We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See the depth of of the passion to have a place in the world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandestine Immigration and Naval Museum

Clandestine Immigration and Naval Museum
Ranked #15 of 86 things to do in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum tells the story of the struggles over the right to live in Israel and the history of the Israeli Navy through library archives, models, photos, diagrams and light & sound presentations.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“See the depth of of the passion to have a place in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The heart of this museum is the ship that brought immigrants to Eretz Israel, despite the embargo, despite the uncertainty. In addition, you can learn about the growth of the Israeli Navy, from a hodge podge of ships to an elite force that intercepts shipments of missles destined for Gaza.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ustron, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Haifa Museum of modern state Israel history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I visited this museum by my own and was suprised the accuracy of facts presented in replicas of original ships, tools, stories, pictures, models, books, movies which presented the time since end of II world war of Jewish coming from Europe to the land near Haifa harbour. The readers or watchers of book or movie Exodus by Leon Uris will know what I am describing about. I may not comment and opinion any on this forum. The best way is to go by your own. Later there were put facts about history of modern wars since War of Independence after 14th May 1948 until War of Iom Kippur. There you can also watch original documental movie of those times

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
708 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Israeli Maritime Museum - Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This museum puts a lot of the history of the State of Israel into perspective. It also provides a view that many people do not have of some of the struggles Israel has been through. Interesting to be able to climb inside of many ships and see the other exhibits.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An hour well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Excellent. An amazing record of a very difficult time for the struggle to create the state of Israel

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the most interesting Naval Museums I have visted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This museum is one of the most interesting I have visited in a long time. I was particularly happy to be able to explore the interiors of so many vessels. The submarines and torpedoes being a favourites (since I work as a designer on these and related things).

The Clandestine Immigration part of the museum is also fascinating.

But do take your passport, you will need it to get in, though having said that we did get in after a short chat with the security officer at the entrance. It appears what clinched admission was having the right kind of Swiss-Army type knife!? (or maybe we just looked and sounded right for our story)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clandestine Immigration and Naval Museum also viewed

 

Been to Clandestine Immigration and Naval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing