We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Everything”
Review of Hotel Beth Shalom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beth Shalom
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Everything”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This hotel is a gem for budget travellers who may be tired of the low end hotels/hostels. It cost $100 US per night and it is priced absolutely right. The staff are super friendly and accomodating.

Parking is in front of the hotel in the roundabout driveway. The staff helps move cars if your car is trapped behind another.

The breakfast was wonderful. Great selection of fruit, br4ead, cereal, eggs, yogurt. Breakfast is included in the price.

Rooms are airconditioned.

Best place for the price out the 4 hotels I stayed at while in Israel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mastersamwise33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    26
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
28
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The best word I could think of to describe this hotel is 'practical.' It is very convenient; the rooms are clean and quiet; the breakfast is adequate; the staff do their job. There is nothing really outstanding in terms of the facility, but there is nothing bad, and the location is excellent.

The rooms are quite clean and quiet, though smallish (not tiny). I believe there is only 1 TV channel in English; the TV is small. The floors are laminate wood. We would have appreciated more space but we had our 2 year old daughter with us and she and her stuff probably made the room feel smaller than it was.

The breakfast is about average - a few salads, yogurt, eggs, breads, cereals, juice and coffee.

The location is very good - especially if you have young children. It's a 5 minute walk to the zoo and a wonderful playground that we visited twice a day. It's walking distance (5-10 minutes) to the top of the subway, the Bahai gardens, the top of Carmel Centre and all the restaurants and shops nearby.

Amazingly, the hotel offers free (limited) parking, right in front. Just drive up to the lobby, park your car, and get out. That convenience was very much appreciated, as we used Haifa as a base to explore Caesarea, Acco, and the Galilee region.

The staff is adequate and a little interesting. They were not unfriendly, but they are very reserved. Barely a smile while going through the lobby, they did not say "hello," etc.

Beth Shalom was a good value, we thought, for all the advantages, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This place appears to cater mainly to German and American tourists. It's a very good value for the money (we paid $88 (US))especially compared to our hotel in Tel Aviv which was twice the money but was a complete disaster. Hotel Beth Shalom is very clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is great - in the 'Carmel Center' neighborhood near cute shops and cafes and within walking distance to the Bahai Gardens. The breakfast was good. Parking was free!

The only negative is that my sleep was not all that restful because the pillows were lumpy and hard...by the time I went to bed, the front desk had closed so I didn't have anyone to complain to... I would still go back to this place, but I would probably bring my own pillow... Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2008

I've been to Beth-Shalom with my extended family and other friends for 5 days. This is a little but very nice and familiar hotel. The staff was polite and helpful, food was excellent, rooms were clean, I really don't have any reason to complain. We had a great time in Haifa at Beth-Shalom, I would definitely visit and stay there again.

  • Liked — familiar atmosphere
  • Disliked — rooms are a little bit small
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dallmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

Very small but very clean room. Bath was modern with only a shower stall. Staff helpful but not overly friendly. Free breakfast with the basics. No computer access, but there is wiring for laptops. Iron, board and hair dryer can be borrowed from front desk. The neighborhood is great. It's way up the mountain. You can walk to an internet cafe, laundry facilities, and real good food establishments. Buses stop at front door. It's close to but there is no view of the Baha'i Gardens. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — starkness
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank houston99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Our extended family stayed at Beth Shalom for our first night in Isreal. We were looking more for a place to crash than a hotel experience. The rooms were neat and very clean but on the small side. Since we weren't hanging out in the rooms that didn't matter.
The location is neat the top of the Ba'hai gardens and garden walkway overlooking Haifa. So we past staying at the more expensive hotels across the street and save some dollars for other things. Breakfast was modest compared to other hotels we stayed at in Isreal but more than adequate. The front desk was very helpful with any requests we had.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

My family and I have stayed at the Beth Shalom on two visits to Haifa. Each visit was about 1 week. It is a delightful, small, family owned hotel managed with personal care and friendly people. The location couldn't have been better. Easy access to village area on top of the mountain yet just a short taxi or underground ride into the city for shopping or dining...but then there are many fine places to shop and eat right in the village. We walked through much of the area at all times of the day and night. The rooms are small but adequate as we only sleep in our room, not much entertaining or sitting about which would be hard here. The full breakfast that came included with the room is fantastic. It was the main meal of the day and always had fresh fruit, hot/cold cereal, breads, egg, fresh coffee and tea - something for everyone and prepared 'homestyle' in the small but professional kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Oh2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beth Shalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beth Shalom

Property: Hotel Beth Shalom
Address: 110 Hanassi Blvd. | P.O. Box 6208, Haifa 31061, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Beth Shalom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beth Shalom Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing