We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay”
Review of Hotel Beth Shalom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beth Shalom
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A place to stay”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I/we visit Israel every year and stay in Beit Shalom. The location is great, close to a cultural centre, restaurants and caffes, taxi station, small shopping centre, pharmacy etc etc. The place is managed by family members and the whole staff is very friendly. Rooms are fully serviced and the place is spotless.

Rooms are small but contain a desk, air-con, tel, television, wi-fi (not free but reasonable and functions well), and a small shower.

Breakfast is a basic Israeli breakfast and always fresh (choice of cereals, salads, eggs, cheeses, humus, tea and coffee.

The owners are very generous. Last December I arrived at 0645 am not expecting to get a room so early. However, within 5 minutes of my arrival I was allocated a room by the owner herself. This was very much appreciated given that I have been flying for nearly 20 hrs from Australia.

Parking is always available in a small lane belonging to the hotel and it is free!!.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Abraham_M939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    26
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
28
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Fremantle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed for 3rd time at this family run hotel- it is so welcoming and spotlessly clean and presented. Warm, friendly welcome and great room and bathroom. Breakfast is perfectly adequate, and there are snacks and coffee available at reception. Staff also very helpful in preparing us in advance that the Yom Kippur holiday shut down of the city would preclude all public transport and restaurant availability, and they provided lunch making facility because of this. Great location for accessing Bahai Gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Hotel Beth Shalom, conveniently located near bus stops at the top of Mt. Carmel, offers clean, modest rooms at an affordable price. Their superb breakfast is served in a spacious indoor/outdoor dining room. The staff are very accommodating and gracious and will help you in every way possible. I highly recommend the Hotel Beth Shalom!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Beth Shalom has rooms that are quite small, even by European standards and all beds are single, though pushed together for couples. (mattresses a little hard though) Having said that, the rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. The room service worked well and the Sabbath was the only day of no service.

The bathroom was quite good too, with a shower that worked well, good pressure and a hand held shower-head. The only issue there was that the bathroom sink had a bit of a drainage issue and the water took forever to go down.

Breakfast was nice and fresh and very typical of the country, with things like: cucumber, olive, tomatoes, eggs, yogurts, fruits, cereals and various breads you can toast. One interesting note about breakfast was that it the only place we stayed on the whole trip that had a lot of signs about not taking any food out of the breakfast room and saying people would be charged for it if they did. In other countries we went to and also in other places in Israel, it was common for people to make up something like a bread roll and cheese and perhaps an apple so you had a bit to eat if they were on the road during the day. It even appeared that some of the other places would have food out that you could do that with easily and they certainly never made an issue of guests taking a sandwich out with them. But it was very definitely out of bounds at Beth Shalom.

The television wasn't really worth turning on, as there was no satellite, so very few channels and only one in English. Also the TV was quite old, so skin tones in the broadcast were actually green. (everyone looked like Elfaba in Wicked :) We didn't care too much about it as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it would have been nice a couple evenings to watch it if there had been anything on worth watching.

This hotel has WIFI for your laptop, BUT you have to pay $5 USD a day to use it. We bought it in 3 day lots which brought the price down to $13 for 3 days - the only issue was that we often had trouble getting it to work in our room - despite the fact it is meant to work in the rooms. We finally learned that if we took the laptop into the lobby, we could log on there and then if you kept the laptop open while you carried it back to the room it would then usually stay connected. A bit of a hassle, but at least we could use it.

We were there in winter (January) and the weather was cold and rainy at times. The room had a split system heater / air conditioner. The only problem was that the heat function did not work at all. We went to the desk and they ended up giving us a portable radiator style heater to use, which worked really well, so we did have heat in the end. It was just unfortunate that the room was so small, because in order to fit the heater in with everything else, we had to lay one of the two chairs on top of one of our suitcases or the bed while the heater was in use, in order to have enough room around it to use it safely.

All in all we feel that Beth Shalom is a nice place to stay BUT they really need to do a bit of maintenance and upkeep. Fix the room heaters (we weren't the only ones with that problem), clean the sink drain so the water flows out properly, replace the TV and maybe get access to some channels AND especially if you are going to charge people for WIFI and not give it free as many other places do, at least make sure there are enough routers spaced around the hallways for the WIFI to work in the bedrooms as advertised.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and there are no double or queen beds available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent 8 nights with my in-laws in Beit Shalom. The hotel rooms are not fancy, but they are super clean and very comfortable, nothing was missing. The rooms are modern (except for the TV), and do not feel dated like in some of the major nearby chain hotels. Service was attentive and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful (though no gourmet meals here). The location is near most of the larger hotels of the city and the top city center (Haifa is on a steep mountain, so it has 3 centers - the top one being smaller, but also the friendliest for tourists, with all necessary amenities present). Transportation possibilities are the best you can get in Haifa. When I make my wishes for an hotel, this is the model I have in mind - it has all that I wish for, coming in a bargain price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ofer_of_Haifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Welcoming, friendly, outstanding cleanliness, comfortable, good breakfast and excellent location. Very close to Mane Katz gallery which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnniSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Across the street from several considerably higher cost hotels. Smaller rooms, basic simple accommodations. Clean. Quiet. Inexpensive. Bus stops right at front door. Included is a fine Israeli breakfast. Nothing fancy. Easy access to shops/restaurants on crest of Mt. Carmel.Has a nice but small garden terrace out back. Great place to sit or have breakfast. Fine place to stay if funds are limited. All rooms have private facilities.

Room Tip: If you book early inquire about possibility of getting one of the 2 rooms on the first floorwhich ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank visitorfromFlorida70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.1 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.2 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beth Shalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beth Shalom

Property: Hotel Beth Shalom
Address: 110 Hanassi Blvd. | P.O. Box 6208, Haifa 31061, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Beth Shalom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beth Shalom Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing