We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Staff in Israel”
Review of Dan Gardens Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dan Gardens Haifa
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Most friendly helpful staff of any hotel I stayed at in Israel and best value for the money. I stayed at hotel for four days in April, 2007.

For people worried about the stairs, as soon as I started moving my luggage up the stairs, Eid (hotel staff), raced down, picked up my two pieces of luggage, and moved them up to Reception. He then returned to watching for guests. I may have struck it lucky in my timing, but I think they do try to watch for guests to help them with the luggage.

The hotel staff I had most to do with (mostly evening/late afternoon at Reception) looked up bus schedules for me on Egged (and printed them for me), called main Dan bookings to confirm a booking in another city had been cancelled, and were generally very helpful. They all spoke English well.

The room was fine for one; might be somewhat small for two, but smaller rooms common in Israel. The rug was somewhat stained, but bathroom was spotlessly clean with new fixtures, and other Israeli hotels had stained carpets. The hangers also seemed to hang behind, rather than beside, each other, which I found annoying, but I also found that in other Israeli hotels.

Not only was there a small fridge in the room, but a bottle opener. And the heating/air-conditioning was controlled from the room which I really liked because while Haifa was certainly hot during the day in April, the temperature dropped significantly at night, and I liked being able to turn on the heat (only hotel in Israel for which this was true).

I had a room with a full view of the harbour which was very nice. I think even the side rooms have a partial view of the harbour so it is a matter of opinion whether worthwhile paying extra for the full view. All the rooms have the same decor as far as I can tell. Some of the rooms on the side had small narrow balconies. The breakfast room also had a nice view of the harbour.

The hotel is about a 15minute walk from the "top" entrance to the Bahai Gardens if you are going on a guided tour of the Upper Gardens, near several bus stops and the "Stairs" to lower Haifa, and about a 10 minute walk from the Carmelit (subway) station which was close to the Dan Panorama hotel, and various restaurants.

The only caveat with the location is if you plan to use Haifa as a base to explore other areas, it might be better to stay in the lower Haifa area. Unfortunately, there are few reasonably priced nice hotels in lower Haifa so if you are going to stay in Carmel (near the top of Haifa), I would definitely recommend this hotel.

The amenities (clean modern bathroom, fridge in the room, location of hotel, coffee/tea making equipment, nice touch of giving you a bottle opener, control heating/air-conditioning) were definitely good value for money($92 US a night for one person in a front room with a full view of the harbour), but it was the helpfulness of the staff that makes me think it is so nice.

Stayed: April 2007
11  Thank Woman_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Dan Gardens Haifa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2007

We loved this hotel. It's located in the Carmel section of Haifa. We parked in a diagonal parking spot in front of the hotel. There wasn't an omelet station when we visited but the morning breakfast was better than any other place we stayed. White tablecoths were a pleasant plus. Wew tried to book this hotel on line but it was full. We got accomadations by e-mailing the hotel. I didn't find the stairs in the front of the hotel daunting.
I would definately stay there again. We had room 401 which has a complete wall of windows overlooking Haifa Bay.

Stayed: May 2007
7  Thank Kateikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

We booked through the Dan Hotels website - best prices that way!

The price is very right - the service was very good - breakfast was great - the view was wonderful - overall a nice area.

Suggested for singles or couples with no young children.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stephanie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

I needed four days of quiet and found it here. This hotel is on a one way street with an amazing view of the sea shore reaching all the way to Lebanon.
The rooms are small but comfortable beds and immaculate cleanliness. (slight downside was that the linen has seen better days. Clean, but threadbare.) I was lucky to have both a view and a small balcony.
Breakfast is up to Dan standards and varied.
The reception saw to my every need and were very helpful.
For some strange reason, this place has no access by car to the reception. One must climb several flights of stars to reach it. Also, it has no parking facilities whatsoever. But it is worth it for the view, quiet, and extremely reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank ShiraSavta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

I had some problems checking in, and the lack of anyone at that moment who spoke English created unfortunate misunderstandings. Generally I found staff tried to be very helpful and most were friendly, but it would have helped me to know a little Hebrew, at least for evenings. (At one point the evening front desk fellow laughingly gave up on our mutual charades and called the headquarters of the Dan chain, whose Internet consultant helped me reconfigure my laptop for their wifi! Another evening the woman at the desk marched me back into the kitchen and we rousted up a chilled salad and a beer way after hours.)

The room was very small (that's what they were trying to warn me of when I checked in) adequately clean, a weird and marginal shower. Breakfasts were very good -- ample, tasty, good variety, nice dining room. Hotel is a little tired, overall, but is clean and neat, and for the price, I wouldn't have expected more.

The front stairs are torture. Nice to know (after the fact) you can send someone down for your bags! I can't believe they haven't figured out some better way to deal with that.

The wide front patio has a magnificent view, and I have to say sitting there with a cool drink after a long hike, or sipping a beer or wine at the end of the day watching the port of Haifa twinkle into the dusk was a genuine, memorable pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank AZZenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2006

This is a great hotel for the price and location. The rooms are not huge, but for a little bit extra, you can get a nice view of the bay/city, and our room even had a small balcony, which made it feel bigger. The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. There were some carpet stains, but at least you could tell the carpets were cleaned regularly. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sooz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2006

i've just returned from a wonderful Baha'i' Pilgrimage - so my tips/review will be based on this experience.

HOTEL deserves way more than 1-2 stars. This place is as good as an excellent 3 star hotel!! Loved it!

My only complaint = the stairs leading from the street to the lobby. There are 2 flights - it's ok if you've got light luggage or if you've got some muscles. That being said - i'm a small gal and i managed to lug my heavy suitcase and backpack up there - so it IS manageable. If you take a private taxi - you can shell out more $$ for the driver to assist you.

STAFF are friendly, helpful and will do all they can to assist you. They speak English well enough. Tziporah is one of the most helpful staff members you can find. Everyone is friendly - including Eid the security guard, Linda the cleaning lady and Haim.

BREAKFAST staff are efficient, courteous and helpful. They'll box up breakfast items for you if you want to take it away (helpful if you're on Baha'i' Pilgrimage and you've been told to bring a lunch) - this will cost you USD$8. Given that a McShwarma is NIS31 or so.... it's comparable.. and they'll pack it completely and include water. i reused this box to pack pasta from a restaurant and groceries - again for those Pilgrimage days when you'll need to bring lunch. Breakfast consists of eggs cooked on the spot, lots of different packaged yogourts, lots of bowls of yogourts mixed with olives or other items. Fruit is a-plenty as are salads. Lots of bread, jams, butter and cheeses are available. Breakfast is buffet style.

MY ROOM was perfect - not extravagant, not stingy. Immaculate. i asked for the quietest room possible and was given a room looking out the side. From the side of my balcony (yes - i did have a little balcony) - i could see a bit of the bay. When using the A/C or Fan setting - it was totally quiet for me - and i'm a very light sleeper - i had no problems.The bathroom was spacious and had a good size tub and good shower-head. A liquid shampoo/soap dispenser is provided in the shower. You are also provided with a small bar of soap for the washbasin + shower cap + a few Qtips & cotton pads. My bed was comfortable and there were extra blankets available. The fridge is spacious enough for one person and cools well. You're provided with a kettle + tea bags + coffee.. which are replenished daily. All of this is free of charge. Cleaning staff does an excellent job... my room was always clean and well made.

LOCATION is interesting. It's a 5minute walk from Carmel Merkaz (or the Centre). This makes it a bit quieter overall.. unless you are facing the disco or the street.

FOOD - at the Centre there are some restaurants.. and if you're just too tired to choose a good restaurant, you can always go to McDonald's and get an okay Shwarma. Across the street there's a good supermarket where you can buy fabulous hummus, sausages, cream cheese, smoked salmon, bagels, bread, even rice cakes. You can also get toiletries there pretty cheap. If you are on Pilgrimage i suggest you go to the supermarket to get some portable items and dips for the long days you may have.

GETTING AROUND and STUFF - There are a couple of bus routes that pass by the hotel. i believe Bus31 is one of them.. if you are on Pilgrimage this is the one you can take to Golomb street for when you have to visit the Arc. Otherwise, if you are on Baha'i' Pilgrimage - almost every day you'll have to go to the Pilgrim Reception Centre (PRC) on 54 Hatzionut Street. If you want to save some $$ - you are best to walk to the Merkaz and use the Bus Stop next to the McDonald's (or next to the Carmelit) - and take Bus22 to 54 Hatzionut Street (on your first day you need to enter the PRC via Puah street). Buses are frequent (except for Wednesday evening, Thursday and Saturday) - and are only NIS5.50 (vs NIS20 for a private Taxi). You can also grab a Sherut for about NIS6 along Bus22/Bus23 route. Bus23 can also take you to 54 Hatzionut.

To get to the base of the Terraces on Ben Gurion Ave. for good restaurants and a wee bit of shopping, take the Bus22 and get off at the stop next to the mall on Ben Gurion Ave. There's a pharmacy in there and a couple of clothing stores - not the best but if you're in a bind there you are. There's a lady selling Indian cotten dresses and tops and pants right in the mall.. so if you need cheap but good and cool clothing - i highly recommend it. A short dress (which i wear over linen pants) cost only NIS50!!!

BAHAI Souvenirs - i highly higly recommend IOS GALLERY on Ben Gurion (just below Terrace 1 on Ben Gurion.. if you're walking down - then it's on your right). Amira makes wonderful handmade clay/ceramic/glass/silver based jewellry. Really unique and lovely. She treats all religious items with respect and her work is excellent. You can also qualify to get VAT refund if you purchase a certain amount from her store. She has more traditional gold/silver jewellry but not a huge selection - she's more funky/cool! She also has silk screen prints and copper wall hangings and ceramic wall hangings. She also has semi-precious stone prayer beads - which are cheaper than if i were to buy them here in Canada. A wonderful ceramic necklace will be NIS80 - which is only USD$20 - which is a steal especially since it's unique.

If you want more expensive and real gold/white gold jewellry - then go to Edith. They have high quality jewellry. There's a Edith located in the Dan Panorama mall, and also in the Haifa Merkaz (NOT Carmel Merkaz).

This is my personal opinion - but please avoid Ahuva (i think that's the name) Jewellry/Souvenir shop. i found that religious items were not treated with respect - and a replica of the Shrine of the Bab was being puported as being the only one and on sale - also the Ringstone symbol was on a mood ring!!

GETTING TO BAJHI/AKKA - recommend Sheruts by Abboud and by Nabil. The numbers will be listed in the phone booth at the PRC.

MAKING CALLS - if you are on Baha'i' Pilgrimage - don't bother about buying a phone card - it's a pain in the behind! You'll get lowest rates courtesy of the PRC.

Hope this has been helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank gruvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.6 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#2 of 28 in Haifa
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beth Shalom
Hotel Beth Shalom
#15 of 28 in Haifa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Gardens Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Gardens Haifa

Address: 124 Yefe Nof, Haifa 3445428, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dan Gardens Haifa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming bed and breakfast hotel set in a beautiful location, high up on Mount Carmel. This intimate hotel is situated in one of Haifa's most lovely streets, just a few minutes stroll from the gorgeous Louis Promenade. This hilltop promenade offers the most romantic spot to take in the magnificent panoramic views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline and provides a birds-eye view of the splendid Bahai Temple with its famous hanging gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dan Gardens Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Gardens Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Gardens Hotel Haifa
Haifa Dan Gardens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing