We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa "numero uno" in Israel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Many have written about this spa and I can concur with the many positive experiences that guests of the CF wrote about. We've visited the spa several times in the past and have never had any bad experiences.
The service is well above average Israeli hotel-service level:
* I've never seen before in a hotel gym-room the responsible attendant sterilizing the equipment after each use of a hotel guest.
* At the gourmet-level restaurant a request to get another main course in addition to the one you ordered is fulfilled without any problem and with a smile.
* After mentioning a rather uneventful massage, a complementary massage was immediately offered.
The pillows were by Fried, a well-known Israeli company offering quality goods.

Points of improvement:
1. Several (small) areas, corridors and corners are quite windy and cool in cold winter months and thus when walking in bathrobes through there, it feels not so comfortable.
2. The dry sauna was (as every hotel/spa sauna I used in Israel) not maintained as should be (whilst the CF sauna is the only one in Israel featuring a genuine cooling bath next to the sauna!):
2.1. No sauna usage directions on the wall
2.2. Sauna temperature too low (70 C) and too dry (20%).
2.3. No bucket and no "Aufguss"-spoon.
3. Restaurant sitting arrangement is too crowded, tables are so close to each other that waiters hardly can maneuver between them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JmK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I visited the CF resort many times and we always impressed from the exclusive and relaxing atmosphere of this isolated place (within the Carmel forest). There are beautiful gardens, great spa treatments, gourmet restaurant, and nice training and entertainment programs. The rooms are roomy, comfort, clean and very quiet. It is recommended to book the treatments in advance to get your preferable treatment at a desired time. The Carmel forest suffered from a fire a year ago. This fire erased, almost completely, the beautiful forest in which the hotel is located in. I hope it will recover soon and return to the great look that was before.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This was by far the 'perfect experience'. The grounds are kept impeccably clean. This hotel/spa is not for children, as quiet & relaxation. There are strict rules concerning the prohibition of cellphone use in public areas. Checking in is a very special personal experience. Wi-Fi is at additional cost, unfortunately! The rooms are very clean & comfortable, with your favorite newspapers waiting for you outside your door in the morning. The food is out of this world-there is something for everyone- health, meat, dairy, all delicious. The spa is outrageous, with all kinds of treatments available at your request. Rather pricey, but well worth it. All in all, a very special & relaxing experience. We will return on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private patio facing the pool are heavan.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ganger4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Room were spacious and clean. Spa was average in decor, but service top notch. The real value is in the 3 daily meals that accompany the room rate. Every meal is an event, the food delicious, and the presentation exceptional. Although they give you the meals as part of the packages, the food rivals any top shelf fine restaurant you can find.

Getting there a little dicey, especially at night. Very remote location, but worth the trip

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tedoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Far away from the crowded beaches or tourist meccas is this beautiful spa resort in the Carmel Forest. We come once or twice a year for R&R. The food and treatments are on par or above the quality of other spa resorts we have visited around thw world. The rooms are comfortable and have views of the hotel's grounds, carmel forest and mediterranean sea in the distance. Joining the Carmel Spa Club will save you money, if you intend on visiting again within a two year period.Children are not allowed.The atmosphere is casual, laid back, but sophisticated.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same size, the difference is the balcony or location in the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

One first needs to realize that the Carmel Spa is one of the highest ranked hotels in Israel and justifiably so. The criticism you are about to read might be considered nit-picking but when you are a 5 star hotel and charge one of the highest rates per night in Israel, then the bar is raised and the hotel has to answer to a totally different criteria than standard hotels.

I have stayed at the Carmel Spa about a dozen times (I am a member) and have not missed a year yet. I usually complain about the poor cable TV station selection, but that has improved and is no longer an issue.

I will instead discuss two topics - slightly less than perfection in regards to room maintenance and nouvelle cuisine in the dining room.

Lets start with my biggest complaint – the pillow covers. The hotel has purchased new pillow covers from a company called Arliktex.co.il and it would appear they purchased the cheapest quality. The label stated 50% cotton, 50% Darlain which must be some synthetic fiber. Looking at their web site – this is the cheapest quality available. To me it felt like 100 percale, pimply and scrappy. I found one older pillow cover in the closet, which was the previous 450 percale – super satin quality – which is what I used. Shame on a 5 star hotel for buying such poor quality pillow covers. Incidentally the sheets and blanket covers were all fine.

Since the fire, they installed personal LED lights by each bed. Mine did not work so I left a note on it and it was fixed. But shouldn’t the cleaning staff check that all the lights are working?

Lastly, I took a bath both days and on the second day I found after entering the bath that the bathtub had not been cleaned – just rinsed down and therefore there was a layer of soapy grime attached to the walls. Not the level of maintenance one would expect from a 5 star hotel and spa.

The food at both lunch and dinner has become more nouvelle cuisine. For lunch I took the gnocchi. I have ordered it in other places and it usually comes with about 30-40 pieces of gnocchi. Here I got 8 pieces. Very tasty but not what I consider a portion. Same for dinner – the entrecote was 100-150gm and the spring chickens (pullets) were minuscule. It would be nice if they at least indicated the size of the portion. I guess they assume everyone will fill up on salads.

Due to all the items above, I would have to take off a star from their rating this year and only give them a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Floors 6 & 7 - the cheaper rooms - have carpeting. All other rooms have parquet floors.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a very nice time in the Carmel Forest. The Spa is grate, the Turkish Hamam was very nice, especially because you can enjoy the place together with your spouse. The food is grate, the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yana_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haifa
7.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
788 reviews
7.4 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
#1 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
751 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
7.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Address: Carmel Forest | Po 9000, Haifa 31900, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Haifa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#6 Business Hotel in Haifa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#8 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range: £308 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Forest Spa Resort By Isrotel Exclusive Collection Hotel Haifa
Carmel Forest Hotel
Carmel Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing