go out but she said she is leaving and not coming back. So nobody did my room that day
Next day I had an appointment for a massage ( that by the way they are really overpriced in this hotel) just to find the spa closed . So I had to ask the reception to open it and everything was delayed for half hour not to mention that nobody told me that they are doing restaurant ion in the spa. So it was dusty and unpleasant
The food is good but no so good or special
In one word not worth the money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gheona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Gheona A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us; it is through guest feedback that we are able to monitor and develop our services.
Throughout the hotel, every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest service and experience at all times, so it is always a regret to hear if we fall short in any way.
While a little late to rectify in time for this stay, we have been sure to take on board comments made in a bid to ensure of no further re-occurrences of this nature; thank you again for highlighting this experience to us.
We'd certainly hope another opportunity to welcome you for a more improved impression, as such, I invite you to be in touch with me directly prior to your next stay so that I may monitor your reservation details personally.
With thanks and kind regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was the first time for my family in this hotel we all liked it but unfortunately the weather was very cold even though we had fun.
The hotel from inside wonderful the room gorgeous I really liked it.
Hope to visit it again in summer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear razuna !
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.
I hope to see you among our guests this summer and I am sure you will be able to enjoy our
new renovated swimming pool.
Please make sure to join the E Dan Club before your next stay for great deals and discounts through the chain.
Waiting to see you in Haifa again,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
784 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.2 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 28 in Haifa
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Property: Dan Carmel Haifa
Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Haifa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#5 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing