We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Israel with a difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Israel with a difference.”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Far away from the crowded beaches or tourist meccas is this beautiful spa resort in the Carmel Forest. We come once or twice a year for R&R. The food and treatments are on par or above the quality of other spa resorts we have visited around thw world. The rooms are comfortable and have views of the hotel's grounds, carmel forest and mediterranean sea in the distance. Joining the Carmel Spa Club will save you money, if you intend on visiting again within a two year period.Children are not allowed.The atmosphere is casual, laid back, but sophisticated.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same size, the difference is the balcony or location in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    92
    43
    23
    14
See reviews for
73
417
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

One first needs to realize that the Carmel Spa is one of the highest ranked hotels in Israel and justifiably so. The criticism you are about to read might be considered nit-picking but when you are a 5 star hotel and charge one of the highest rates per night in Israel, then the bar is raised and the hotel has to answer to a totally different criteria than standard hotels.

I have stayed at the Carmel Spa about a dozen times (I am a member) and have not missed a year yet. I usually complain about the poor cable TV station selection, but that has improved and is no longer an issue.

I will instead discuss two topics - slightly less than perfection in regards to room maintenance and nouvelle cuisine in the dining room.

Lets start with my biggest complaint – the pillow covers. The hotel has purchased new pillow covers from a company called Arliktex.co.il and it would appear they purchased the cheapest quality. The label stated 50% cotton, 50% Darlain which must be some synthetic fiber. Looking at their web site – this is the cheapest quality available. To me it felt like 100 percale, pimply and scrappy. I found one older pillow cover in the closet, which was the previous 450 percale – super satin quality – which is what I used. Shame on a 5 star hotel for buying such poor quality pillow covers. Incidentally the sheets and blanket covers were all fine.

Since the fire, they installed personal LED lights by each bed. Mine did not work so I left a note on it and it was fixed. But shouldn’t the cleaning staff check that all the lights are working?

Lastly, I took a bath both days and on the second day I found after entering the bath that the bathtub had not been cleaned – just rinsed down and therefore there was a layer of soapy grime attached to the walls. Not the level of maintenance one would expect from a 5 star hotel and spa.

The food at both lunch and dinner has become more nouvelle cuisine. For lunch I took the gnocchi. I have ordered it in other places and it usually comes with about 30-40 pieces of gnocchi. Here I got 8 pieces. Very tasty but not what I consider a portion. Same for dinner – the entrecote was 100-150gm and the spring chickens (pullets) were minuscule. It would be nice if they at least indicated the size of the portion. I guess they assume everyone will fill up on salads.

Due to all the items above, I would have to take off a star from their rating this year and only give them a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Floors 6 & 7 - the cheaper rooms - have carpeting. All other rooms have parquet floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a very nice time in the Carmel Forest. The Spa is grate, the Turkish Hamam was very nice, especially because you can enjoy the place together with your spouse. The food is grate, the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yana_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel is a classic one ,not luxurois but nice!
We loved the gourmet restaurant !!!!
The spa was heavenly !!!
We had a deal so the price was worth it ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

excellent food, superb spa treatments, relaxing and beatiful setting entertainmant

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Just back from 3 nights, stayed in a suite, not as luxurious as other hotels in the world, but nice enough! enough cannot be written about the gourmet dining, 3x per day(a bit much for a spa!), altho i was surprised to see that the dinner menu repeats each night(altho there are 9 choices plus a daily special). treatments r OK, some better than others(i had reflexology that was heavenly, facial average to below par). service is good, but again not over the top. staff could be a bit friendlier. very clean environment. not many daily activities outside of spa-ing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhubarb07666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Hotel with a gourmet restaurant nice. Excellent service, the place of true rest with excellent spa. A little expensive but will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Suites are perfectly equipped with Nespresso machine, a DVD with movies you can get reception. Tanni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haifa
7.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
768 reviews
9.7 mi away
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
#1 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
7.4 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
7.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Property: Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Address: Carmel Forest | Po 9000, Haifa 31900, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Haifa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#6 Business Hotel in Haifa
#8 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Forest Spa Resort By Isrotel Exclusive Collection Hotel Haifa
Carmel Forest Hotel
Carmel Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing