We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing except for location”
Review of Hotel Beth Shalom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beth Shalom
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing except for location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

While the hotel is convenient to the Ba'hai Shrine, it was disappointing. The staff were gruff, the parking nearly impossible because there are only about 4 real spots, and the breakfast was uninspired. The rooms were tending toward shabby. However, the air conditioning was quite good, which is important. Nonetheless, I definitely would not stay here again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I would have looked at the rooms before paying, except the staff would not let me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellow65mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    26
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
28
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location is excellent. The room was clean, comfortable, but simple. The staff was very polite and courteous . The breakfast (included) was good and ample and in a very nice setting. The hotel has cappuccino machine, available 24/7. Overall I enjoy my staying and I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkcal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is family run. It is very clean and simple. The location is great walking distance to many major attractions, restaurants, and coffee shops. The staff is extremely helpful and nice, the most professional I encountered in Israel.

However, the room and shower are tiny, there are no frills whatsoever, not even an extra pillow (we did not ask for one). There is no room service on Saturday, which was fine with us, but it is something to consider.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iris201401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location which is perfect in Haifa. It is a pretty basic and simple hotel but it's small rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff are pleasant and the breakfast is decent. A definite option if you value location of luxury and are on a budget.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, IL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We found this guest house to be very clean, homey and comfortable, with a lovely breakfast out on a pretty patio. The room was quite comfortable, and very clean. The front desk staff was helpful with all of our many questions. They had free tea and coffee in the lobby. It is also well located to a nice area with lots of restaurants and to the funicular train that goes down the high hill that makes up much of Tel Aviv. It is a wonderful value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bredflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great location for proximity to the Bahai Gardens and to food & shops!
Honest service.
Delicious and generous breakfast.
A no-fuss and decent accommodation for international visitors. A comfortable room at day's end after a busy day. Money changer is a service offerred. Laundry is not offerred on site.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Probably one of the best choices for a hotel in Haifa.
Is it a good place to stay? Yes, it is very clean. The rooms are basic but nice, with a lot of wood. Hard mattresses. Nice garden in the back of the building where you can also have breakfast.
Is it exciting? No, not all. The owners from Swiss origin run it smoothly, which makes it reliable but certainly a bit dull. It is well maintained not run down, but still it feels a bit old-fashioned. The breakfast is of mediocre quality.

Good thing about this hotel: it is located on walking distance from the gardens. Other things are farther away and can be reached by bus or metro (they have a short metro line of only a few stations in Haifa, probably one of the shortest in the world).

Minus points for WiFi being paid and only allowing one device (!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EazyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 28 in Haifa
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
771 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beth Shalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beth Shalom

Property: Hotel Beth Shalom
Address: 110 Hanassi Blvd. | P.O. Box 6208, Haifa 31061, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Beth Shalom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beth Shalom Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing